Mr Benedikt Egill Arnason > LOGOS > Reykjavik, Iceland > Lawyer Profile


Work Department

Banking, Finance and Capital Markets • Construction and Real Estate • Corporate Law • Energy Law • Financial Restructuring and Insolvency • Mergers and Acquisitions.


Managing Partner.


Benedikt joined LOGOS in 2005, became a Partner in 2013 and has been the Managing Partner since 2022. He was previously with the Competition Appeals Council from 2004-2005.




The Icelandic Bar Association • IBA (International Bar Association).


Benedikt graduated from the University of Iceland as cand.jur, in 2005. Qualified as an Attorney in 2006 and is a Certified Securities Broker since 2008. He received his LL.M. degree in International Financing from King´s College London in 2009.

Lawyer Rankings

Iceland > Real estate and construction

(Leading individuals)

Benedikt Egill Arnason – LOGOS

LOGOS handles a broad range of real estate mandates, including property developments, commercial leases and related tax issues; in a recent highlight, the team advised Hraunbyggd on financing, planning and purchasing matters regarding the development of a 2300 apartment neighbourhood in the municipality of Hafnarfjörður. Team leader Hjordis Halldorsdottir, who specialises in public procurement work, boosts the practice’s capability in construction and real estate disputes, alongside transactional partner Benedikt Egill Arnason. Aviation specialist Erlendur Gislason is another key member of the team.

Iceland > Restructuring and insolvency

LOGOS‘ ‘substantial practice’ is noted for its capabilities in financial restructurings, in addition to matters pertaining to payment suspensions, bankruptcy proceedings and the implementation of voluntary and compulsory arrangements with creditors. Key clients include international banks, financial institutions, municipalities and airlines, including Icelandair Group; the team advised the latter and its subsidiaries on a €201.5m financial restructuring. Heidar Asberg Atlason, who handles bankruptcy proceedings, leads the group, which includes Olafur Arinbjorn Sigurdsson, Olafur Eiriksson and Benedikt Egill Arnason.