Lead counsel in Sri Lanka

Since 1973 Sri Lanka’s legal profession is, de jure, a fused one with qualified lawyers known as “attorneys”. Prior to this, there was a distinction between advocates and proctors, analogous to barristers and solicitors respectively, operating with many of the same prevailing customs as those in England and other Commonwealth jurisdictions. Many elite advocates (or, to use the US terminology, “trial lawyers”) continue to practice independently, often with other lawyers in chambers being employees of the most senior, as per the Indian model, rather than entirely separate practitioners sharing expenses such as in England or Hong Kong. The title of “President’s Counsel” is roughly analogous to the Queen’s Counsel designation in England and Australia, or Senior Advocates in India; there are also holders of this designation in government service and as part of law firms too.