Firm Profile > Lavelle Partners > Dublin, Ireland

Lavelle Partners
ST JAMES' HOUSE
ADELAIDE ROAD
DUBLIN 2
Ireland

Insolvency and corporate restructuring Tier 3

Led by Michael Lavelle, who has 30 years of experience in this field, Lavelle Partners' team handles a range of insolvency and restructuring matters. Highlights included representing Bal Bhandal in his case against the Irish Bank Resolution Corporation, where Bhandal sought to have a British judgment in the case admitted in Irish proceedings. The firm is also active in advising liquidators and insolvency practitioners.

Practice head(s):

Michael Lavelle

Commercial, corporate and M&A Tier 4

Lavelle Partners is particularly strong in the healthcare and technology sectors. It has been active advising start-up IT companies on early-seed funding from institutional and international investors, and has also been involved in a number of M&A transactions involving nursing homes and pharmacies. The team also advises international clients on foreign direct investment. Practice head Gríana O’Kelly divides her time between Dublin and Galway, where the firm has a number of clients, and advises on M&A, corporate restructurings, investment and joint ventures.

Practice head(s):

Gríana O’Kelly

Dispute resolution Tier 4

Traditionally strong in insolvency and mortgage litigation, Lavelle Partners is also active in banking and financial services litigation, clinical negligence claims and defamation (where the team predominantly acts on the plaintiff side). The practice has extensive experience acting on claims against government bodies. Practice head Ciarán Leavy has expertise in professional negligence, insurance and property-related claims; managing partner Michael Lavelle specialises in insolvency and also handles partnership disputes; Marc Fitzgibbon is active in employment claims; and Avril Scally specialises in healthcare litigation.

Practice head(s):

Ciarán Leavy

Employment Tier 4

Led by practice head Marc Fitzgibbon, Lavelle Partners handles a range of matters including TUPE cases, redundancies, and equality/discrimination work. A particular highlight is its contentious work relating to dismissals.

Practice head(s):

Marc Fitzgibbon

Real estate Tier 4

The team at Lavelle Partners specialises in advising lending institutions on security issues, assisting receivers with the disposal of properties, and acting in property disputes. The firm is instructed in such matters by a wide client base, including landlords and tenants, government bodies, property developers, and retailers. In addition, it frequently assists with more complex commercial property investments, including property partnerships and funding agreements. Practice head Nicola Walsh, who is dual-qualified in both Ireland and England, is a property finance and tax structuring expert. Also key in the team is transactional specialist Una O’Connor, who focuses on investment acquisitions and disposals.

Practice head(s):

Nicola Walsh

Known for being innovative, trustworthy and focused, it is this, coupled with our experience and success of the last 30 years is what has made us stand out among our peers.

We are a firm of award winning solicitors structured into four specialist legal sectors – Commercial Litigation and Dispute Resolution, Corporate and Commercial, Private litigation and Property – for which we provide expert knowledge.

We have developed a reputation for achieving results for clients on a wide range of legal matters.

While providing legal services is our focus, it is how we deliver them that sets us apart. Our goal is to provide clients with more than what they have come to expect from a law firm.

We commit to a deep understanding of each of our clients’ businesses and this approach allows us to anticipate clients’ needs and assist them in their decision making process.

We offer consistent, knowledgeable guidance based on clients’ specific goals and objectives. As a result of this approach, clients view us as a valued business partner. This enables our clients to focus on the growth and success of their own business, confident that their legal issues will be handled by our attentive and responsive teams.

We understand that what our clients seek is high-quality legal advice and first-rate service delivery. These are the twin engines that drive our firm-client relationships and ensure that we consistently deliver client satisfaction and maintain it.

Department Name Email Telephone
Insolvency Michael Lavelle, Managing Partner mlavelle@lavellepartners.ie
Corporate and commercial Gríana O'Kelly, Partner gokelly@lavellepartners.ie
Employment Marc Fitzgibbon, Partner mfitzgibbon@lavellepartners.ie
Commercial litigation Ciarán Leavy, Partner cleavy@lavellepartners.ie
Medical Negligence Avril Scally, Partner ascally@lavellepartners.ie
Real Estate Nicola Walsh, Partner nwalsh@lavellepartners.ie
Commercial litigation Dermot McClean dmcclean@lavellepartners.ie
Employment Emer Murphy emurphy@lavellepartners.ie
Real Estate Úna O'Connor uoconnor@lavellepartners.ie
Real Estate Annabel Caldwell acaldwell@lavellepartners.ie
Estate Planning, Wills and Probate Jennifer Morrow jmorrow@lavellepartners.ie
Real Estate Nicola Walsh, Partner nwalsh@lavellepartners.ie
Real Estate Jennifer Boylan jboylan@lavellepartners.ie
Personal Injury Mark Jones mjones@lavellepartners.ie
Debt and Asset Recovery Hannah Brady hbrady@lavellepartners.ie
Debt and Asset Recovery Barbara Tanzler btanzler@lavellepartners.ie
Real Estate Greg Flanagan gflanagan@lavellepartners.ie
Photo Name Position Profile
Mr Marc Fitzgibbon  photo Mr Marc Fitzgibbon
16 : 38
English
Polish
Consulegis
Law Society of Ireland
Managing Partner : Michael Lavelle
Partner : Ciarán Leavy
Partner : Marc Fitzgibbon
Partner : Avril Scally
Partner : Nicola Walsh
Partner : Gríana O'Kelly