Firm Profile > Adams & Remers > Lewes, England

Adams & Remers
TRINITY HOUSE
SCHOOL HILL
LEWES
BN7 2NN
England

Personal tax, trusts and probate: Kent, Surrey, Sussex Tier 2

Bibi Fortin Lees heads the team at Adams & Remers, which undertakes estate and tax planning, including succession planning for very HNW individuals and their families including UK and overseas assets. Francis Nation-Dixon assists on areas including capital taxation and the creation of trusts with a focus on  landed estates and Amanda Epstein advises on domestic and international estates, will preparation, trust creation and administration.

Testimonials

They are highly experienced and very knowledgeable about whatever problem you throw at them. Readily contactable and immediate responses with clear and understandable advice.’

‘Francis Nation Dixon is very good on trusts especially and tax advice.’

Agriculture and estates Tier 3

The team at Adams & Remers is well known for its expertise in land and property disputes as well as corporate and commercial matters. Key types of work include issues concerned with landed estates, individual farmers, farming partnerships, farming companies and listed property. Option agreements, promotion agreements, sale of local amenity land and refinancing work are areas of growth. Katherine Haslam heads the practice. James Turner and Robin Illingworth are also recommended.

Testimonials

Good range of skills and expertise. Very good and well-established client base across the South East. Amongst other areas, specialists in agricultural law, strategic development land, and property related disputes including covenants and overage‘.

Adams & Remers are very commercially focused, and their solicitors are extremely knowledgeable in the area of agriculture and estates. They have had previous experience of almost every challenging scenario that comes up, and, if they don’t, they are very skilled in resolving issues quickly and efficiently. I have always had very positive experiences with the team‘.

Katherine Haslam is very personable and knowledgeable on a wide range of property matters including agricultural law, development land, covenants and conveyancing‘.

James Turner is skilled on a wide range of property matters‘.

Katherine Haslam, Robin Illingworth, James Turner, and other team members are all extremely knowledgeable and approachable. They respond quickly and efficiently and are particularly good at sorting out complications (in a really pragmatic and commercially viable way) and pushing matters to a conclusion by keeping all parties involved. Their level of knowledge also sets them apart from other law firms in this practice area‘.

Commercial property: Kent, Surrey, Sussex Tier 3

Adams & Remers has a  track record acting in the agriculture and estates, healthcare, retail and leisure sectors. In addition to development, investment and leasing work, it is also increasingly advising on options and promotion agreements. Katherine Haslam and Robin Illingworth offer a wealth of transactional experience.

Testimonials

They are good at listening, have a good sense of humour and are tactful when dealing with the other side. They give clear, very broad and detailed advice.’

 

Key clients

Norris Brothers Limited

Summerthorne Estates

Cola Holdings

Contentious trusts and probate Tier 3

Adams & Remers, which is known for being 'traditionally strong in private client work', has had a recent influx of constructive trust and proprietary estoppel claims. Lloyd Junor heads up the contentious trusts and probate practice at the firm; he is experienced in the full range of issues, including professional negligence claims against original will drafters, complex Inheritance Act claims, will validity claims and Court of Protection disputes. Ashton Davies specialises in claims involving disputed trusts and estates.

Testimonials

Adams & Remers is a strong regional firm and this is reflected in the quality of the work they receive‘.

The team acts for high net-worth individuals and is particularly known for dealing with the farming community; it is strong on the contentious probate front‘.

The firm has two extremely strong partners in the area of contentious succession issues‘.

‘Lloyd Junor is excellent to work with, very knowledgeable and responsive. His approach is pragmatic and tempered by his extensive experience in this area of law‘.

Lloyd Junor and Ashton Davies are thorough and fight their client’s corner, yet remain pleasant to deal with from a counterparty’s point of view. Ashton Davies in particular is efficient, to the point and adopts a pro-active strategy‘.

Ashton Davies and Lloyd Junor are absolutely excellent practitioners. They are able to handle both vulnerable and difficult clients and retain sound judgment when conducting difficult litigation. They are both stand-out lawyers in this practice area‘.

Adams & Remers provides straightforward and responsive legal advice to corporate and institutional clients and private individuals, both nationally and internationally.

The firm: The firm has 18 partners and a 100-strong team with an established reputation for providing outstanding, commercially-focused advice delivered by a team of highly skilled and experienced solicitors.   In 2018, Adams & Remers merged with Mayfair-based firm, Evans Dodd, which increased our staff numbers and client base.

Adams & Remers remains committed to extending our range of services and expanding our client base, by continuing steady organic growth across work types and sector specialisms.

Adams & Remers’ clients include quoted and private companies, wealthy individuals, major landowners and their trustees. Industry specialisms include agriculture and rural estates, energy, listed buildings, healthcare, travel, retail and service industries.

Types of work undertaken:

Residential and Commercial Property: commercial property, property development, planning, construction, investment, funding, insolvency, sales, purchases, leasehold enfranchisement, lettings, agriculture and mineral extraction, private property, and listed buildings. We also offer specialist services for care home owners for sales, acquisitions and refinances.

Corporate and commercial: mergers and acquisitions, admissions to the AIM Market, preparing a business for sale, corporate finance, business contracts, assisting in negotiations, company and partnership formation, shareholder and partnership agreements, advising on staff-related issues, tax planning, intellectual property issues, computer software contracts, and corporate recovery.

Private client: trusts; tax planning; inheritance, capital gains and income tax; wills; estate planning; estate restructuring; lifetime gifts; and notarial services.

Dispute resolution: commercial disputes; insurance; professional negligence; property, including landlord and tenant matters; environmental issues; health and safety; family and matrimonial law; and contested probate and trusts litigation.

Employment: contracts of employment, redundancies, disability and sick pay, transfers of business, disputes and dismissals, non-compete clauses, and staff incentive schemes.

Department Name Email Telephone
Senior Partner & Head of Property Robin Illingworth robin.illingworth@adamsandremers.com 01273 403204
Head of Commercial Property Katherine Haslam katherine.haslam@adamsandremers.com 01273 403290
Commercial Property Joanna Clark joanna.clark@adamsandremers.com 01273 403226
Commercial Property Tim Brittain tim.brittain@adamsandremers.com 020 7024 4808
Commercial Property Deepak Manghnani dm@adamsandremers.com 020 7024 0801
Commercial Property James Turner james.turner@adamsandremers.com 01273 3222
Commercial Property Jane Sinclair jane.sinclair@adamsandremers.com 01273 403223
Head of Residential Property London Caroline Roberjot caroline.roberjot@adamsandremers.com 020 7024 3607
Head of Residential Property Lewes Suzanne Bowman suzanne.bowman@adamsandremers.com 01273 403220
Residential Property Aimee Sutton aimee.sutton@adamsandremers.com 01273 403391
Residential Property Sara Stuart sara.stuart@adamsandremers.com 01273 403274
Residential Property Sarah Cubacub sarah.cubacub@adamsandremers.com 020 7024 3608
Residential Property Katie Oldham-Brown katie.oldham-brown@admasandremers.com 020 7024 3609
Head of Employment Sarah Furniss sarah.furniss@adamsandremers.com 020 7024 2317
Corporate and Commercial Simon Jones simon.jones@adamsandremers.com 020 7024 3601
Corporate and Commercial Douglas Stewart douglas.stewart@adamsandremers.com 01273 403238
Corporate and Commercial Mahmood Ahmed mha@adamsandremers.com 020 3958 0805
Corporate and Commercial Geoffrey Dodd gd@adamsandremers.com 020 3958 0807
Head of Private Client Bibi Fortin Lees bibi.lees@adamsandremers.com 01273 403210
Private client Francis Nation-Dixon francis.nation-dixon@adamsandremers.com 01273 403258
Private Client Lisa Gibbins lisa.gibbins@adamsandremers.com 01273 403207
Private Client Harriet Lythgo-Smith harriet.lythgo-smith@adamsandremers.com 01273 403216
Head of Litigation Andrew Pawlik andrew.pawlik@adamsandremers.com 01273 403259
Litigation - Family Law Katherine Gage katherine.gage@adamsandremers.com 01273 403253
Contentious Trust Litigation Lloyd Junor lloyd.junor@adamsandremers.com 01273 403275
Contentious Trust Litigation Ashton Davies ashton.davies@adamsandremers.com 01273 403211
Litigation Andrew Deans andrew.deans@adamsandremers.com 01273 403269
Litigation David Barrett david.barrett@adamsandremers.com 01273 403243
Litigation James Stott js@adamsandremers.com 020 3958 0806
Photo Name Position Profile
 Peter Ames  photo Peter Ames
 David Barrett  photo David Barrett
 Suzanne Bowman  photo Suzanne Bowman
 Danish Butt  photo Danish Butt
 Joanna Clark  photo Joanna Clark
 Ashton Davies  photo Ashton Davies
 Andrew Deans  photo Andrew Deans
 Aisha Dickson  photo Aisha Dickson
 Amanda Epstein  photo Amanda Epstein
 Bibi Fortin Lees  photo Bibi Fortin Lees
 Katherine Gage  photo Katherine Gage
 Lisa Gibbins  photo Lisa Gibbins
 Jessica Gisby  photo Jessica Gisby
 Katherine Haslam  photo Katherine Haslam
Mr Robin Illingworth photo Mr Robin Illingworth
 Lloyd Junor  photo Lloyd Junor
 Harriet Lythgo-Smith  photo Harriet Lythgo-Smith
 Francis Nation-Dixon  photo Francis Nation-Dixon
 Andrew Pawlik  photo Andrew Pawlik
 Jane Sinclair  photo Jane Sinclair
 Paul Slot  photo Paul Slot
 Douglas Stewart  photo Douglas Stewart
 Sara Stuart  photo Sara Stuart
 Aimee Sutton  photo Aimee Sutton
 James Turner  photo James Turner
Number of UK partners : 18
Number of other UK fee-earners : 39
French
German