Carmen Beauchamp Ciparick > Greenberg Traurig, LLP > New York, United States > Lawyer Profile

Greenberg Traurig, LLP
One Vanderbilt Avenue
NY 10017
United States

Work Department



Of Counsel


Carmen Beauchamp Ciparick is Co-Chair of the National Appellate Practice Group and advises clients on appellate matters, litigation strategy and mentors Greenberg Traurig’s junior lawyers. She is active in public service and serves on the Permanent Commission on Access to Justice, the New York Courts Historical Society and the New York State Indigent Legal Services Board. She was appointed by the Chief Judge to co-chair the New York Justice Task Force that examines the causes of wrongful convictions. Carmen was also appointed by Mayor Bill de Blasio to serve as Chair of the Mayor’s Advisory Committee on the Judiciary.

Handling appeals in wide-ranging matters, both federal and state
Arbitration and mediation
Court monitorships

Arbitration & Mediation
Political Law & Compliance

Admission to Practice
New York
U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit
U.S. District Court for the Eastern District of New York
U.S. District Court for the Southern District of New York
Supreme Court of the United States




  • J.D., St. John’s University School of Law, 1967
  • B.A., Hunter College, 1963
  • Doctor of Laws, honoris causa, Hunter College, 2013
  • Doctor of Laws, honoris causa, St. John’s University, School of Law, 2003
  • Doctor of Laws, honoris causa, City University of New York, School of Law at Queens College, 1994

Lawyer Rankings

United States > Dispute resolution > Appellate: courts of appeals / Appellate: supreme courts (states and federal)

Greenberg Traurig LLP brings to bear a robust record in appellate work, which has seen members of its team argue before the US Supreme Court as well as all 13 federal circuit courts. Drawing on platforms across the country, with particularly well-staffed groups in Miami, Austin and New York, the practice handles appeals concerning class actions, energy, election law, labor, IP and administrative law, among others. Among its recent wins, Austin-based Dale Wainwright successfully represented CR Bard before the Fifth Circuit in a failure-to-warn case involving medical devices. Wainwright co-chairs the practice alongside Miami-based Elliot Scherker and New York-based Carmen Beauchamp CiparickDominic Draye, who splits his time between Washington DC and Phoenix, is also noted.