The Legal 500
Webinars

Understanding ESG in Australia – a guide for general counsel

24 February 2021, 11.00am Perth; 1.00pm Brisbane; 2.00pm Melbourne/Sydney

In association with...

← Back to Webinar homepage

Understanding ESG in Australia – a guide for general counsel

Overview

After a year like no other, Australia’s businesses and their general counsel are still trying to decipher what Covid-19 means for their operating models. The unprecedented human and economic costs of the pandemic mean plotting a sustainable recovery is almost certain to feature in their plans. Identify and mitigating risks across supply chains, establishing new corporate governance standards, and finding new ways to cope with emerging problems have all become essential skills in uncertain times. For GCs, the message is never let a good crisis go to waste.

In this webinar, we ask what the growing focus on environmental, social, and corporate governance (ESG) standards mean for Australia’s GCs, and explore how getting to grips with sustainability is now a vital part of the senior counsel role.

Drawing on the experiences of some of Australia’s leading GCs, we will discuss:

  • ESG indicators as an indicator of the underlying sustainability of a company and its exposure to risk;
  • How the pandemic has introduced radical changes in corporate governance;
  • How Australia’s GCs can help guide their businesses through uncertain times;
  • The future regulatory and ESG pressures facing business.