Set Profile > 15 New Bridge Street > London, England

Chambers of Martin Rutherford QC
15 New Bridge Street
LONDON
EC4V 6AU
England

London Bar > Crime Tier 4

15 New Bridge Street garners praise as 'a highly respected set of chambers' with 'reliable, experienced practitioners'. The 'unflappable' Martin Rutherford QC is 'a superb tactician, leading to the correct strategic decisions being made in the most complex of cases'. Brian St Louis QC is 'a passionate advocate, who brings life and energy into the court room when on his feet' and 'deploys a formidable combination of charm and persistence in his advocacy'. In August 2020 Tana Adkin QC joined the team from the now defunct set Charter Chambers.

Leading Silks

Brian St. Louis QC - 15 New Bridge StreetBrian has the exceptional ability to transform hopeless cases into winners, he chips away at the prosecution case in a tenacious and skilful manner, he always ensures the best outcome for his clients. Brian is a brilliant cross-examiner, he prepares meticulously and delivers with aplomb. He has a commanding court room presence and gravitas. Brian's speeches are captivating and juries love him. An outstanding Silk.
Ranked: Tier 3
Martin Rutherford QC - 15 New Bridge StreetMartin is a gent. Very calm and unflappable — he had a lovely manner with the Jury but was robust when circumstances required. Above all, Martin has been strong judgement in terms of identifying the correct tactical approach to the issues and challenges in a case and how best to achieve tactical objectives.
Ranked: Tier 3
Tana Adkin QC15 New Bridge StreetTana impresses through her ability to form a good relationship with lay clients, this includes clients with complex needs. She is a silk who pursues issues that are capable of working to the benefit of her case in a dogged manner and in the face of pressure to desist. Tana puts in a lot of legwork in case preparation and this often reaps reward as she displays a thorough knowledge of her case in argument.
Ranked: Tier 4

Leading Juniors

Charles Evans - 15 New Bridge StreetCharles is a first class advocate who is always on top of his brief. He has a no nonsense approach to cases, and is very personable with clients. Charles will always make himself available for a chat about a case and is very on top of the law.
Ranked: Tier 2
Justin McClintock - 15 New Bridge StreetHe has excellent academic ability and an aptitude for applying legal theory to practice in court. Justin has strong presentation and advocacy skills and the ability to present a point of view convincingly. He is very approachable and hard working, and most cases are dealt by him very well and clients speaks highly about his professionalism.
Ranked: Tier 2
Ruby Selva15 New Bridge StreetRuby did an excellent job with care and sensitivity whilst still robustly defending the client. Ruby is an impressive and skilled advocate. Her closing statements in particular are exceptionally well composed and perfectly presented to the jury.
Ranked: Tier 2
Rupert Hallowes15 New Bridge StreetRupert is an outstanding junior barrister, undoubtedly a silk in waiting. Fiercely intelligent, superb communication skills, terrific at establishing rapport with judge and jury alike. He can command both the respect of Judges, fellow counsel and juries when robustly representing his client’s interests.
Ranked: Tier 3
Matthew Hardyman15 New Bridge StreetMatthew has a commanding presence in the courtroom. He is authoritative, knowledgeable, and has a reassuring manner with clients.'
Ranked: Tier 3
Patrick Maggs15 New Bridge StreetPatrick’s strengths are that he meticulously considers all of the evidence with the result that he frequently manages to find some evidence overlooked by others that will assist the defence. He also takes the prosecution by surprise in that he has a very polite manner which belies the fact that he is lethal in court. His client care is excellent. He manages to explain complex legal points to clients in a simple manner.
Ranked: Tier 3
Sarah Read15 New Bridge StreetSarah is very well prepared, effective in cross examination and tenacious in legal arguments. Calm and confident in court, she makes very well-crafted closing speeches.
Ranked: Tier 3
Sophie Shotton15 New Bridge StreetFluent, confident and terrifically focused. Her presence, professionalism and extensive preparation for pre-trial hearings immediately impressed; very competent advocacy was demonstrated during the trial alongside a sensible, measured yet thorough approach in this case involving a disadvantaged defendant. She is an advocate who truly assists the court, recognizes when sensible accommodations can be reached, and stands out from the crowd.
Ranked: Tier 3
Robert Ward15 New Bridge StreetHe is a workhorse, always ahead of the prosecution, affable and incisive when he questions a witness. He has the ability to consume large amounts of difficult and complex information; making it easy for clients and juries to understand. He possesses an encyclopaedic knowledge of the law.
Ranked: Tier 3
Dominic Benthall - 15 New Bridge StreetA thoughtful advocate with excellent judgement. Each client has been able to form an identifiable bond with Dominic who will explain and advise them cautiously and accurately. Dominic attracts praise from those who co-defend. Dominic oozes charisma.
Ranked: Tier 3
Clodaghmuire Callinan15 New Bridge StreetClodaghmuire has an exceptional intellect and thorough knowledge of law and procedure. This, combined with her meticulous case preparation and gutsy advocacy make her a pleasure to see in any courtroom.
Ranked: Tier 3

Testimonials

Set

A growing set of well respected counsel.’

15 New Bridge Street is a good set, with a good pool of barristers who offer quality service for serious criminal cases.’

Very well organised, with a depth of excellent counsel.’

Good strength in depth both in terms of advocacy, client care and sensible advice.’

Well-run and well-managed chambers that is professional and reliable. Plenty of good, available counsel.’

Clerking

The clerks are experienced and always keen to assist. All enquiries are dealt with efficiently, and there have never been any problems in selecting counsel for the case in hand.’

Glenn Matthews is a joy to work with.’

Glenn Matthews is always helpful and ready to assist, no matter the day or time.’

Tom Parker and Glenn Matthews are first-class clerks, who always go the extra mile to help instructing solicitors.’

The clerks’ room is very accommodating – communication is very swift and efficient. They will bend over backwards to assist.’

Dispute resolution > Professional discipline

The 'very hands-on' team at Clyde & Co LLP covers a wide range of professional disciplinary matters alongside the firm's professional liability defence work; and the team's sector expertise includes medical and healthcare, legal, accountancy, property, insurance and financial services, while particularly noted for its defence of professionals. The healthcare regulatory and disciplinary team, led by Claire Petts, represents healthcare practitioners facing investigations; Fergal Cathie acts for professionals in high-profile cases before the Solicitors Disciplinary Tribunal (SDT); James Roberts heads the accountants liability, regulatory and disciplinary group; and Tim Crockford acts in disciplinary proceedings against auditors and accountants. Also integral to the group are Richard Harrison, who heads up the lawyers’ liability, investigations and regulatory group; professional liability specialist Sarah Clover; and accountants’ liability expert Andrew ForsythSam Holden, Tabitta van NouhuysJonathan Lawrence and Michael Clark are the legal directors to note, while senior associate Padi Dolatshahi represents healthcare professionals in regulatory investigations. Partner growth includes Penrose Foss joining in February 2021 from RSM (where she was GC), the 2020 hire of Joanna Bower from Capsticks LLP, and the recent elevation of Niya Phiri to partner. Rising star Stephen Hooper joined from Hempsons in March 2021.

Practice head(s):

Fergal Cathie; James Roberts; Claire Petts

Testimonials

The most experienced and successful team in this field. Critically, they have deep experience of taking matters to fully contested complex hearings, which they make look easy – it isn’t.

A very hands-on firm and incredibly approachable despite their size and superb reputation.

Perhaps the best firm around for professional discipline cases involving solicitors.

The team is knowledgeable, hardworking and committed to the client’s interests.

Richard Harrison is a market leader for professional negligence and discipline and investigations, especially as regards solicitors – astute and wise, brings a huge amount of expertise and knowledge to the case, and a reassuring presence in difficult matters.

Fergal Caithie instils confidence in clients and reads the tribunal well.

Andrew Forsyth is a remarkable and outstanding lawyer, who has unbounded energy and is immensely likeable.

Joanna Bower is incredibly knowledgeable and skilful at providing a second-to-none service for clients.

Key clients

PricewaterhouseCoopers

KPMG

Grant Thornton

RSM

Deloitte

BDO

Spire Healthcare

MDDUS

Medical Protection Society

Dental Protection

Over 50 NHS trusts

Premium Medical Protection

Led by leading silk Martin Rutherford QC,  15 NBS are a unique set of outstanding skilled criminal law specialists,  comprised of 54 tenants including 3 Queens Counsel, that are continuing  to grow and excel offering first class advocacy, specialist advice and representation in all areas of criminal law providing the highest standards of professional service. They approach all cases with integrity and sensitivity who have taken on both private and publicly funded work. This broad criminal practice stands out for its strength in both defending and prosecuting and for covering the full range of serious criminal offences.

Many former members have been appointed to the Circuit Bench

15NBS prides itself on outstanding clerking and case management. The clerks team with many years of experience between them and a wealth of knowledge,  understand what Barrister to allocate to what case, always ensuring that the fit is right, enabling the Barrister to ensure exceptional quality of representation regardless of level size or complexity.

Types of work undertaken: 15NBS has vastly experienced barristers both prosecuting and defending across the full spectrum of criminal law. Chambers not only defends at a very high level but is also instructed by the major prosecuting agencies including SFO and Complex Case Units. 15NBS have a highly experienced immigration team who regularly provide specialist representation and advice in all aspects of asylum and deportation and immigration as well as all aspects under the EEA Regulations.

This set houses a specialist regulatory team made up of members who appear before the Nursing and Midwifery Council, the General Pharmaceutical Council, the General Dental Council and Mental Health Tribunals.

Crime: Members deal with very serious crime cases including gangland killings, child murder, armed robbery. There is particular extensive experience in historical and serious sexual crime, serious violent crime and complex drugs cases involving multiple defendants.

 Fraud: Members are instructed in high profile and complex fraud cases to elaborate deceptions of extremely high value, multi million pound money laundering and VAT fraud and financial crime.

Professional regulatory and discipline: Chambers has a great deal of talent that deals with the some of the most serious cases on behalf of various Regulatory Authorities including Healthcare and The Police.

Department Name Email Telephone
Martin Rutherford QC martin.rutherford@15nbs.com 02078421900
Brian St Louis QC brian.stlouis@15nbs.com 02078421900
Tana Adkin tana.adkinqc@15nbs.com 02078421900
Peter Walsh peter.walsh@15nbs.com 02078421900
Simon Smith Simon.smith@15nbs.com 02078421900
Timothy Banks timothy.banks@15nbs.com 02078421900
Jeremy Lynn jeremy.lynn@15nbs.com 02078421900
Nichola Merrick nichola.merrick@15nbs.com 02078421900
John Greenan john.greenan@15nbs.com 02078421900
Helen McCormack helen.mccormack@15nbs.com 02078421900
Kathryn Hirst kathryn.hirst@15nbs.com 02078421900
Francis LLoyd francis.lloyd@15nbs.com 02078421900
Charles Evans Charles.evans@15nbs.com 02078421900
Ann Mulligan ann.mulligan@15nbs.com 02078421900
Andrew Forsyth andrew.forsyth@15nbs.com 02078421900
Stephen Earnshaw stephen.earnshaw@15nbs.com 02078421900
Kyri Argyropoulos kyri.argyropoulos@15nbs.com 02078421900
John Hunter john.hunter@15nbs.com 02078421900
Amanda Hamilton amanda.hamilton@15nbs.com 02078421900
Rupert Hallowes rupert.hallowes@15nbs.com 02078421900
Michael Hillman michael.hillman@15nbs.com 02078421900
Alexander Williams alexander.williams@15nbs.com 02078421900
Robert Evans robert.evans@15nbs.com 02078421900
James Lofthouse james.lofthouse@15nbs.com 02078421900
Patrick Maggs patrick.maggs@15nbs.com 02078421900
Matthew Hardyman matthew.hardyman@15nbs.com 02078421900
Julie Whitby julie.whitby@15nbs.com 02078421900
Nicholas Cooper nicholas.cooper@15nbs.com 02078421900
Siobhan Molloy siobhan.molloy@15nbs.com 02078421900
Sophie Shotton sophie.shotton@15nbs.com 02078421900
Ruby Selva ruby.selva@15nbs.com 02078421900
Kerry Moore kerry.moore@15nbs.com 02078421900
Dominic Benthall dominic.benthall@15nbs.com 02078421900
Giles Morrison giles.morrison@15nbs.com 02078421900
Timothy Stark timothy.stark@15nbs.com 02078421900
Mathew Turner mathew.turner@15nbs.com 02078421900
Michael Collis michael.collis@15nbs.com 02078421900
Ruth Zentler-Munro ruth.zentler-munroe@15nbs.com 02078421900
Sarah Read sarah.read@15nbs.com 02078421900
Neil Ross neil.ross@15nbs.com 02078421900
Beth Crocker beth.crocker@15nbs.com 02078421900
Clodaghmuire Callinan clodaghmuire.callinan@15nbs.com 02078421900
Robert Ward robert.ward@15nbs.com 02078421900
Jodie Woodward jodie.woodward@15nbs.com 02078421900
Yvonne Kramo yvonne.kramo@15nbs.com 02078421900
Justin McClintock justin.mcclintock@15nbs.com 02078421900
Stuart Dingle Stuart.dingle@15nbs.com 02078421900
Claire Mawer claire.mawer@15nbs.com 02078421900
Jim Olphert Jim.olphert@15nbs.com 02078421900
Helen Dawson helen.dawson@15nbs.com 02078421900
John Waller john.waller@15nbs.com 02078421900
Oliver Kavanagh oliver.kavanagh@15nbs.com 02078421900
Annabel Gough annabel.gough@15nbs.com 02078421900
Joseph Carr joseph.carr@15nbs.com 02078421900
Photo Name Position Profile
 Kyri Argyropoulos  photo Kyri Argyropoulos Kyri also undertakes Health and Safety cases and discipline and professional conduct…
 Timothy Banks  photo Timothy Banks Tim Banks has over 30 years’ experience, having prosecuted and defended in…
Mr Dominic Benthall  photo Mr Dominic Benthall Dominic has considerable expertise in complex boiler-room frauds having prosecuted on behalf…
 Clodaghmuire  Callinan  photo Clodaghmuire  Callinan Clodaghmuire is a criminal defence advocate specialising in serious violence, firearms and…
 Michael Collis  photo Michael Collis Michael is currently acting as a junior junior for the Undercover Policing…
 Nicholas Cooper  photo Nicholas Cooper Nicolas is a Level 3 Prosecutor and specialises in the following areas…
 Beth Crocker  photo Beth Crocker Beth is regularly instructed to defend in serious and complex cases.  Her…
 Helen Dawson  photo Helen Dawson Helen is developing a busy criminal practice in the Crown Court, across…
 Stuart Dingle  photo Stuart Dingle Stuart undertakes criminal defence and prosecution work. He has defended in a…
 Stephen Earnshaw  photo Stephen Earnshaw Stephen Earnshaw was called in 1990 and has 29 years of experience…
 Robert Evans  photo Robert Evans Robert is a specialist criminal advocate. He is instructed as leading junior…
Mr Charles Evans  photo Mr Charles Evans Charles qualified 30 years ago and has been practising exclusively in crime…
 Andrew Forsyth  photo Andrew Forsyth
 John Greenan  photo John Greenan Cases that John has undertaken include defending in large-scale importations acting on…
 Rupert Hallowes  photo Rupert Hallowes
 Amanda Hamilton  photo Amanda Hamilton Amanda’s expertise is in the area of serious violent and sexual offences…
Mr Matthew Hardyman  photo Mr Matthew Hardyman Matthews areas of specialism include drugs, firearms, fraud, serious violence and sexual…
 Michael Hillman  photo Michael Hillman
 Kathryn Hirst  photo Kathryn Hirst Kathryn’s practice involves both defending and prosecuting serious criminal matters. She is…
 John  Hunter  photo John  Hunter
 Oliver Kavanagh  photo Oliver Kavanagh
 Yvonne  Kramo  photo Yvonne  Kramo
 James Lofthouse  photo James Lofthouse
 Jeremy Lynn  photo Jeremy Lynn
 Patrick Maggs  photo Patrick Maggs
 Claire  Mawer  photo Claire  Mawer Claire has a busy practice defending in all areas of general crime,…
 Justin McClintock  photo Justin McClintock
 Helen McCormack  photo Helen McCormack
 Nichola Merrick  photo Nichola Merrick Nicola Merrick is a criminal law specialist with extensive experience as leading…
 Siobhan Molloy  photo Siobhan Molloy Siobhan has experience in the conduct of high profile complex cases including…
 Kerry  Moore  photo Kerry  Moore Kerry’s practice is predominately criminal defence work and he is instructed regularly…
 Giles Morrison  photo Giles Morrison Giles has a mixed practice and defends and prosecutes in equal measure.…
 Ann Mulligan  photo Ann Mulligan Ann both defends and prosecutes (Grade 4) in all areas of criminal…
 Jim Olphert  photo Jim Olphert Jim has a broad practice both defending and prosecuting, predominantly in London,…
 Sarah Read  photo Sarah Read Sarah is a criminal law specialist. She is known for her meticulous…
 Neil Ross  photo Neil Ross
Mr Martin Rutherford photo Mr Martin Rutherford Martin is Head of Chambers at 15 New Bridge Street
Ms Ruby Selva  photo Ms Ruby Selva Ruby is known for her feisty but firm approach in Court and…
Ms Sophie Shotton  photo Ms Sophie Shotton Sophie undertakes all aspects of criminal work and has been instructed in…
 Simon Smith  photo Simon Smith Simon is a senior criminal law specialist with over 33 years of…
Mr Brian St Louis photo Mr Brian St Louis Exclusively criminal defence – Brian specialises in murder, fraud and sex offences.
 Tim Starkey  photo Tim Starkey Tim is particularly interested in prosecuting cases involving contested expert evidence and…
 Mathew  Turner  photo Mathew  Turner Mathew has particular expertise and experience in restraint and confiscation matters and…
 John Waller  photo John Waller  
 Peter Walsh  photo Peter Walsh Peter is particularly experienced in fraud cases and recently prosecuted a case…
 Robert Ward  photo Robert Ward Robert undertakes criminal work at the highest level, frequently instructed in cases…
 Julie Whitby  photo Julie Whitby Julie has a wide-ranging practice including offences of child cruelty, harassment, violence…
 Alexander Williams   photo Alexander Williams 
 Jodie Woodward  photo Jodie Woodward
 Ruth  Zentler-Munroe  photo Ruth  Zentler-Munroe
:
English