Firm Profile > Peckar & Abramson, P.C. > New York, United States

Peckar & Abramson, P.C.
1325 AVENUE OF THE AMERICAS, 10TH FLOOR
NEW YORK, NEW YORK 10019
United States

Construction (including construction litigation) Tier 1

Peckar & Abramson, P.C. is a firm of construction specialists with lawyers spread across ten offices throughout the US. Hailed by clients as ‘an invaluable resource‘, the team has noted strengths in every area of construction, from government contracts and PPP projects to high-valued construction litigation. Firm chairman Steven Charney and vice-chairman Stephen Reisman coordinate the team from New York City and Miami respectively. In Washington DC, construction and government contracts expert Michael Branca led on some of the firm’s most significant highlights of the past year, including public infrastructure projects and major disputes. Robert Peckar in New York and Ronald Helmuth in Los Angeles are recommended for creative dispute avoidance counsel. Also in New York, Paul Monte provides transactional and project support services to contractors on major infrastructure projects; he also has experience in complex litigation. Houston-based Matthew Moore acts as co-managing partner of the Texas offices, and represents some of the largest national commercial contractors in the country in their projects in Texas.

Practice head(s):

Steven Charney; Stephen Reisman

Other key lawyers:

Michael Branca; Robert Peckar; Paul Monte; Ronald Helmuth; Matthew Moore

Testimonials

‘Full service construction law firm. Wide breadth of attorneys that can staff up for big cases.’

‘The Peckar Team is a consummate group of professionals. They offer sound counsel and are careful not to allow legal strategy override sound business decision making. I consider them an invaluable resource for any matter that remotely appears to need a legal perspective.’

As a firm dedicated to the needs of its clients in the construction industry, P&A employs over 115 attorneys in 11 offices across the US, including New York, New Jersey, Massachusetts, Washington, DC, California, Florida, Illinois, and Texas. The firm also maintains international affiliations around the world, allowing its capabilities and scope to reach a truly global scale.

Main areas of practice

Construction/Construction Litigation:
Represents clients in a wide range of construction projects in the public and private sectors with a focus on general contractors and construction managers. The firm has extensive experience on a wide range of projects, including: airports, government buildings, highways, bridges, power generation facilities, railways, tunnels, pipelines, schools, hospitals, sports arenas, manufacturing facilities, hotels and other hospitality-industry projects, residential communities, etc.
Key Clients: National and international general contractors, construction managers and other members of the construction industry.
Contact: Steven M. Charney
Tel: 212-382-0909
Email: scharney@pecklaw.com

Contracts, Project Documentation and Risk Management
Laser-focused on the transactional side of construction projects — beginning with up-front project agreements, extending to project documentation during the course of performance, and ultimately to project closeout.
Contact: Levi W. Barrett
Tel: 212-382-0909
Email: lbarrett@pecklaw.com

Corporate:
Represents both public and privately held companies in all matters of corporate law including mergers, acquisitions, public offerings, private placements, venture capital, securities regulation, formation and organization of corporations, partnerships and limited liability companies, joint venture agreements, licensing, corporate governance and general commercial agreements.
Contact: Stephen P. Katz
Tel: 201-343-3434
Email: skatz@pecklaw.com

Corporate Compliance:
Provides advice on internal corporate controls, constructing and implementing compliance programs, internal investigations of potential ethics violations and representation of clients in investigations, audits and litigations, with a particular focus on the Foreign Corrupt Practices Act.
Contact: Robert S. Peckar
Tel: 212-382-0909
Email: rpeckar@pecklaw.com

Cyber Security & Data Privacy:

Provides guidance based on our deep understanding of our clients’ business and the legal issues concerning cyber security and data privacy, the technologies employed by construction businesses, and the importance of maintaining privacy and security to our clients’ daily and long-term operations.
Contact: Richard R. Volack
Tel: 212-382-0909
Email: rvolack@pecklaw.com

Government Contracts:
Provides counsel to a wide variety of industries engaged in government contracting and represent them in connection with an even broader array of contracting issues and disputes, including bid protests.
Contact: Patrick J. Greene, Jr (co-chair)
Tel: 201-343-3434
Email: pgreene@pecklaw.com
Contact: Lori Ann Lange (co-chair)
Tel: 202-293-8815
Email: LLange@pecklaw.com

Employment:
Handles defense and oversight of EPLI/D&O claims through insurance coverage, and monitor EPLI/D&O claims on behalf of carriers.
Contact: Kevin J. O’Connor, Aaron C. Schlesinger
Tel: 201-343-3434
Email: koconnor@pecklaw.com, aschlesinger@pecklaw.com

Labor Relations:
Counsels private employers, public employers and ERISA entities in all matters of litigation and labor relations management.
Contact: Gregory R. Begg
Tel: 201-343-3434
Email: gbegg@pecklaw.com

Power & Industrials/EPC:
Represents owners, contractors, construction managers and equipment vendors and suppliers in connection with a vast range of national and international power and industrial projects.
Contact: Timothy Rothberg
Tel: 713-568-1500
Email: trothberg@pecklaw.com

International:
International dispute resolution expertise is deep and diversified, representing industries including construction, banking and sports/entertainment. The firm represents clients in formal and informal proceedings, in court and before dispute resolution boards and international arbitration forums around the world.
Contact: Denis Serkin
Tel: 201-343-3434
Email: dserkin@pecklaw.com

Public-Private Partnerships:
Regularly counsels clients on complex P3 projects, including civil infrastructure initiatives such as bridges, tunnels, highways, pipelines and railways, and social infrastructure projects.
Contact: Nathan A. Cohen
Tel: 310-228-1075
Email: ncohen@pecklaw.com

Real Estate:
Handles every aspect of commercial real estate transactions, including the acquisition, financing, construction financing, leasing and disposition of real property.
Contact: Craig D. Spector
Tel: 201-343-3434
Email: cspector@pecklaw.com

Surety:
Combines insight and experience in the construction industry with a genuine understanding of issues affecting sureties to provide pragmatic solutions to complex problems.
Contact: Michael C. Zisa
Tel: 202-293-8815
Email: mzisa@pecklaw.com

White Collar Criminal Defense:
The firm has extensive experience on both the federal and local levels in criminal trials, the intricacies of the grand jury and other aspects of the practice of criminal law and issues that arise in the conduct of business.
Contact: Thomas J. Curran
Tel: 212-382-0909
Email: tcurran@pecklaw.com

Department Name Email Telephone
Chair Steven M. Charney scharney@pecklaw.com 212.382.0909
Founding Partner Robert S. Peckar rpeckar@pecklaw.com 212.382.0909
Vice Chair Stephen H. Reisman sreisman@pecklaw.com 305.358.2600
Co-Managing Partner, New York Gregory H. Chertoff gchertoff@pecklaw.com 212.382.0909
Co-Managing Partner, New York Paul Monte pmonte@pecklaw.com 212.382.0909
Managing Partner, New Jersey & California Robert Drucker rdrucker@pecklaw.com 201.343.3434
Managing Partner, Chicago Edward O. Pacer epacer@pecklaw.com 312.881.6300
Managing Partner, Washington, DC Michael A. Branca mbranca@pecklaw.com 202.293.8815
Co-Managing Partner, Miami Adam P. Handfinger ahandfinger@pecklaw.com 305.358.2600
Co-Managing Partner, Miami Gary M. Stein gstein@pecklaw.com 305.358.2600
Co-Managing Partner, Texas George C. Baldwin gbaldwin@pecklaw.com 512.236.0009
Co-Managing Partner, Texas Matthew S.C. Moore mmoore@pecklaw.com 713.568.1500
Co-Managing Partner, Texas Timothy D. Matheny tmatheny@pecklaw.com 214.523.5100
Chair, Contracts, Project Documentation and Risk Management Levi W. Barrett lbarrett@pecklaw.com 212.382.0909
Chair, Corporate Law Stephen P. Katz skatz@pecklaw.com 201.343.3434
Corporate Compliance Robert S. Peckar rspeckar@pecklaw.com 212.382.0909
Chair, Cyber Security & Data Privacy Richard R. Volack rvolack@pecklaw.com 212.382.0909
Chair, Employment Kevin J. O'Connor koconnor@pecklaw.com 201.343.3434
Chair, Government Contracts (Federal) Lori Ann Lange llange@pecklaw.com 202.293.8815
Chair, Government Contracts (State & Local) Patrick J. Greene, Jr pgreene@pecklaw.com 201.343.3434
Chair, Labor Gregory R. Begg gbegg@pecklaw.com 201.343.3434
Director, Latin America Jerry P. Brodsky jbrosky@pecklaw.com 305.358.2600
Chair, International Construction Denis Serkin dserkin@pecklaw.com 201.343.3434
Chair, Power & Industrials/EPC Timothy Rothberg trothberg@pecklaw.com 713.568.1500
Chair, Public-Private Partnerships Nathan A. Cohen ncohen@pecklaw.com 310.228.1075
Chair, Real Estate Craig D. Spector cspector@pecklaw.com 201.343.3434
Chair, Surety Michael C. Zisa mzisa@pecklaw.com 202.293.8815
Co-Chair, White Collar Criminal Defense Thomas J. Curran tcurran@pecklaw.com 212.382.0909
Number of Partners : 61
Number of Other Attorneys : 55
Total Employees : 200
English
Arabic
Armenian
Creole
Dutch
Farsi
Filipino
French
German
Hindi
Italian
Japanese
Lithuanian
Polish
Portugese
Russian
Spanish
Vietnamese
ABA (American Bar Association)
New York Bar Association
American Arbitration Association
Associated Builders and Contractors
American College of Construction Lawyers
Associated General Contractors of America
Association for the Improvement of American Infrastructure
Construction Financial Management Association
Dispute Resolution Board Foundation
Latin Builder’s Association
New York Building Trades Employers Association
NYC Building Commissioner's Council
TEXO
Utility & Transportation Contractors Association
Office : Austin, TX
Office : Boston, MA
Office : Chicago, IL
Office : Dallas, TX
Office : Houston, TX
Office : Los Angeles, CA
Office : Miami, FL
Office : New York, NY
Office : Oakland, CA
Office : River Edge, NJ
Office : Washington, DC