Firm Profile > Al Tamimi & Company > Riyadh, Saudi Arabia

Al Tamimi & Company
SKY TOWER (NORTH TOWER), 9TH FLOOR
KING FAHAD ROAD, AL OLAIA AREA, PO BOX 300400
RIYADH, SAUDI ARABIA 11372
Saudi Arabia

Capital markets Tier 3

Al Tamimi & Company is particularly strong in equity capital markets, with Dubai-based Andrew Tarbuck leads the firm's Middle East ECM team. Also based in Dubai is Izabella Szadkowska who advised DM Healthcare on its share offering to US and Indian investors.

Practice head(s):

Andrew Tarbuck

Key clients

Arup

Strategy&

Emirates NBD

Asdal Group

Virgin Mobile

Huawei Tech. Investment

Saudi Arabia Co., Ltd

Sanad Hospital

Central Directorate of National Savings, Ministry of Finance, Government of Pakistan

Commercial, corporate and M&A Tier 3

Al Tamimi & Company's corporate team has been strengthened by the relocation of Nick O’Connell in 2018 from the firm's Dubai office and he enhances the firm's capabilities in the Saudi technology sector. Grahame Nelson is another name of note and focuses on energy and natural resources, financial services, and privatisations. Jeddah-based Rakesh Bassi is heavily involved in matters relating to the sports sector. Babul Parikh and Jonathan Reardon left the firm.

Key clients

Saudi Payments Company

Saline Water Conversion Corporation

Saudi Aramco Shell Refinery

Mahindra Susten

Bupa Arabia

Health Matrix

Saudi Pro League

Al Hilal Football Club

Sanofi

The Energy House Holding Company

Dispute resolution Tier 3

Al Tamimi & Company has seen an uptick in high-level disputes work across a number of industries, including financial services, consultancy, healthcare and technology. In one highlight, Abdullah Al Tamimi successfully represented Sanad Hospital in defending an employment claim brought by the hospital’s former PRO-Director in a case that was heard before the Higher Labour Commission. Ahmed Basrawi is a key name for litigation and handles a range of disputes across a number of areas. Emad Salameh has experience in commercial and construction litigation.

Practice head(s):

Abdullah Al Tamimi; Ahmed Basrawi

Other key lawyers:

Projects and energy Tier 3

Al Tamimi & Company has seen an uptick in instructions to handle high-profile projects in the areas of real estate and tourism but also has a strong background in projects involving oil and gas, infrastructure,  healthcare, water and waste. Practice head Grahame Nelson is highly skilled in project finance, particularly regarding public-private-partnerships. Bahrain-based Rafiq Jaffer also specialises in project finance.

Practice head(s):

Grahame Nelson

Other key lawyers:

Key clients

Al Akaria

Public Investment Fund

EY

AT Kearney

The Red Sea Development Company

Real estate and construction Tier 3

Al Tamimi & Company's team has 'exceptional knowledge of industry best practices and local nuances' with the ability to communicate 'expeditiously', 'efficiently' and 'succinctly'. Dubai-based Tara Marlow leads the team and is particularly strong in the hotel and leisure sector. Emad Salameh is a key name in the Riyadh office.

Practice head(s):

Tara Marlow

Banking and finance Tier 4

Al Tamimi & Company stands out for its work in aviation finance, but is also highly skilled in corporate finance and project finance work. Rafiq Jaffer leads the team and recently advised Dubai Aerospace Enterprise on the SAR300m lease and sub-lease of eight Airbus A320 aircraft.

Practice head(s):

Rafiq Jaffer

Key clients

Saudi Arabian British Bank

Al Rajhi Bank

HSBC Saudi Arabia

First Abu Dhabi Bank

Bank of America

MUFG

Credit Suisse

The firm: Al Tamimi & Company is the largest law firm in the Middle East with 17 offices across nine countries. Established in 1989, we are a full service commercial firm combining knowledge, experience and expertise to ensure our clients have access to the best legal solutions that are commercially sound and cost effective.

Our clients are at the centre of everything that we do – their business is our business.
Our strength comes from our clients’ trust that we will provide them the quality of service that they deserve. Therefore, we make it our business to find creative and commercial legal solutions whilst focusing on making the law work for them. Over the years, we have acted for a wide variety of clients, including: government bodies; government or semi-government owned entities; local, regional and international companies; banks and financial institutions; along with both international and regional law firms.

We’re not like everyone else.
As a firm, we have the ability to practice local law in each of the nine jurisdictions where we have a presence. This means that each of our licensed litigators have rights of audience before local courts. We are proud of this unique strength, which truly sets us apart from the competition.

Doing Business in the Middle East?
So are we! Our regional footprint means that wherever our clients are doing business in the region, we are there to support them. Our expansion has been strategic and client driven. Our values define who we are and what is important to us. As a firm, we have grown based on a set of core values, which are integral to all that we do.

Areas of practice: As the Middle East’s largest law firm Al Tamimi & Company has vast experience acting for clients across many jurisdictions in the region. Through our full service offering we are able to provide legal advice with a one-stop-shop for all your legal requirements. We offer specialist legal advice in the following practice areas: arbitration; aviation; automotive; banking and finance; capital markets; commercial; construction and infrastructure; corporate services; education; employment and incentives; Expo 2020; family business and private wealth; financial crime; FMCG; healthcare; hotels and leisure; mergers and acquisitions; projects; rail; regulatory; shipping; sports and events management; transport and logistics.

Department Name Email Telephone
Chairman Essam Al Tamimi e.tamimi@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Senior Partner Husam Hourani h.hourani@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Managing Partner Samer Qudah s.qudah@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Deputy Managing Partner Mohamed Al Marzouqi m.almarzouqi@tamimi.com +971 2 813 0444
Deputy Managing Partner Jody Waugh j.waugh@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Arbitration Thomas Snider t.snider@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Arbitration Hassan Arab h.arab@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Aviation Yazan Saoudi y.saoudi@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Banking & Finance Husam Hourani h.hourani@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Banking & Finance Jody Waugh j.waugh@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Capital Markets Andrew Tarbuck a.tarbuck@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Commercial advisory Willem Steenkamp w.steenkamp@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Competition law Omar Obeidat o.obeidat@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Construction & Infrastructure Euan Lloyd e.lloyd@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Corporate governance Andrea Tithecott a.tithecott@tamimi.com +971 2 813 0444
Corporate structuring Samer Qudah s.qudah@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Corporate structuring Omer Khan o.khan@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Corporate Structuring Izabella Szadkowska i.szadkowska@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Debt capital markets Andrew Tarbuck a.tarbuck@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Debt capital markets Rafiq Jaffer r.jaffer@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Corporate Services Izabella Szadkowska i.szadkowska@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Education Ivor McGettigan i.mcgettigan@tamimi.com +971 2 813 0444
Education Ahmad Saleh ah.saleh@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Employment & Incentives Samir Kantaria s.kantaria@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Employment & Incentives Gordon Barr g.barr@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Family Business & Private Wealth Richard Catling r.catling@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Financial Crime Khalid Al Hamrani k.alhamrani@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Financial Crime Ibtissem Lassoued i.lassoued@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Financial services regulation and enforcement Jody Waugh j.waugh@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Financial services regulation and enforcement Rita Jaballah r.jaballah@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Healthcare Andrea Tithecott a.tithecott@tamimi.com +971 2 813 0444
Hotels & Leisure Tara Marlow t.marlow@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Insurance Yazan Saoudi y.saoudi@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
IP Omar Obeidat o.obeidat@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
IP Ahmad Saleh ah.saleh@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Legislative drafting Mohammed Al Marzouqi m.almarzouqi@tamimi.com +971 2 813 0444
Legislative drafting Hassan ElTahir h.eltahir@tamimi.com +971 2 813 0444
Litigation Hussein Eisa Al Shiri h.shiri@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Litigation Ahmed Allouz a.allouz@tamimi.com +974 4 364 1641
Litigation Hassan Arab h.arab@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Maritime and shipping Omar Omar o.omar@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Maritime and shipping Yazan Saoudi y.saoudi@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Mergers & Acquisitions Abdullah Mutawi a.mutawi@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Private client services Essam Al Tamimi e.tamimi@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Private equity Richard Catling r.catling@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Private equity Abdullah Mutawi a.mutawi@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Private Notary Taiba Al Safar t.alsafar@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Projects Mark Brown m.brown@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Real estate Tara Marlow t.marlow@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Real estate Mohammed Kawasmi m.kawasmi@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Rail Foutoun Hajjar f.hajjar@tamimi.com +973 1710 8933
Regulatory Andrea Tithecott a.tithecott@tamimi.com +971 2 813 0444
Sports & events management Steve Bainbridge s.bainbridge@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Tax law Shiraz Khan s.khan@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Technology, media and telecommunications Martin Hayward m.hayward@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Technology, media and telecommunications Fiona Robertson f.robertson@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Transport & Logistics Yazan Saoudi y.saoudi@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Transport & Logistics Omar Omar o.omar@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Automotive Samir Kantaria s.kantaria@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Aviation Yazan Saoudi y.saoudi@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Education Ivor McGettigan i.mcgettigan@tamimi.com +971 2 813 0444
Expo 2020 Steve Bainbridge s.bainbridge@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
FMCG Samer Qudah s.qudah@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Innovation, Technology & Entrepreneurship Ahmad Saleh ah.saleh@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
China Group Jody Waugh j.waugh@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
India Group Samir Kantaria s.kantaria@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Korea Group Omar Omar o.omar@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Photo Name Position Profile
Mr Abdullah Al Tamimi  photo Mr Abdullah Al Tamimi Partner, Head of Litigation & Dispute Resolution – KSA
Mr Hesham Al-Homoud  photo Mr Hesham Al-Homoud Partner, Head of Corporate Structuring – KSA
Mr Grahame Nelson  photo Mr Grahame Nelson Head of Office – Riyadh and Jeddah
Mr Nick O’Connell photo Mr Nick O’Connell Partner
Number of lawyers worldwide : 370
:
Association of International Petroleum Negotiators (AIPN)
Australian Business Group
ABA (American Bar Association)
British Business Group
Dubai International Financial Centre (DIFC) Courts
Chartered Institute of Arbitrators
Employment Lawyers Association
Energy Institute
International Federation of Industrial Property Attorneys (FICPI)
GCC Commercial Arbitration Centre
International Council for Commercial Arbitration