15 New Bridge Street > London, England > Set Profile

Chambers of Martin Rutherford QC
15 New Bridge Street
LONDON
EC4V 6AU
England

London Bar > Crime Tier 4

15 New Bridge Street garners praise as 'a highly respected set of chambers' with 'reliable, experienced practitioners'. The 'unflappable' Martin Rutherford QC is 'a superb tactician, leading to the correct strategic decisions being made in the most complex of cases'. Brian St Louis QC is 'a passionate advocate, who brings life and energy into the court room when on his feet' and 'deploys a formidable combination of charm and persistence in his advocacy'. In August 2020 Tana Adkin QC joined the team from the now defunct set Charter Chambers.

Leading Silks

Brian St. Louis QC - 15 New Bridge StreetBrian has the exceptional ability to transform hopeless cases into winners, he chips away at the prosecution case in a tenacious and skilful manner, he always ensures the best outcome for his clients. Brian is a brilliant cross-examiner, he prepares meticulously and delivers with aplomb. He has a commanding court room presence and gravitas. Brian's speeches are captivating and juries love him. An outstanding Silk.
Ranked: Tier 3
Martin Rutherford QC - 15 New Bridge StreetMartin is a gent. Very calm and unflappable — he had a lovely manner with the Jury but was robust when circumstances required. Above all, Martin has been strong judgement in terms of identifying the correct tactical approach to the issues and challenges in a case and how best to achieve tactical objectives.
Ranked: Tier 3
Tana Adkin QC15 New Bridge StreetTana impresses through her ability to form a good relationship with lay clients, this includes clients with complex needs. She is a silk who pursues issues that are capable of working to the benefit of her case in a dogged manner and in the face of pressure to desist. Tana puts in a lot of legwork in case preparation and this often reaps reward as she displays a thorough knowledge of her case in argument.
Ranked: Tier 4

Leading Juniors

Charles Evans - 15 New Bridge StreetCharles is a first class advocate who is always on top of his brief. He has a no nonsense approach to cases, and is very personable with clients. Charles will always make himself available for a chat about a case and is very on top of the law.
Ranked: Tier 2
Justin McClintock - 15 New Bridge StreetHe has excellent academic ability and an aptitude for applying legal theory to practice in court. Justin has strong presentation and advocacy skills and the ability to present a point of view convincingly. He is very approachable and hard working, and most cases are dealt by him very well and clients speaks highly about his professionalism.
Ranked: Tier 2
Ruby Selva15 New Bridge StreetRuby did an excellent job with care and sensitivity whilst still robustly defending the client. Ruby is an impressive and skilled advocate. Her closing statements in particular are exceptionally well composed and perfectly presented to the jury.
Ranked: Tier 2
Rupert Hallowes15 New Bridge StreetRupert is an outstanding junior barrister, undoubtedly a silk in waiting. Fiercely intelligent, superb communication skills, terrific at establishing rapport with judge and jury alike. He can command both the respect of Judges, fellow counsel and juries when robustly representing his client’s interests.
Ranked: Tier 3
Matthew Hardyman15 New Bridge StreetMatthew has a commanding presence in the courtroom. He is authoritative, knowledgeable, and has a reassuring manner with clients.'
Ranked: Tier 3
Patrick Maggs15 New Bridge StreetPatrick’s strengths are that he meticulously considers all of the evidence with the result that he frequently manages to find some evidence overlooked by others that will assist the defence. He also takes the prosecution by surprise in that he has a very polite manner which belies the fact that he is lethal in court. His client care is excellent. He manages to explain complex legal points to clients in a simple manner.
Ranked: Tier 3
Sarah Read15 New Bridge StreetSarah is very well prepared, effective in cross examination and tenacious in legal arguments. Calm and confident in court, she makes very well-crafted closing speeches.
Ranked: Tier 3
Sophie Shotton15 New Bridge StreetFluent, confident and terrifically focused. Her presence, professionalism and extensive preparation for pre-trial hearings immediately impressed; very competent advocacy was demonstrated during the trial alongside a sensible, measured yet thorough approach in this case involving a disadvantaged defendant. She is an advocate who truly assists the court, recognizes when sensible accommodations can be reached, and stands out from the crowd.
Ranked: Tier 3
Robert Ward15 New Bridge StreetHe is a workhorse, always ahead of the prosecution, affable and incisive when he questions a witness. He has the ability to consume large amounts of difficult and complex information; making it easy for clients and juries to understand. He possesses an encyclopaedic knowledge of the law.
Ranked: Tier 3
Dominic Benthall - 15 New Bridge StreetA thoughtful advocate with excellent judgement. Each client has been able to form an identifiable bond with Dominic who will explain and advise them cautiously and accurately. Dominic attracts praise from those who co-defend. Dominic oozes charisma.
Ranked: Tier 3
Clodaghmuire Callinan15 New Bridge StreetClodaghmuire has an exceptional intellect and thorough knowledge of law and procedure. This, combined with her meticulous case preparation and gutsy advocacy make her a pleasure to see in any courtroom.
Ranked: Tier 3

Testimonials

Set

A growing set of well respected counsel.’

15 New Bridge Street is a good set, with a good pool of barristers who offer quality service for serious criminal cases.’

Very well organised, with a depth of excellent counsel.’

Good strength in depth both in terms of advocacy, client care and sensible advice.’

Well-run and well-managed chambers that is professional and reliable. Plenty of good, available counsel.’

Clerking

The clerks are experienced and always keen to assist. All enquiries are dealt with efficiently, and there have never been any problems in selecting counsel for the case in hand.’

Led by leading silk Martin Rutherford QC,  15 NBS are a unique set of outstanding skilled criminal law specialists,  comprised of 54 tenants including 3 Queens Counsel, that are continuing  to grow and excel offering first class advocacy, specialist advice and representation in all areas of criminal law providing the highest standards of professional service. They approach all cases with integrity and sensitivity who have taken on both private and publicly funded work. This broad criminal practice stands out for its strength in both defending and prosecuting and for covering the full range of serious criminal offences.

Many former members have been appointed to the Circuit Bench

15NBS prides itself on outstanding clerking and case management. The clerks team with many years of experience between them and a wealth of knowledge,  understand what Barrister to allocate to what case, always ensuring that the fit is right, enabling the Barrister to ensure exceptional quality of representation regardless of level size or complexity.

Types of work undertaken: 15NBS has vastly experienced barristers both prosecuting and defending across the full spectrum of criminal law. Chambers not only defends at a very high level but is also instructed by the major prosecuting agencies including SFO and Complex Case Units. 15NBS have a highly experienced immigration team who regularly provide specialist representation and advice in all aspects of asylum and deportation and immigration as well as all aspects under the EEA Regulations.

This set houses a specialist regulatory team made up of members who appear before the Nursing and Midwifery Council, the General Pharmaceutical Council, the General Dental Council and Mental Health Tribunals.

Crime: Members deal with very serious crime cases including gangland killings, child murder, armed robbery. There is particular extensive experience in historical and serious sexual crime, serious violent crime and complex drugs cases involving multiple defendants.

 Fraud: Members are instructed in high profile and complex fraud cases to elaborate deceptions of extremely high value, multi million pound money laundering and VAT fraud and financial crime.

Professional regulatory and discipline: Chambers has a great deal of talent that deals with the some of the most serious cases on behalf of various Regulatory Authorities including Healthcare and The Police.

DepartmentNameEmailTelephone
Martin Rutherford QCmartin.rutherford@15nbs.com02078421900
Brian St Louis QCbrian.stlouis@15nbs.com02078421900
Tana Adkintana.adkinqc@15nbs.com02078421900
Peter Walshpeter.walsh@15nbs.com02078421900
Simon SmithSimon.smith@15nbs.com02078421900
Timothy Bankstimothy.banks@15nbs.com02078421900
Jeremy Lynnjeremy.lynn@15nbs.com02078421900
Nichola Merricknichola.merrick@15nbs.com02078421900
John Greenanjohn.greenan@15nbs.com02078421900
Helen McCormackhelen.mccormack@15nbs.com02078421900
Kathryn Hirstkathryn.hirst@15nbs.com02078421900
Francis LLoydfrancis.lloyd@15nbs.com02078421900
Charles EvansCharles.evans@15nbs.com02078421900
Ann Mulliganann.mulligan@15nbs.com02078421900
Andrew Forsythandrew.forsyth@15nbs.com02078421900
Stephen Earnshawstephen.earnshaw@15nbs.com02078421900
Kyri Argyropouloskyri.argyropoulos@15nbs.com02078421900
John Hunterjohn.hunter@15nbs.com02078421900
Amanda Hamiltonamanda.hamilton@15nbs.com02078421900
Rupert Hallowesrupert.hallowes@15nbs.com02078421900
Michael Hillmanmichael.hillman@15nbs.com02078421900
Alexander Williamsalexander.williams@15nbs.com02078421900
Robert Evansrobert.evans@15nbs.com02078421900
James Lofthousejames.lofthouse@15nbs.com02078421900
Patrick Maggspatrick.maggs@15nbs.com02078421900
Matthew Hardymanmatthew.hardyman@15nbs.com02078421900
Julie Whitbyjulie.whitby@15nbs.com02078421900
Nicholas Coopernicholas.cooper@15nbs.com02078421900
Siobhan Molloysiobhan.molloy@15nbs.com02078421900
Sophie Shottonsophie.shotton@15nbs.com02078421900
Ruby Selvaruby.selva@15nbs.com02078421900
Kerry Moorekerry.moore@15nbs.com02078421900
Dominic Benthalldominic.benthall@15nbs.com02078421900
Giles Morrisongiles.morrison@15nbs.com02078421900
Timothy Starktimothy.stark@15nbs.com02078421900
Mathew Turnermathew.turner@15nbs.com02078421900
Michael Collismichael.collis@15nbs.com02078421900
Ruth Zentler-Munroruth.zentler-munroe@15nbs.com02078421900
Sarah Readsarah.read@15nbs.com02078421900
Neil Rossneil.ross@15nbs.com02078421900
Beth Crockerbeth.crocker@15nbs.com02078421900
Clodaghmuire Callinanclodaghmuire.callinan@15nbs.com02078421900
Robert Wardrobert.ward@15nbs.com02078421900
Jodie Woodwardjodie.woodward@15nbs.com02078421900
Yvonne Kramoyvonne.kramo@15nbs.com02078421900
Justin McClintockjustin.mcclintock@15nbs.com02078421900
Stuart DingleStuart.dingle@15nbs.com02078421900
Claire Mawerclaire.mawer@15nbs.com02078421900
Jim OlphertJim.olphert@15nbs.com02078421900
Helen Dawsonhelen.dawson@15nbs.com02078421900
John Wallerjohn.waller@15nbs.com02078421900
Oliver Kavanagholiver.kavanagh@15nbs.com02078421900
Annabel Goughannabel.gough@15nbs.com02078421900
Joseph Carrjoseph.carr@15nbs.com02078421900
PhotoNamePositionProfile
Kyri Argyropoulos photo Kyri ArgyropoulosKyri also undertakes Health and Safety cases and discipline and professional conduct…
Timothy Banks photo Timothy BanksTim Banks has over 30 years’ experience, having prosecuted and defended in…
Mr Dominic Benthall photo Mr Dominic BenthallDominic has considerable expertise in complex boiler-room frauds having prosecuted on behalf…
Clodaghmuire Callinan photo Clodaghmuire CallinanClodaghmuire is a criminal defence advocate specialising in serious violence, firearms and…
Michael Collis photo Michael CollisMichael is currently acting as a junior junior for the Undercover Policing…
Nicholas Cooper photo Nicholas CooperNicolas is a Level 3 Prosecutor and specialises in the following areas…
Beth Crocker photo Beth CrockerBeth is regularly instructed to defend in serious and complex cases.  Her…
Helen Dawson photo Helen DawsonHelen is developing a busy criminal practice in the Crown Court, across…
Stuart Dingle photo Stuart DingleStuart undertakes criminal defence and prosecution work. He has defended in a…
Stephen Earnshaw photo Stephen EarnshawStephen Earnshaw was called in 1990 and has 29 years of experience…
Robert Evans photo Robert EvansRobert is a specialist criminal advocate. He is instructed as leading junior…
Mr Charles Evans photo Mr Charles EvansCharles qualified 30 years ago and has been practising exclusively in crime…
Andrew Forsyth photo Andrew Forsyth
John Greenan photo John GreenanCases that John has undertaken include defending in large-scale importations acting on…
Rupert Hallowes photo Rupert Hallowes
Amanda Hamilton photo Amanda HamiltonAmanda’s expertise is in the area of serious violent and sexual offences…
Mr Matthew Hardyman photo Mr Matthew HardymanMatthews areas of specialism include drugs, firearms, fraud, serious violence and sexual…
Michael Hillman photo Michael Hillman
Kathryn Hirst photo Kathryn HirstKathryn’s practice involves both defending and prosecuting serious criminal matters. She is…
John  Hunter photo John Hunter
Oliver Kavanagh photo Oliver Kavanagh
Yvonne  Kramo photo Yvonne Kramo
James Lofthouse photo James Lofthouse
Jeremy Lynn photo Jeremy Lynn
Patrick Maggs photo Patrick Maggs
Claire Mawer photo Claire MawerClaire has a busy practice defending in all areas of general crime,…
Justin McClintock photo Justin McClintock
Helen McCormack photo Helen McCormack
Nichola Merrick photo Nichola MerrickNicola Merrick is a criminal law specialist with extensive experience as leading…
Siobhan Molloy photo Siobhan MolloySiobhan has experience in the conduct of high profile complex cases including…
Kerry  Moore photo Kerry MooreKerry’s practice is predominately criminal defence work and he is instructed regularly…
Giles Morrison photo Giles MorrisonGiles has a mixed practice and defends and prosecutes in equal measure.…
Ann Mulligan photo Ann MulliganAnn both defends and prosecutes (Grade 4) in all areas of criminal…
Jim Olphert photo Jim OlphertJim has a broad practice both defending and prosecuting, predominantly in London,…
Sarah Read photo Sarah ReadSarah is a criminal law specialist. She is known for her meticulous…
Neil Ross photo Neil Ross
Mr Martin Rutherford photo Mr Martin RutherfordMartin is Head of Chambers at 15 New Bridge Street
Ms Ruby Selva photo Ms Ruby SelvaRuby is known for her feisty but firm approach in Court and…
Ms Sophie Shotton photo Ms Sophie ShottonSophie undertakes all aspects of criminal work and has been instructed in…
Simon Smith photo Simon SmithSimon is a senior criminal law specialist with over 33 years of…
Mr Brian St Louis photo Mr Brian St LouisExclusively criminal defence – Brian specialises in murder, fraud and sex offences.
Tim Starkey photo Tim StarkeyTim is particularly interested in prosecuting cases involving contested expert evidence and…
Mathew  Turner photo Mathew TurnerMathew has particular expertise and experience in restraint and confiscation matters and…
John Waller photo John Waller 
Peter Walsh photo Peter WalshPeter is particularly experienced in fraud cases and recently prosecuted a case…
Robert Ward photo Robert WardRobert undertakes criminal work at the highest level, frequently instructed in cases…
Julie Whitby photo Julie WhitbyJulie has a wide-ranging practice including offences of child cruelty, harassment, violence…
Alexander Williams  photo Alexander Williams
Jodie Woodward photo Jodie Woodward
Ruth  Zentler-Munroe photo Ruth Zentler-Munroe
:
English