Firm Profile > Dentons > Amsterdam , Netherlands

Dentons
GUSTAV MAHLERPLEIN 2
1082 MA
Netherlands

Dispute resolution: Mediation Tier 1

Michel Deckers is a key name at Dentons. The group is a popular choice to act as arbitrators and mediators in disputes

Industry focus: retail Tier 1

The Dentons team is highly rated for the depth of service it offers clients, especially with regard to real estate matters. Managing partner Wendela Raas heads the real estate practice; he and senior associate Jeroen de Clercq inspire 'confidence in their expertise'. The 'knowledgeable and experienced' Paul Wanders, Midas Lagerweij and Justine van Lochum are considered 'a pleasure to work with'. The team continues to advise Unibail-Rodamco following its merger with Westfield; assisting on the €500m redevelopment of the Leidsenhage retail park, due to be rebranded 'Mall of the Netherlands'. It is also assisting Under Armour on all aspects of the development of its new European headquarters.

Construction Tier 2

The practice at Dentons is led by Bas van Schouwenburg, who brings extensive international construction and real estate expertise to his clients, while associate partner Bram Braat is skilled in the area of procurement. This growing team also includes project finance expert Marcel Janssen, Jan Jakob Peelen, who joined from Norton Rose Fulbright in January 2018, and recently made up partner Dirk-Jan Gondrie. The team is acting on a number of high-value or high-profile disputes in the energy sectors and is also assisting a number of university clients on building or disputes issues. It is advising Klépierre, the European specialist shopping center on a range of matters including the construction and reconstruction of a retail and five storey underground parking facility as part of the Hoog Catharijne project in Utrecht.

EU and competition Tier 2

Dentons’ ‘strong and in-depth’ group 'sets itself apart from its competitors by offering a high-quality team service', according to one client. It has expertise across the spectrum of competition law, including antitrust litigation, state aid and public procurement. ‘Stand out’ group head Marc Kuijper and Michel Deckers ('deep experience and analyses'), are acting as lead counsel to 11 Vestel companies as claimants in proceedings before the Court of Den Bosch seeking relief for damages from parties that participated in the cathode ray tube cartel, which has been fined by the European Commission. Special adviser Frederieke Leeflang and associate partner Bram Braat, who stands out for his 'skills in European tenders', are other names to note.

Real estate Tier 2

Dentons is popular not only for its 'extensive knowledge of the real estate market and very pragmatic approach' but also because 'they are nice people to work with'. Dirk-Jan Gondrie is reported to be 'an exceptional and business-oriented lawyer' and Bas van Schouwenburg is 'also an amazing professional who has great knowledge of his field of expertise'. Managing partner Wendela Raas who heads the real estate team, Paul Wanders, Ines van Dijk, and senior associate Jeroen Le Clerq are also recommended. Altera Vastgoed, Breevast, Hines and Park Hotels and Resorts are among its clients.

Leading individuals

Next Generation Partners

Restructuring and insolvency Tier 2

Wouter Jongepier and Krijn Hoogenboezem are the leading lawyers at Dentons. The department assists a range of domestic and multinational clients and also act as court-appointed receivers. The team's work includes acting for Breevast on the restructuring of its €700m real estate portfolio. It is also acting as bankruptcy trustee on the high-profile Estro insolvency, which has generated proceedings by a union and former employees and an ECJ ruling on the applicability of a pre-pack procedure.

Banking and finance: asset finance and structured finance Tier 3

Dentons’ structured and asset finance team was bolstered by the addition of five individuals from Baker McKenzie in October 2017, including Marcel Janssen, who is heading the practice. The group advised DBRS Ratings Limited on the Dutch aspects of a potential commercial mortgage-backed securities transaction regarding a €33m facility agreement between Goldman Sachs as lender and loan seller and Merin Property for the financing of a large Dutch commercial property portfolio.

Banking and finance: Borrower side Tier 3

Dentons strengthened its capabilities by hiring Marcel Janssen and a team of four associates from Baker McKenzie  in October 2017. Practice co-head Janssen and Eugenie Nunes advised KKR on its approximately €6.8bn financing to acquire the spreads business of Unilvever. Fellow practice head Jeroen den Hamer is assisting Aroundtown with its €56m financing of four properties for one of its portfolios. Senior associate Jack Schrijver is another name to note in the 'committed' team.

Banking and finance: Financial services regulatory Tier 3

Dentons welcomed the arrival of Marcel Janssen and his team of four lawyers from Baker McKenzie in October 2017. Janssen and fellow practice head Jeroen den Hamer advised global private equity firm KKR on its acquisition of Unilever’s spreads business, and the €1.05bn bond issuance for the business.

Environment and planning Tier 3

Team head Jan Jakob Peelen and managing counsel Valentijn Leijh are the key practitioners within Dentons’ dedicated group. The team advised RWE, the German multinational utility company on obtaining regulatory approvals and environmental permits for its energy projects in the Netherlands. It is also advising a client on a number of environmental law matters including on waste regulations and on issues relating to enforcement actions by the government.

Industry focus: Information technology Tier 3

The Dentons team advises on negotiating IT implementations and software licenses and is especially well positioned to offer global clients assistance on cross-border data protection/cyber security cases. Coordinating work across eight EU countries, the team assisted TrendMicro, a Japanese multinational cybersecurity company on a European project that would enhance its data loss prevention tool. Marc Elshof heads the group that has been boosted with the addition of John Jansen who joined from De Brauw Blackstone Westbroek in mid-2018.

Banking and finance: lender or arranger side Tier 4

Dentons' practice was bolstered by the arrival of Marcel Janssen and a team from Baker McKenzie in 2017. Janssen advises clients across the spectrum of real estate, project, acquisition, export, structured, trade and commodity finance. In recent work, the team is advising HSBC Bank plc on €635m-worth of real estate finance investment facilities to Chariot Top Group. Janssen and Jeroen den Hamer are the practice heads.

Commercial, corporate and M&a Tier 4

At Dentons, technology, telecoms, and real estate expert Casper Haket, David Griston, and Kuif Klein Wassink are the senior partners in a team that has grown substantially in the past two years. The practice has a strong cross-border practice including in eastern Europe bolstered by its finance and real estate and tax practices. Together with a London team, the Amsterdam group advised KKR on its winning binding offer of €6.825bn for the spreads business of  Unilever. The practice also acted for Park Hotels and Resorts on its sale of the Rotterdam Hilton to a consortium of buyers led by First Sponsor Group for €50.4m.

Dispute resolution: Commercial litigation Tier 4

Dentons’ team is 'pragmatic and effective with good experience'. Group head Michel Deckers ('calm and calculated and easy to work with') and recently promoted managing counsel Anouk Rosielle are acting as defence counsel to Citco, in the class action proceedings initiated by StichtingFairfield Compensation Foundation claiming damages from Citco for over 700 claimants in relation to the Madoff Ponzi-scheme. Marc Kuijper is 'strong on legal principles'. Femke Jorritsma has left to take up a judicial position.

Employment Tier 4

Dentons' 'client-oriented and knowledgeable' team is led by the 'exceptional' Eugenie Nunes who is valued for her 'pragmatic, realistic advice and for being particularly effective at resolving disputes'. Epke Spijkerman co-heads the team and senior associate Sascha Kuit are also noted team members. The scope of its work takes in the employment and labour relations issues associated with acquisitions, reorganisations and in- and outsourcing projects and HR compliance generally. Following advising KKR on its acquisition of the spreads business of Unilever, the employment team advised on all the employment issues that arose.

Intellectual property: trade marks, copyrights and design rights Tier 5

Dentons handles all types of IP assets, including trade marks, copyrights, trade secrets, and domain names. Marc Elshof heads a team which now also includes Alexander van Laaren who joined the team from   Markfellows BV and brings experience in trade mark prosecution work. Acting with colleagues in China, the group assisted North Sea Lubricants on a trade mark infringement dispute in China relating to the bad faith registration of a mark.

Tax Tier 5

Dentons 

Dentons is the world’s largest law firm, delivering quality and value to clients around the globe. Dentons is a leader on the Acritas Global Elite Brand Index, a BTI Client Service 30 Award winner and recognized by prominent business and legal publications for its innovations in client service, including founding Nextlaw Labs and the Nextlaw Referral Network. Dentons’ polycentric approach and world-class talent challenge the status quo to advance client interests in the communities in which we live and work.

With 170+ offices in over 70 countries, Dentons’ global team builds agile, tailored solutions to meet the local, national and global needs of private and public clients of any size.

 

Department Name Email Telephone
Banking and Finance Marcel Janssen marcel.janssen@dentons.com
Competition and Antitrust Litigation Bram Baat bram.baat@dentons.com
Competition and Antitrust Litigation Marc Kuijper marc.kuijper@dentons.com
Competition and Antitrust Litigation Frederieke Leeflang frederieke.leeflang@dentons.com
Construction Bas van Schouwenburg bas.vanschouwenburg@dentons.com
Corporate and M&A Kuif Klein Wassink kuif.kleinwassink@dentons.com
Corporate and M&A David Griston david.griston@dentons.com
Corporate and M&A Casper Haket casper.haket@dentons.com
Employment and Labor Eugenie Nunes eugenie.nunes@dentons.com
Employment and Labor Epke Spijkerman epke.spijkerman@dentons.com
Environmental Law / Energy Jan Jakob Peelen janjakob.peelen@dentons.com
Intellectual Property and Technology Tjibbe Douma tjibbe.douma@dentons.com
Litigation and Dispute Resolution Michel Deckers michel.deckers@dentons.com
Litigation and Dispute Resolution Anouk Rosielle anouk.rosielle@dentons.com
Real Estate Wendela Raas wendela.raas@dentons.com
Real Estate Pieter van Delden pieter.vandelden@dentons.com
Real Estate Paul Wanders paul.wanders@dentons.com
Real Estate Cornélie Arnouts cornelie.arnouts@dentons.com
Real Estate Martin Daverschot martin.daverschot@dentons.com
Real Estate Dirk-Jan Gondrie dirk-jan.gondrie@dentons.com
Restructuring and Insolvency Krijn Hoogenboezem krijn.hoogenboezem@dentons.com
Restructuring and Insolvency Wouter Jongepier wouter.jongepier@dentons.com
Notary services Ines van Dijk ines.vandijk@dentons.com
Notary services Jan-Mathijs Hermans jan-mathijs.hermans@dentons.com
Privacy and Cyber Security Marc Elshof marc.elshof@dentons.com
Public law Valentijn Leijh valentijn.leijh@dentons.com
Tax Jurjen Bevers jurjen.bevers@dentons.com
Tax Heico Reinoud heico.reinoud@dentons.com
Tax Paul Halprin paul.halprin@dentons.com
Tax Marnix Veldhuijzen marnix.veldhuijzen@dentons.com
Photo Name Position Profile
Ms Cornélie Arnouts  photo Ms Cornélie Arnouts
Ms Angelina Bakker  photo Ms Angelina Bakker
Mr Jurjen Bevers  photo Mr Jurjen Bevers
Mr Wesley Boldewijn  photo Mr Wesley Boldewijn
Mr Bram Braat  photo Mr Bram Braat
Mr Martin Daverschot  photo Mr Martin Daverschot
Mr Michel Deckers  photo Mr Michel Deckers
Mr Tjibbe Douma  photo Mr Tjibbe Douma
Mr Marc Elshof  photo Mr Marc Elshof
Mr Dirk-Jan Gondrie  photo Mr Dirk-Jan Gondrie
Mr David Griston  photo Mr David Griston
Mr Casper Haket  photo Mr Casper Haket
Mr Paul Halprin  photo Mr Paul Halprin
Mr Jan-Mathijs Hermans  photo Mr Jan-Mathijs Hermans
Mr Krijn Hoogenboezem  photo Mr Krijn Hoogenboezem
Mr Marcel Janssen  photo Mr Marcel Janssen
Mr Wouter Jongepier  photo Mr Wouter Jongepier
Mr Kuif Klein Wassink  photo Mr Kuif Klein Wassink
Mr Marc Kuijper  photo Mr Marc Kuijper
Mrs Frederieke Leeflang  photo Mrs Frederieke Leeflang
Mr Valentijn Leijh  photo Mr Valentijn Leijh
Ms Eugenie Nunes  photo Ms Eugenie Nunes
Mr Suayip Oksuz  photo Mr Suayip Oksuz
Mr Jan Jakob Peelen  photo Mr Jan Jakob Peelen
Ms Wendela Raas  photo Ms Wendela Raas
Ms Anouk Rosielle  photo Ms Anouk Rosielle
Mr Joep Schreijer  photo Mr Joep Schreijer
Mr David Shearer  photo Mr David Shearer
Mr Epke Spijkerman  photo Mr Epke Spijkerman
Ms Julia Stoelman  photo Ms Julia Stoelman
Mr Marnix Veldhuijzen  photo Mr Marnix Veldhuijzen
Mr Paul Wanders  photo Mr Paul Wanders
Mr Nick de Rooij  photo Mr Nick de Rooij
Mr Jan de Wit  photo Mr Jan de Wit
Mr Pieter van Delden  photo Mr Pieter van Delden
Ms Ines van Dijk  photo Ms Ines van Dijk
Ms Celine van Es  photo Ms Celine van Es
Mr Bas van Schouwenburg  photo Mr Bas van Schouwenburg
Mr Rogier van der Weijden  photo Mr Rogier van der Weijden
Number of lawyers : 9,800+
at this office : 90
70+ languages including:
Arabic
Afrikaans
Azerbaijani
Bulgarian
Czech
Dutch
English
French
Georgian
German
Hungarian
Italian
Kazakh
Mandarin
Polish
Romanian
Russian
Slovak
Spanish
Turkish
Ukrainian
Uzbek
Other offices : Dentons now has 170+ offices in over 70 countries