Firm Profile > Dillon Eustace > Dublin, Ireland

Dillon Eustace
33 SIR JOHN ROGERSON'S QUAY
DUBLIN 2
Ireland

Investment funds Tier 1

The ‘down-to-earth, practical and knowledgeable’ team at Dillon Eustace has ‘huge experience in the investment funds industry’. Key areas of work include advising credit managers on establishing Irish-regulated investment funds, and acting for managers buying Irish real estate via QIAIFs. Etain de Valera advised Tennenbaum Capital on establishing an Irish loan origination fund, and Cillian Bredin acted for Legal & General Investment Management on the establishment of a fund management operation in Ireland. Donnacha O’Connor, who took over as practice head from Andrew Bates, assisted Roundshield Capital Partners with setting up an Icav sub-fund to invest in Irish social housing. Brian Kelliher, the ‘outstanding’ Brian Higgins and senior associate Grace O’Connor are also noted.

Banking and finance Tier 2

Dillon Eustace 'provides a top-quality offering and is always committed to getting the deal done efficiently'. Its client list includes international financial institutions, domestic banks and alternative lenders, and government agencies; Nama is a longstanding client. John-Hugh Colleran is 'pragmatic and relationship driven, with very strong interpersonal skills'; Keith Robinson is 'very approachable and solutions focused'; and the 'consistently excellent' and 'technically very strong' Kate Curneen is noted for her expertise in property finance. Conor Houlihan moved to DLA Piper.

Capital markets Tier 2

Dillon Eustace is praised for its ability to 'support clients even in difficult times'. Highlights included advising American International Group as issuer on the listing of €1bn-worth of 1.875% notes on the Irish Stock Exchange, and assisting with the structuring and establishment of debt issuance vehicle Celtic Investment Opportunities Fund Lending to finance Irish real estate acquisitions. Conor Keaveny stands out for his 'attention to detail and good understanding of the context of projects'. Conor Houlihan moved to DLA Piper.

Insolvency and corporate restructuring Tier 2

At Dillon Eustace, department head Jamie Ensor is particularly adept at dealing with liquidations, including a remarkable one where he first acted for a large Asian company on the successful winding up of an Irish registered company, and then for the court-appointed receiver in the cross-border asset recovery involving the obtaining of freezing orders. Other work includes examinerships and receiverships.

Insurance Tier 2

At Dillon Eustace, contentious head Kieran Cowhey is particularly adept at handling aviation and product liability matters, but his caseload extends to advising insurers on professional indemnity for solicitors, accountants, construction experts and insurance brokers, as well as advising Irish banks on D&O insurance coverage issues. John O’Riordan acted for RSA Insurance Group in several High Court cases resulting from a fire in a restaurant, which were settled on favourable terms. Andrew Bates handles insurance regulatory work.

Real estate Tier 2

Dillon Eustace’s ‘highly engaged’ team has expertise in a broad range of commercial property matters, including landlord and tenant issues, loan book acquisition, and the sale and purchase of commercial, investment and residential properties. Recent work highlights include Louise Wright acting for SW3 Capital and Tristan Capital Partners on the site acquisition, forward funding, development and letting strategy agreement for the Exo building, Dublin’s largest office building, as well as on the acquisition of three apartment blocks. Kelly O’Hara leads the practice and other key figures include name partner Paul Eustace and senior associate Brendan Cunnane, who arrived from Nama in January 2018 to strengthen the team.

Commercial, corporate and M&A Tier 3

Dillon Eustace has notable strength in the healthcare sector; practice head Lorcan Tiernan and senior associate Catherine Hicks advised a leading primary care provider on the disposal of its 50% interest in a group of clinics, and Tiernan also acted for Beechfield Nursing Home Group on the €33m sale of three nursing homes. Media and real estate are also sector specialisms. Adrian Benson, who advised Dundalk Town FC on its sale to US-based consortium Peak6, is another key contact.

Dispute resolution Tier 3

Kieran Cowhey leads the team at Dillon Eustace, which has been particularly active in financial services litigation and shareholder disputes. Peter Bredin successfully secured an €8.7m judgment for Seaconview fund against a guarantor of loans. John O’Riordan and John Doyle are also key contacts. Other clients include the National Asset Management Agency, Allied Irish Banks and the Motor Insurers' Bureau of Ireland.

Media and entertainment Tier 3

Dillon Eustace handles defamation, privacy and contempt claims, as well as providing pre-publication advice to national daily and Sunday newspapers. The team is also expanding its expertise in relation to publication on the internet and social media. John Doyle, David Kavanagh and John O’Riordan are the key contacts.

Transport Tier 3

Maritime and admiralty law specialist Paul Gill leads the team at Dillon Eustace, which acts primarily for shipowners and handles insurance interests concerning salvage cases, personal injury claims, collision cases and wrongful arrests. The team also has a presence in the aviation sector, advising airlines and aviation insurers. David Kavanaugh is also noted.

The firm: Dillon Eustace was established in 1992 and is one of Ireland’s leading law firms focusing on financial services, banking and capital markets, corporate and M&A, litigation and dispute resolution, real estate, and taxation. Headquartered in Dublin the firm’s international practice has seen it establish offices in Tokyo, New York and the Cayman Islands. In tandem with international development the firm has expanded significantly, particularly in recent years, in the domestic Irish market.

Areas of practice: The firm advises across a wide range of practice areas and disciplines. It is a market leader in a number of its key chosen fields including financial services, banking and capital markets, financial and insurance litigation and regulated and international mergers and acquisitions. In recent years the firm has been involved in many of the most significant transactions forming part of Ireland’s deleveraging and distressed asset disposal processes. It has acted for buyers of in excess of €20bn worth of distressed Irish assets and in some of the most high-profile commercial transactions including the sale by the State of shares in Bank of Ireland and a number of high profile corporate inversion transactions.

Department Name Email Telephone
Asset management Donnacha O'Connor donnacha.oconnor@dilloneustace.ie +353 1 673 1729
Asset management Brian Dillon brian.dillon@dilloneustace.ie +353 1 673 1713
Aviation/asset finance Conor Keaveny conor.keaveny@dilloneustace.ie +353 1 673 1741
Banking Conor Keaveny conor.keaveny@dilloneustace.ie +353 1 673 1741
Banking Keith Robinson keith.robinson@dilloneustace.ie +353 1 674 1004
Capital markets Mark Thorne mark.thorne@dilloneustace.ie +353 1 667 0022
Capital markets Conor Keaveny conor.keaveny@dilloneustace.ie +353 1 673 1741
Cayman Islands Matt Mulry matt.mulry@dilloneustace.ie +1 345 949 0022
Cayman Islands Jonathan Law jonathan.law@dilloneustace.ie +1 345 949 0022
Commercial Real Estate Kelly O'Hara kelly.ohara@dilloneustace.ie +353 1 673 1827
Commercial litigation and dispute resolution Kieran Cowhey kieran.cowhey@dilloneustace.ie +353 1 673 1783
Commercial litigation and dispute resolution Paul Breen paul.breen@dilloneustace.ie +353 1 673 1784
Compliance and regulatory Keith Waine keith.waine@dilloneustace.ie +353 1 673 1822
Corporate and M&A Lorcan Tiernan lorcan.tiernan@dilloneustace.ie +353 1 673 1736
Corporate and M&A Adrian Benson adrian.benson@dilloneustace.ie +353 1 673 1705
Distressed asset acquisition and finance Conor Keaveny conor.keaveny@dilloneustace.ie +353 1 673 1741
Distressed asset acquisition and finance Mark Thorne mark.thorne@dilloneustace.ie +353 1 667 0022
Employment John Doyle john.doyle@dilloneustace.ie +353 1 673 1786
Financial services Andrew Bates andrew.bates@dilloneustace.ie +353 1 673 1704
Financial services Brian Higgins brian.higgins@dilloneustace.ie +353 1 673 1891
Hedge funds and structured investment funds Donnacha O'Connor donnacha.oconnor@dilloneustace.ie +353 1 673 1729
Hedge funds and structured investment funds Etain de Valera etain.devalera@dilloneustace.ie +353 1 673 1739
Insolvency and corporate recovery Jamie Ensor jamie.ensor@dilloneustace.ie +353 1 673 1722
Insurance litigation Kieran Cowhey kieran.cowhey@dilloneustace.ie +353 1 673 1783
Insurance litigation Paul Breen paul.breen@dilloneustace.ie +353 1 673 1784
Insurance regulatory Andrew Bates andrew.bates@dilloneustace.ie +353 1 673 1704
Inward investment Mark Thorne mark.thorne@dilloneustace.ie +353 1 667 0022
Inward investment Lorcan Tiernan lorcan.tiernan@dilloneustace.ie +353 1 673 1736
Listings Tara O'Callaghan tara.ocallaghan@dilloneustace.ie +353 1 673 1831
Listings Fionnán Gannon fionnan.gannon@dilloneustace.ie +353 1 673 1867
Maritime and aviation litigation Kieran Cowhey kieran.cowhey@dilloneustace.ie +353 1 673 1783
Maritime and aviation litigation David Kavanagh david.kavanagh@dilloneustace.ie +353 1 673 1788
Media and defamation John Doyle john.doyle@dilloneustace.ie +353 1 673 1786
Media and defamation David Kavanagh david.kavanagh@dilloneustace.ie +353 1 673 1788
New York David Walsh david.walsh@dilloneustace.ie + 1 212 792 4168
Pharma and healthcare Elaine Healy elaine.healy@dilloneustace.ie +353 1 673 1797
Private equity/venture capital Adrian Benson adrian.benson@dilloneustace.ie +353 1 673 1705
Private equity/venture capital David Lawless david.lawless@dilloneustace.ie +353 1 673 1765
Real estate Kelly O'Hara kelly.ohara@dilloneustace.ie +353 1 673 1827
Real estate Louise Wright louise.wright@dilloneustace.ie +353 1 673 1817
Regulatory investigations Andrew Bates andrew.bates@dilloneustace.ie +353 1 673 1704
Regulatory investigations John O'Riordan john.oriordan@dilloneustace.ie +353 1 673 1792
Securitisation and structured finance Conor Keaveny conor.keaveny@dilloneustace.ie +353 1 673 1741
Securitisation and structured finance David Lawless david.lawless@dilloneustace.ie +353 1 673 1765
Taxation David Lawless david.lawless@dilloneustace.ie +353 1 673 1765
Taxation Sean Murray sean.murray@dilloneustace.ie +353 1 673 1764
Photo Name Position Profile
Mr Andrew Bates  photo Mr Andrew Bates
Mr Adrian Benson  photo Mr Adrian Benson
Mr Peter Bredin  photo Mr Peter Bredin
Mr Cillian Bredin  photo Mr Cillian Bredin
Mr John-Hugh Colleran  photo Mr John-Hugh Colleran
Mr Martin Colman  photo Mr Martin Colman
Mr Kieran Cowhey  photo Mr Kieran Cowhey
Mrs Kate Curneen  photo Mrs Kate Curneen
Mr Brian Dillon  photo Mr Brian Dillon
Mr John Doyle  photo Mr John Doyle
Mr Jamie Ensor  photo Mr Jamie Ensor
Mr Paul Eustace  photo Mr Paul Eustace
Mr Brian Higgins  photo Mr Brian Higgins
Mr David Kavanagh  photo Mr David Kavanagh
Mr Conor Keaveny  photo Mr Conor Keaveny
Mr Brian Kelliher  photo Mr Brian Kelliher
Ms Grace O’Connor  photo Ms Grace O’Connor
Mr Donnacha O’Connor  photo Mr Donnacha O’Connor
Mrs Kelly O’Hara  photo Mrs Kelly O’Hara
Mr John O’Riordan  photo Mr John O’Riordan
Ms Derbhil O’Riordan  photo Ms Derbhil O’Riordan
Mr Keith Robinson  photo Mr Keith Robinson
Mr Lorcan Tiernan  photo Mr Lorcan Tiernan
Mrs Etain de Valera  photo Mrs Etain de Valera
Number of lawyers : 90+
French
German
Italian
Main Contact Dublin : Mark Thorne (Managing Partner), mark.thorne@dilloneustace.ie, ph:+353 1 667 0022
Corporate Contact : Lorcan Tiernan. lorcan.tiernan@dilloneustace.ie, Ph: +353 1 673 1736
Financial Services Contact : Andrew Bates, andrew.bates@dilloneustace.ie, Ph: +353 1 673 1704
Other offices : Cayman Islands
Other offices : New York
Other offices : Tokyo