Firm Profile > Janson > Brussels, Belgium

Janson
CHAUSSÉE DE LA HULPE 187
1170 BRUSSELS
Belgium

Dispute resolution Tier 2

Financial disputes have been especially prominent in Janson's recent caseload; other mandates pertain to corporate litigation, IP disputes, white-collar crime cases and arbitration matters. Practice head and 'top lawyer' Dominique Blommaert 'combines thorough knowledge and insight with a strong personality'; Cédric Alter and 'strong litigator' Céline Masschelein are key contacts.

Practice head(s):

Testimonials

Dominique Blommaert is one of the most agile litigators on the market, who is well respected by the courts and very pragmatic‘.

 

 

Key clients

Belfius Bank

KBC Bank

Mondelez

Santander Consumer Finance

Intellectual property Tier 2

IP litigation forms the backbone of Janson's practice, often involving a cross-border flavour; the 'very knowledgeable and hands-on' team has been advising well-known clients from the fashion, food, luxury goods, medical and retail industries. The 'pragmatic' Mireille Buydens 'has an incredible degree of knowledge in IP'; she jointly heads the practice with Hans Dhondt.

Practice head(s):

Testimonials

The team acts fast, is very approachable and friendly‘.

Hans Dhondt is an intelligent and experienced yet down-to-earth lawyer‘.

 

 

Environment Tier 3

Janson's environmental law work is handled by the firm's public and administrative law department, which is experienced in advisory and transactional matters, as well as litigation. The group is well placed to serve clients from all three Belgian regions, and further afield internationally, with fluent language skills in French, Dutch and English. Clients of the firm include public authorities, project developers, private businesses and individuals. One name to note in the team is Stijn Verbeke, who has notable expertise in environmental take-back obligations and environmental management agreements, particularly in relation to waste electrical and electronic equipment, waste batteries and waste tyres. Jan Ghysels advises clients on matters concerning town and country planning law, expropriations and environmental criminal law, among other areas. Other key figures in the team are Dominique Lagasse and counsel Béatrice Gribomont, who represented Vzw/asbl Recupel and other non-profit organisations at the Constitutional Court in proceedings concerning taxes imposed in the Flemish and Walloon regions on waste management organisations. Geoffrey Ninane recently made partner.

Other key lawyers:

Testimonials

They are able to deliver very accurate, specialist advice in relation to the three Belgian regions. Stijn Verbeke is pro-active, clear in his advice, creative, calm and available

Proposals of texts (applications, conclusions, …) are transmitted well in advance so that there is sufficient time for us to read them. Invoices are drawn up regularly so that we can follow the time spent properly

Key clients

VZW/ASBL Recupel

VZW/ASBL Bebat

VZW/ASBL Recytyre

Employment Tier 4

Johan Kerremans  and Jacques van Drooghenbroeck jointly lead Janson's 'very responsive and practical' team, which operates out of both its Brussels and Nivelles offices. Recent instructions for the group have included restructuring matters, health and safety issues and dismissal-related disputes.

Testimonials

They are diligent in what they do, irrespective of the size of the client. They think along with the client and put the client’s interests first‘.

Key clients

Becton Dickinson

Key Technology

Cesi Group

SOL Group

CHR Haute Senne

Janson is an Independent Belgian law firm founded in 1950. Janson offers multidisciplinary and multilingual business law services via 34 partners  and more than 60 associates. The firm is based in Brussels, Ghent and Nivelles, and has strong relationships with a number of top ranked firms in the major jurisdictions worldwide.

Department Name Email Telephone
Administrative and public Dominique Lagasse d.lagasse@janson.be
Administrative and public Jan Ghysels j.ghysels@janson.be
Banking and finance Dominique Blommaert d.blommaert@janson.be
Banking and finance France Wilmet f.wilmet@janson.be
Commercial and company Marc Dalle m.dalle@janson.be
Commercial and company Cédric Alter c.alter@janson.be
Construction Jean-N Pardon jn.pardon@janson.be
Construction Didier Bracke d.bracke@janson.be
Distribution Laurent du Jardin l.dujardin@janson.be
Energy and transport Guy Block g.block@janson.be
Insurance and liability Paul-Henry Delvaux ph.delvaux@janson.be
IP/IT and market practices Mireille Buydens m.buydens@janson.be
IP/IT and market practices Hans Dhondt h.dhondt@janson.be
Labour Jacques van Drooghenbroeck j.vandrooghenbroeck@janson.be
Labour Johan Kerremans j.kerremans@janson.be
M&A and corporate Cédric Alter c.alter@janson.be
Real estate Jean-N Pardon jn.pardon@janson.be
Tax Frédéric Fosseur f.fosseur@janson.be
Criminal business François Koning f.koning@janson.be
Criminal business Céline Masschelein c.masschelein@janson.be
Arbitration Cédric Alter c.alter@janson.be
Photo Name Position Profile
 Cédric Alter photo Cédric Alter
 Guy Block  photo Guy Block
 Dominique Blommaert  photo Dominique Blommaert
 Mireille Buydens  photo Mireille Buydens
 Hans Dhondt  photo Hans Dhondt Partner
Number of lawyers : 94
Dutch
English
French
German
Spanish
INTERLAW
Information Club
Other offices : Ghent
Other offices : Nivelles
Other offices : Mons