Share on LinkedInShare on LinkedIn

ARTICLE · 29 OCTOBER 2015

When Are "gluten-free" Claims Allowed In Canada?

In recent years, there has been a sudden increase in the popularity of a "gluten-free" diet. Since then, the trend has grown steadily and food products are increasingly being advertised and labelled as "gluten-free".

CanadaMedia, Telecoms, IT, Entertainment

In recent years, there has been a sudden increase in the popularity of a "gluten-free" diet. Since then, the trend has grown steadily and food products are increasingly being advertised and labelled as "gluten-free". However, it's not a free-for-all; Canada has very specific regulatory requirements for advertising claims with regard to food under the Food and Drugs Act and the Food and Drug Regulations. Specifically, a "gluten-free" claim attracts a suite of enhanced requirements set out under Division 24 of the Food and Drug Regulations.

First, to be labelled "gluten-free", a food product must not contain:

  • any gluten protein from the grain of any of the following cereals or from the grain of a hybridized strain that is created from at least one of the following cereals: barley, oats, rye, triticale, wheat or

We operate a free-to-view policy, asking only that you register in order to read all of our content. Please login or register to view the rest of this article.

See more popular content from