Private browsing mode, also known as incognito mode, is a way to surf the web without your activity being recorded in your browsing history.
However, private browsing isn't as “private” as you may think it is. Here's why.
How does private browsing work?
When you open a private browsing window, the browser will only retain information whilst the window is open.
Key bits of information stored by browsers include the websites you've visited, usernames, passwords and information from forms, all of which are stored as “cookies” or small pockets of data.
Once your browsing window is closed, these cookies are cleared and if someone else uses your computer they won't see what you were viewing.