Firm Profile > Haynes and Boone, L.L.P. > Dallas, United States

Haynes and Boone, L.L.P.
2323 VICTORY AVENUE
SUITE 700
DALLAS, TX 75219-7673
United States

Intellectual property > Trademarks: non-contentious (including prosecution, portfolio management and licensing) Tier 2

Haynes and Boone, L.L.P. fields a team of experienced trademark lawyers across the country, though its strongest presence is in Dallas. Acting for clients in the advertising, telecoms, financial services and music industries, the team handles the full range of IP matters, including domain name disputes, oppositions and enforcement. Contacts in the Dallas office include trademark group chair David Bell, a name to note for international brand management; Purvi Patel Alber, who advises Fortune 500 companies on US and foreign trademark enforcement; and Jeffrey Becker, who is also noted for brand management as well as for advertising issues. 2020 saw the introduction of a number of new team members: in May, Erin Hennessy joined from Bracewell LLP; in August, partner Joseph Matal joined from the USPTO; and in November, Theresa Conduah joined the firm from an in-house role.

Practice head(s):

David Bell

Other key lawyers:

Purvi Patel Alber; Jeffrey Becker; Theresa Conduah; Joseph Matal; Erin Hennessy

Testimonials

‘David Bell is a very good lawyer with an extensive network of international lawyers. The H&B team can consult, help prosecute marks, and provide infringement advice in any country.’

‘David Bell leads the team and is exceptional. Pleasant, efficient and always forward-looking. Tiffany Ferris is a dynamo and very knowledgeable on IP and advertising matters.’

Key clients

AT&T

Xandr

Dallas Cowboys

San Antonio Shoe Company

Starz Entertainment

Halliburton Energy Services

Hachette Book Group

VP Racing Fuels

York Capital Management

RealPage

Industry focus > Energy litigation: oil and gas Tier 3

Haynes and Boone, L.L.P. is recognized for its experience litigating in state and federal courts, as well as its handling of domestic and international arbitration proceedings. The practice group represents key US oil and gas basins and has offices located near many of the major shale plays. Craig Stahl manages The Woodlands (Texas) office and has been involved in significant natural gas flaring, fracking, and environmental indemnities cases. Houston-based Michael Mazzone co-chairs the litigation group and represents energy companies in environmental contamination, indemnity and toxic tort cases. He is also experienced in construction litigation and arbitration and real estate disputes.

Practice head(s):

Craig Stahl; Michael Mazzone

Other key lawyers:

David Ammons; Jeffrey Keuhnle

Testimonials

‘Haynes and Boone’s energy litigation team provides unparalleled expertise and experience in oil & gas matters. Unlike many litigators today, they have actually tried cases and obtained defense verdicts. They do an excellent job of developing a successful strategy for high stakes, high exposure litigation.’

Key clients

Shell Oil Company

Newfield Exploration Company (now Ovintiv USA Inc.)

ConocoPhillips Company

Burlington Resources Oil & Gas Company, LP

Oasis Petroleum North America LLC

SWEPI d/b/a Shell Western E&P

Finley Resources, Inc.

FourPoint Energy, LLC

TETRA Technologies, Inc.

Finance > Structured finance: derivatives and structured products Tier 3

The derivatives practice at Haynes and Boone, L.L.P. is diverse, encompassing a wide variety of asset classes, including equity, FX and increasingly environmental, social and governance (ESG) investments. The group advises buy-side and end-user clients, including an impressive array of institutional investors. Areas of expertise include traditional and more exotic hedging and derivatives, project finance-related hedging agreements, over-the-counter and structured derivatives, as well as ISDA regulatory and prime brokerage advice. Contacts in the team include Houston-based Neal Kaminsky, who leads the practice group; Giorgio Bovenzi, who has built a strong global credit risk practice and is rated by clients for his 'solution-oriented' service; Matthew Frankle, a specialist in equity derivatives and margin loans; and Brian Sung, who maintains a very broad practice covering a variety of structured transactions for buy- and sell-side clients. Washington DC's Phil Lookadoo is an expert in energy and project finance-related derivatives and commodities issues. Named lawyers are based in New York unless stated otherwise.

Practice head(s):

Neal Kaminsky

Other key lawyers:

Giorgio Bovenzi; Craig Unterberg; Phil Lookadoo; LeAnn Chen; Matthew Frankle; Brian Sung; Tim Johnston; James Markus

Testimonials

‘The work we do with Haynes & Boone is focused around Giorgio Bovenzi’s cross-border insolvency and global credit practices. Giorgio is very solution oriented. His understanding of legal systems around the world enables him to distil immense amounts of information into a pragmatic solution.’

‘What makes this practice unique is that the team members succeed in combining legal knowledge with practical knowledge and that the leading lawyer, Giorgio Bovenzi, is able to reconcile Anglo-American legal concepts with continental European legal concepts in a practical manner.’

M&A/corporate and commercial > M&A: middle-market (sub-$500m) Tier 4

Haynes and Boone, L.L.P. handles a wide variety of M&A and related transactions, including spin-offs, divestitures, strategic alliance and distressed transactions, representing both buyers and sellers. Tom Harris heads the M&A practice group from Dallas.

Practice head(s):

Tom Harris

Other key lawyers:

Janice Sherry

Labor and employment > Employee benefits, executive compensation and retirement plans: transactional Tier 5

Haynes and Boone, L.L.P.'s employee benefits and executive compensation practice has been advising clients in the energy, healthcare, retail, financial services and food and beverages sectors on high-value acquisitions, restructurings, and benefit transfers. Recent work for the group includes advising hospitality company Landry's on the $745m sale of its online gaming subsidiary, Golden Nugget Online Gaming, to Landcadia Holdings II; practice head Susan Wetzel and associate Scott Thompson led on this matter from the Dallas office. Houston-based Jesse Gelsomini has expertise in incentive compensation and equity arrangements.

Practice head(s):

Susan Wetzel

Other key lawyers:

Jesse Gelsomini; Scott Thompson

Key clients

Blucora, Inc.

CSW Industrial, Inc.

Enbridge, Inc.

VAALCO Energy, Inc.

HMS Holdings Corp.

Paycom Software, Inc.

Performance Food Group

Arcosa, Inc.

Tuesday Morning Corporation

Landry’s Inc.

Haynes and Boone, LLP is an international corporate law firm with offices in Texas, New York, California, Charlotte, Chicago, Denver, Washington, D.C., London, Mexico City and Shanghai, providing a full spectrum of legal services in energy, technology, financial services and private equity. With 600 lawyers, Haynes and Boone is ranked among the largest U.S.-based firms by The National Law Journal, The American Lawyer and The Lawyer. It was recognized for excellence in the BTI Consulting Group’s 2021 “A-Team” report, which identifies the law firms that in-house counsel commend for providing superior client service.

Department Name Email Telephone
Managing Partner Taylor Wilson taylor.wilson@haynesboone.com 214.651.5615
Administrative Partner - Austin Rob Lauer rob.lauer@haynesboone.com 512.867.8505
Administrative Partner - Charlotte Todd Cubbage todd.cubbage@haynesboone.com 980.771.8250
Administrative Partner - Chicago Laura Beth Miller laura.miller@haynesboone.com 312.216.1625
Administrative Partner - Dallas Tom Harris tom.harris@haynesboone.com 214.651.5630
Administrative Partner - Denver Dan Malone dan.malone@haynesboone.com 303.382.6218
Administrative Partner - Fort Worth Karen Precella karen.precella@haynesboone.com 817.347.6620
Administrative Partner - Houston Ricardo Garcia-Moreno ricardo.garcia-moreno@haynesboone.com 713.547.2208
Managing Partner - London William Cecil william.cecil@haynesboone.com +44 (0)20 8734.2837
Administrative Partner - Mexico City Edgar Klee edgar.klee@haynesboone.com +52.55.5249.1873
Administrative Partner - New York Craig Unterberg craig.unterberg@haynesboone.com 212.659.4987
Administrative Partner - Orange County Greg Michelson greg.michelson@haynesboone.com 949.202.3022
Administrative Partner - Palo Alto Gary Edwards gary.edwards@haynesboone.com 650.687.8842
Administrative Partner - Dallas-North Dustin Johnson dustin.johnson@haynesboone.com 972.739.6969
Administrative Partner - San Antonio Diana Liebmann diana.liebmann@haynesboone.com 210.978.7418
Chief Representative and Administrative Partner, Shanghai Office Liza Mark liza.mark@haynesboone.com +86.21.6062.6183
Administrative Partner - The Woodlands Craig Stahl craig.stahl@haynesboone.com 713.547.2304
Administrative Partner - Washington, D.C. Phil Lookadoo phil.lookadoo@haynesboone.com 202.654.4510
Administrative Partner - San Francisco Brian Kwok brian.kwok@haynesboone.com 415.293.8901
Photo Name Position Profile
 Jeffrey M. Becker  photo Jeffrey M. Becker Partner
 David A. Bell  photo David A. Bell Partner, Chair – Trademark Practice Group
 LeAnn Chen  photo LeAnn Chen Partner
 Tom Harris photo Tom Harris PartnerAdministrative Partner – DallasChair – Merger and Acquisitions Practice Group
 Tim Johnston  photo Tim Johnston Partner
 James Markus  photo James Markus Partner
Ms Purvi Patel Albers photo Ms Purvi Patel Albers Partner
 Janice Sharry photo Janice Sharry Partner
 Scott Thompson photo Scott Thompson Counsel
Partners : 249
Other Lawyers : 341
Arabic
Armenian
Chinese (various dialects)
Dutch
Filipino
French
German
Greek
Hebrew
Indian
Gujarati
Hindi
Malayalam
Urdu
Indonesian
Italian
Japanese
Korean
Persian
Portugese
Romanian
Russian
Serbo-Croatian
Spanish
Thai
Taiwanese
Vietnamese