Set Profile > Cornerstone Barristers > Cardiff , Wales

Cornerstone Barristers
Cornerstone Barristers
Falcon Drive
CARDIFF BAY
CF10 4RU
Wales

Leading chambers in which excellence is achieved across a range of practice areas broadly related to public law and property, and through professional client service. With more than 50 barristers and offices in London, Birmingham and Cardiff, Cornerstone Barristers provides advice and representation in areas including administrative and public law, planning, property, housing, licensing, data protection, Court of Protection, health and social care, commercial and regulatory law. Clients include companies, central and local government, private developers, public development agencies and individuals.

The set: Chambers offers expertise at all levels of seniority, from QCs to newly qualified barristers, and at all levels of the court system, from County Court to the Supreme Court. Members are highly regarded and often involved in ground-breaking cases. They are not just legal experts but sector specialists, meaning that clients receive advice from, and are represented by, people who understand their perspective, their business and their challenges.

Types of work undertaken: The set’s expertise takes in the most lengthy, complex and high-profile cases, as well as more routine matters.

Planning & Environment: As one of the leading planning sets, Cornerstone Barristers handles the full range of issues including high-profile infrastructure and other nationally important projects involving property, public and environmental law, compulsory purchase and compensation, minerals and waste, rights of way, highways, village greens and commons. Members handle major inquiries and advise on prominent developments, statutory challenges and judicial review.

Social Housing: The set is well known for landlord and tenant law, homelessness, asylum, housing benefit fraud, possession claims, contested succession, unlawful subletting, anti-social behaviour and disrepair. Property: As well as advising and representing private and public-sector clients in relation to commercial and residential property, members act as mediators and arbitrators.

Public Law & Judicial Review: The set defends and challenges public law decisions in many areas includ­ing planning, housing, highways, health and social care, Court of Protection, immigration, human rights, education and employment. Members take part in the most prominent public inquiries and inquests.

Licensing: The set drives professional development in this area by advising, training and educating across the whole field, including alcohol, entertainment, gambling and taxis, on behalf of licensing authorities, police, leading industry operators, trade associations and campaign and community groups.

Information Law: The team has particular expertise in profiling, big data and Al, and brings both legal and technical knowledge to advising clients.

Health & Social Care: Members represent clients in the Court of Protection, the Administrative Court and the Supreme Court across the full spectrum of health and social care matters, including adult and child social care, mental capacity and mental health law.

Commercial: The set includes barristers with domestic business law practices encompassing contentious and non-contentious commercial and corporate work.

Regulatory Law: In conjunction with a leading reputation in corporate manslaughter, the set provides a comprehensive service in consumer protection, trading standards, health and safety and environmental regulation.

Department Name Email Telephone
CEO Clare Bello cbello@cornerstonebarristers.com
Head of Chambers KOLVIN QC, Philip (1985) philipk@cornerstonebarristers.com
Member of Chambers LOWE QC, Mark (1972) markl@cornerstonebarristers.com
Member of Chambers UNDERWOOD QC, Ashley (1976) aunderwood@cornerstonebarristers.com
Member of Chambers FINDLAY QC, James (1984) jamesf@cornerstonebarristers.com
Member of Chambers GASZTOWICZ QC, Steven (1981) sg@cornerstonebarristers.com
Member of Chambers COPPEL QC, Philip (1994) philipc@cornerstonebarristers.com
Member of Chambers FORLIN QC, Gerard (1984) gerardf@cornerstonebarristers.com
Member of Chambers BHOSE QC, Ranjit (1989) ranjitb@cornerstonebarristers.com
Member of Chambers RUTLEDGE QC, Kelvin (1989) kelvinr@cornerstonebarristers.com
Member of Chambers BEDFORD QC, Michael (1985) michaelb@cornerstonebarristers.com
Member of Chambers GROUND QC, Richard (1994) richardg@cornerstonebarristers.com
Member of Chambers BUSCH QC, Lisa (2000) lbusch@cornerstonebarristers.com
Member of Chambers SHADAREVIAN QC, Paul (1984) ps@cornerstonebarristers.com
Member of Chambers HUTCHINGS QC, Matt (1993) matth@cornerstonebarristers.com
Member of Chambers COSGROVE QC, Thomas (1994) tomc@cornerstonebarristers.com
Member of Chambers ALESBURY, Alun (1974) aluna@cornerstonebarristers.com
Member of Chambers STOKER, Graham (1977) grahams@cornerstonebarristers.com
Member of Chambers ALBUTT, Ian (1981) iana@cornerstonebarristers.com
Member of Chambers CLAY, Jonathan (1990) jclay@cornerstonebarristers.com
Member of Chambers HOLBROOK, Jon (1991) jonh@cornerstonebarristers.com
Member of Chambers MARSHALL, Paul (1991) paulm@cornerstonebarristers.com
Member of Chambers GREEN, Robin (1992) rgreen@cornerstonebarristers.com
Member of Chambers GRANT, Edward (1994) egrant@cornerstonebarristers.com
Member of Chambers EDWARDS, Martin (1995) medwards@cornerstonebarristers.com
Member of Chambers PAGET, Michael (1995) michaelp@cornerstonebarristers.com
Member of Chambers LINTOTT, David (1996) dlintott@cornerstonebarristers.com
Member of Chambers BEGLAN, Wayne (1996) wayneb@cornerstonebarristers.com
Member of Chambers TOWNSEND, Harriet (1992) htownsend@cornerstonebarristers.com
Member of Chambers ROWLANDS, Catherine (1992) catheriner@cornerstonebarristers.com
Member of Chambers BEGLAN, Wayne (1996) wayneb@cornerstonebarristers.com
Member of Chambers BHOGAL, Kuljit (1999) kuljitb@cornerstonebarristers.com
Member of Chambers LANE, Andrew (1999) andrewl@cornerstonebarristers.com
Member of Chambers DATTA, Shomik (2000) shomikd@cornerstonebarristers.com
Member of Chambers RANATUNGA, Asitha (2001) ar@cornerstonebarristers.com
Member of Chambers WELFARE, Damien (2001) damienw@cornerstonebarristers.com
Member of Chambers ETIEBET, Peggy (2001) peggye@cornerstonebarristers.com
Member of Chambers UNDERWOOD, Dean (2002) deanu@cornerstonebarristers.com
Member of Chambers CANNON, Josef (2002) jcannon@cornerstonebarristers.com
Member of Chambers LAMBERT, Emmaline (2003) elambert@cornerstonebarristers.com
Member of Chambers PARRY, Clare (2005) clarep@cornerstonebarristers.com
Member of Chambers PARKHILL, Lee (2005)
Member of Chambers DEHON, Estelle (2006) estelled@cornerstonebarristers.com
Member of Chambers OSCROFT, Jennifer (2006) jennyo@cornerstonebarristers.com
Member of Chambers KOHLI, Ryan (2006) ryank@cornerstonebarristers.com
Member of Chambers WILLIAMS, Robert (2008) robertw@cornerstonebarristers.com
Member of Chambers DRING, Emma (2009) emmad@cornerstonebarristers.com
Member of Chambers WHITTINGTON, Zoe (2009) zoew@cornerstonebarristers.com
Member of Chambers PAREKH, Ruchi (2010) ruchip@cornerstonebarristers.com
Member of Chambers PARKER, Jack (2011) jackp@cornerstonebarristers.com
Member of Chambers HANSTOCK, Richard (2012) richardh@cornerstonebarristers.com
Member of Chambers DR BOWES, Ashley (2013) ashleyb@cornerstonebarristers.com
Member of Chambers CALZAVARA, Riccardo (2013) rcalzavara@cornerstonebarristers.com
Member of Chambers DU FEU, Ben (2013) bend@cornerstonebarristers.com
Member of Chambers LEWIN, Matt (2013) matthewl@cornerstonebarristers.com
Member of Chambers O'LEARY, Tara (2014) tarao@cornerstonebarristers.com
Member of Chambers FITZSIMONS, John (2016) johnf@cornerstonebarristers.com
Member of Chambers Dr FOWLES, Sam (2017) sfowles@cornerstonebarristers.com
Member of Chambers Dr WILLIAMS, Alex (2017) awilliams@cornerstonebarristers.com
Member of Chambers CLAPP, Rowan rclapp@cornerstonebarristers.com