Firm Profile > GT Stewart Limited > Croydon, England

GT Stewart Limited
158-162 LONDON ROAD
CROYDON
CRO 2TD
England

General crime and fraud Tier 3

GT Stewart Limited has a large criminal defence offering for clients and stands out for its specialism in youth crime and prison law. Managing partner Greg Stewart heads the practice and is noted for his litigation experience which spans over twenty-five years. Julie Anne Boyle oversees the team from the Dartford office.

Practice head(s):

Other key lawyers:

Crime: general Tier 3

GT Stewart Limited's general crime offering has seven dedicated lead partners Greg Stewart (Criminal Appeals), Mel Stooks (Youth Crime), Ed Caute (Hammersmith Crime), Claire Dissington (City of London), Will Russell (Private Client/East Dulwich), Lynn Roberts (Croydon) and Ronnie Manek (Higher Courts Advocacy). Recent work highlights include matters such as 'dark web' drug dealing, attacks on fellow prisoners and multi-million pound ATM fraud.

Crime: general Tier 3

GT Stewart Limited has a specific focus on representing vulnerable younger clients, often the victims of abuse and trafficking, defending them against state prosecution and arguing fitness-to-plead cases. Primarily working on legal aid cases, the team has expanded its work with private clients. The 'client focused' Patricia Walker leads the team in Leeds.

Practice head(s):

Testimonials

GT Stewart’s criminal team is very proactive in its approach to defending clients. It sets about its task quickly and thoroughly. It has a very experienced team of practitioners with a nationwide reputation for excellence.

Patricia Walker is a very experienced senior solicitor at the firm. She is very client-focused but has a healthy no-nonsense approach which ensures that the real issues in cases are rapidly identified so that no time is wasted in preparing a defence.

Elizabeth Rowley is a very very caring lady who does an excellent job getting to the very core of the matter.

Social housing: tenant Tier 3

GT Stewart Limited’s ‘strong, specialist housing team’ assists vulnerable clients with a wide range of matters, including unlawful evictions, judicial reviews, homelessness and possession matters. Team head Claire Wiles recently represented a client in a Court of Appeal case, which concerned the application of the Equality Act 2010 at the warrant stage. Dirghayu Patel is able to ‘navigate round the often-complex issues that homelessness and possession cases can include’. David Araya arrived from TV Edwards LLP in 2019 to advise on housing and community care issues.

Practice head(s):

Other key lawyers:

Testimonials

An absolute commitment to clients makes this practice unique.

The team’s main strengths and key capabilities are: competence, being prepared to go the extra mile in an emergency or urgent situation, communication skills and a collegiate atmosphere.

GT Stewart has a very strong housing team. They know their local area very well indeed and are committed to their clients.’

The social housing team is one of the strongest of a dwindling number in this field. They have a wealth of experience and expertise and strong commitment to their clients.’

This is an outstanding firm with an incredible attention to detail. They work hard to achieve the best possible outcome for their clients. They are highly organised and clearly have strong client care skills. Briefs and instructions are always very detailed and consideration has always been given to creative solutions for resolving the case including settlement and alternative dispute resolution options where available. The legal knowledge of the team is always up to date with current developments. Overall there is a strong emphasis on client care and creative use of the law to achieve the best possible outcomes.

Dirghayu Patel is a fantastic lawyer who thinks creatively to resolve difficult cases. He is very good with vulnerable clients and very good at using Equality Act arguments to win cases or persuade an opponent to concede which makes a huge difference for clients who might otherwise be evicted. He is very considered and thoughtful in his approach to cases, and his legal knowledge is consistently spot-on.

Claire Wiles is an excellent lawyer who has an exceptional attention to detail. She leaves no stone unturned in finding the right solution for her often vulnerable clients. She is a tough and effective negotiator and is committed to achieving the right outcome for her clients. She works tirelessly and is amazingly efficient at producing high-quality work in a short period of time. She is generous with her time and is a passionate advocate for the rights of her tenant clients.

GT Stewart Solicitors & Advocates is a leading multi-service UK firm specialising in criminal defence, family and civil rights law. It has a national presence across ten offices – Ashford, Birmingham, City of London, Croydon, Dartford, East Dulwich, Hammersmith, Leeds Manchester and Peterborough. It provides 24 hour emergency advice to anyone who has been arrested.

GT Stewart has earned a reputation in the courts for fighting tenaciously and fairly for all clients. We keep to our strapline ‘every client matters’. The recent addition of the crime and family teams at FMW Law in Hammersmith has enhanced that reputation.

GT Stewart is on the approved and recommended list of solicitors for the National Autistic Society (NAS) and we have contributed to the Rook Working Group for Advocacy Training which produced the Advocacy and Vulnerable Training Programme. The founder and driving force behind the success of the firm, Greg Stewart, has been involved in many high profile and sensitive cases in the Crown Courts and Court of Appeal. He is the co-author of the Criminal Appeals Handbook (Bloomsbury Professional 2nd edition). He regularly contributes to consultations and discussions of criminal justice and recently appeared on Unreliable Evidence on Radio 4 discussing anti-social behaviour. In May 2019 he and the head of our Youth Court team, Mel Stooks, were jointly awarded the Youth Champions Outstanding Achievement Award at the annual Youth Summit at Kings College London. The firm has a first class in-house advocacy team, consisting of in-house barristers and solicitor advocates. They can be found on the firm’s website www.gtstewart.co.uk

Types of work undertaken
Criminal defence: GT Stewart Solicitors & Advocates provide a wide range of legal services to both individuals and businesses on a private or legal aid basis. The criminal defence team represent clients who are arrested and/or charged with a variety of serious criminal offences from the police station through to the Court of Appeal. The team comprises barristers and solicitor advocates. The team defend actions by the prosecuting agencies such as the Crown Prosecution Services (CPS), SFO, FCA, HMRC, HSE and the Office of Fair Trading. The firm is a member of the LAA Very High Cost Cases panel. The firm represents professionals facing prosecution and/or regulatory complaints. The firm has successfully challenged many decisions to prosecute by the CPS. They regularly challenge refusals of the police to vary or discharge ancillary criminal orders and DBS certificates. They have experience opposing and appealing Criminal Behaviour Orders and Gang Injunction applications.

Motoring offences: GT Stewart Solicitors & Advocates has skilled and experienced solicitors able to defend clients facing allegations such as causing death by dangerous or careless driving, driving whilst unfit or under the influence of drugs, driving without a licence or speeding.

Education and social welfare: GT Stewart Solicitors & Advocates has been awarded a contract by the Legal Aid Agency to offer advice and assistance in education law in London and North of England. The team provide the full range of services including appealing admission and exclusion decisions, enforcing provisions for Special Educational Needs and Disability (SEND) pupils, Education Health and Care Plans and judicially reviewing local authorities’ education related decisions. The specialist members of the team have experience representing children with a spectrum of disabilities and special needs bringing judicial review proceedings on behalf of advocates, campaign organisations and charities.

Prison law: GT Stewart Solicitors has a team of solicitors specialising in all areas of prison law. They hold a LAA contract to accept publicly funded prison law work. They can represent clients at adjudications, Parole Board Hearings and advise across the full range of prison law related matters includes IPPs, life sentence reviews and where necessary challenging decisions on behalf of clients by way of judicial review. If public funded is not available they can provide competitively priced private cost estimates.

Family: GT Stewart Solicitors has a large team of solicitors specialising in all areas of family law including divorce, Children Act issues, abduction, domestic abuse, care proceedings and private children’s law. Several of the team are members of Resolution and the Children’s Panel. They can provide affordable competitive private quotes for those who do not qualify for legal aid.

Civil liberties, human rights and actions against the state: the team has exceptional experience pursuing remedies for clients or their families when they have suffered wrongs at the hands of the State or their agents including the police, prison officers, local authorities and public bodies who need access to justice. These include article 2 and 8 HRA cases involving suspicious deaths in custody.

Information provided by GT Stewart Solicitors & Advocates

Department Name Email Telephone
Criminal Defence Greg Stewart g.stewart@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Criminal Defence Melanie Krudy m.krudy@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Criminal Defence Julie Ann Boyle j.boyle@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Criminal Defence Philip Mahoney p.mahoney@gtstewart.co.uk 0113 222 4888
Criminal Defence Paul Mathew p.mathew@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Criminal Defence Ronnie Manek r.manek@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Criminal Defence Aideen McMahon a.mcmahon@gtewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Criminal Defence Sarah Memmi s.memmi@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Criminal Defence Sophie Smith s.smith@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Criminal Defence Mel Stooks m.stooks@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Criminal Defence Will Russell w.russell@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Criminal Defence Patricia Walker p.walker@gtstewart.co.uk 0113 222 4888
Prison Law Len Hodkin l.hodkin@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Prison Law Dr Laura Janes l.janes@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Prison Law Rikki Garg r.garg@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Family Law Geoffrey Costello g.costello@gtstewart.co.uk 020 299 6000
Family Law Nancy Freeman n.freeman@gtstewart.co.uk 020 299 6000
Family Law Sherene Pascall-Wallis s.wallis@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Family Law Naomi Smith n.smith@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Family Law Rachel Wood r.wood@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Housing Law David Araya d.araya@gtstewart.co.uk 0113 222 4888
Housing Law Dirghayu Patel d.patel@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Housing Law Denise Phillips d.phillips@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Housing Law Susan Gronbach s.gronbach@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Housing Law Claire Wiles c.wiles@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Civil Liberties Bhaskar Banerjee b.banerjee@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Community Care Rebecca Hill r.hill@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Education Law Linda Ewen l.ewen@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Community Care Tracey Ling t.ling@gtstewart.co.uk 0113 222 4888
Community Care Warwick Norris w.norris@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Actions Against the State Bhaskar Banerjee b.banerjee@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Education Law Rebecca Hill r.hill@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Education Law Tracey Ling r.ling@gtstewart.co.uk 0113 222 4888
Motoring Law Greg Stewart g.stewart@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Motoring Law Julie Ann Boyle j.boyle@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Motoring Law Philip Mahoney p.mahoney@gtstewart.co.uk 0113 222 4888
Motoring Law Sophie Smith s.smith@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Motoring Law Will Russell w.russell@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Directors : 2
Fee Earners : 175
UK Offices : 10