Firm Profile > Thomson Geer > Brisbane, Australia

Thomson Geer
LEVEL 28, WATERFRONT PLACE
1 EAGLE STREET
BRISBANE
Australia

Dispute resolution Tier 4

Thomson Geer’s merger in October 2018 with Kemp Strang has increased the heft of its dispute resolution practice, bringing several specialist partners and their teams into the group. Experienced litigators have a record of activity in class action lawsuits and multi-party litigation together with arbitration and mediation where they seek to settle matters before they proceed to court. Harold Werksman leads the practice, and Andrew Kelly is heading civil mining and construction claims against Wiggins Island Coal Export Terminal.

Testimonials

Thomson Geer’s team was tireless and diligent in its application to the task of understanding and dealing with our case. The case involved court appearances and ultimately intense and successful financial bargaining. The advice, as well as the consistent and speedy reporting by Thompson Geer, was exceptional, and so was the overall service provided by Michael Barrett, whose standout qualities are intelligence coupled with experience, high integrity, and a very high service culture.

Real estate Tier 5

Industry expertise at Thomson Geer spans the retail, commercial, industrial and residential sectors. The team is particularly adept in relation to inbound investment work, routinely acting for Asian investors on a range of acquisitions. Industrial and retail leasing work, residential developments and renewable energy projects round off the group’s other areas of specific expertise. The department has key lawyers in the firm's Sydney, Melbourne, Adelaide and Brisbane offices and continues to develop its strategic relationship with the not-for-profit sector.

Testimonials

‘Very diligent – advice is succinct and without fluff. Prompt and timely. Engaging – down to earth but professional.’

Restructuring and insolvency Tier 5

Thomson Geer saw notable expansion in late 2018 following its acquisition of legacy firm Kemp Strang, which brought five new specialist partners to the restructuring and insolvency practice. These include practice head Peter Harrison, litigators Phil Kaunitz and Michael Joseph, Nora Minassian, who leads the firm’s recoveries team; and Melbourne-based Emma-Jane Stevens. The group focuses on the financial services sector and counts major Australian and global banks as clients; it also acts for insolvency practitioners and other financial institutions. James Daniel and Norman Fryde are also recommended for contentious work and Michael Barrett is a restructuring specialist.

About Thomson Geer

Thomson Geer is a large independent Australian corporate law firm. The firm has more than 560 people, including 116 Partners operating out of our offices in Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Perth and Adelaide.

By size Thomson Geer is one of the 10 largest law firms operating in Australia, and the 5th largest independent Australian law firm.

The firm’s origins date back to 1885.

At Thomson Geer we focus on:

  • delivering best practice legal skills and know-how to situations, transactions and disputes that require external legal counsel;
  • ensuring that the above delivery is made with a deep appreciation of, and in response to, the commercial context; and
  • maintaining cultural and operational standards and price settings across all our partners and professionals that ensure the right balance between value and cost flows to our clients.

This combines to form a service and quality style that is focused on enhancing the competitive position of our clients in whatever circumstances they find themselves in.

Supplementing the above is of course a deep moral code amongst all our people that requires the maintenance of the highest ethical standards and honesty in everything we do.

Our partnership fosters an open and transparent culture, which keeps our lawyers motivated and engaged. We are experts at cross-disciplinary collaboration – our partners and lawyers want to work with other offices and across areas of specialisation – which helps us properly resource matters and provide our clients with the expertise they need.

TG Endeavour

Our affiliate TG Endeavour Public Affairs provides first class, tri-partisan public affairs advice to both domestic and offshore clients. By utilising its extensive networks, TG Endeavour ensures the priorities of clients are clearly understood within Australia’s parliaments and bureaucracies, and has a reputation for providing sound policy advice and designing effective advocacy strategies. TG Endeavour is regularly retained by clients wishing to understand the political and regulatory environment in Australia, or those seeking advice on matters involving the Foreign Investment Review Board, Department for Foreign Affairs and Trade and other government agencies.

Our work

The nature of its legal assignments is what you would expect of a large corporate law firm. Thomson Geer is regularly engaged in challenging and complex work.

Recent examples of our work include advising:

  • CountPlus on the acquisition of Count Financial Ltd from the Commonwealth Bank of Australia.
  • Kimberley Ports Authority on the landmark $110 million Kimberley Marine Support Base project in the Port of Broome.
  • Boeing on its investment (by way of share subscription) into venture company Myriota, together with other subscribers, their first venture capital investment outside the US.
  • AustralianSuper in relation to the Royal Commission into Misconduct in the Banking, Superannuation and Financial Services Industry.
  • Far East Consortium in a $1 billion staged four residential tower development including approximately 2500 apartments together with retail and hotel components.
  • Linc Energy associated parties in an environmental prosecution regarding what has been described as possibly ‘the biggest pollution case in Queensland history‘, as reported by The Weekend Australian.
  • Domino’s Pizza Enterprises (DPE) on its entry into the German market including joint venture arrangements with Domino’s UK and the acquisition of Joey’s Pizza, the then largest pizza delivery chain in Germany for €79 million.
  • Mitsubishi Heavy Industries and the Government of Japan in its bid for the Federal Government’s submarine design and construct contract, the largest defence contract being awarded in the world at the time.
  • QSuper on all matters associated with its establishment of QInsure – the first non-profit super fund to launch its own life insurance company in a move that the AFR reported sent shockwaves through the A$44 billion life insurance sector.
  • Village Roadshow Limited (ASX: VRL) on the sale of its 50% stake in the Singapore cinema exhibition business, Golden Village, to Orange Sky Golden Harvest Entertainment (Holdings) Limited (SEHK: 1132), owner of the other 50% of Golden Village.
  • Tesla in relation to the development of the Hornsdale Battery Project and the world’s largest Virtual Power Plant with solar panels and batteries to go to 50,000 homes. Both projects sponsored by the Government of South Australia.
Department Name Email Telephone
Corporate / M&A David Zwi dzwi@tglaw.com.au
Corporate / M&A Dan Kramer dkramer@tglaw.com.au
Corporate / M&A Eugene Fung efung@tglaw.com.au
Corporate / M&A Adam Brooks abrooks@tglaw.com.au
Construction Andrew Kelly akelly@tglaw.com.au
Construction Hendrik van Aswegen hvanaswegen@tglaw.com.au
Construction Adam Wallwork awallwork@tglaw.com.au
Construction Josh Marchant jmarchant@tglaw.com.au
Construction Geoff Brennan gbrennan@tglaw.com.au
Property Melinda Graham mgraham@tglaw.com.au
Property David Beer dbeer@tglaw.com.au
Property Chris O'Shea coshea@tglaw.com.au
Property Vicki Sharp vsharp@tglaw.com.au
Property Mark Borrello mborrello@tglaw.com.au
IT & Telecoms Mark Feetham mfeetham@tglaw.com.au
IP Tony Conaghan tconaghan@tglaw.com.au
IP Ben Coogan bcoogan@tglaw.com.au
IP Josh Simons jsimons@tglaw.com.au
Disputes Harold Werksman hwerksman@tglaw.com.au
Capital Markets Matthew Reynolds mreynolds@tglaw.com.au
Restructuring & Insolvency Peter Harrison pharrison@tglaw.com.au
Energy & Resources Darren Fooks dfooks@tglaw.com.au
Photo Name Position Profile
Ms Roberta Bozzoli  photo Ms Roberta Bozzoli
Mr Philip Byrnes  photo Mr Philip Byrnes
Mr Andrew Cardell-Ree  photo Mr Andrew Cardell-Ree
Ms Rhonda Chesmond  photo Ms Rhonda Chesmond
Mr Tony Conaghan  photo Mr Tony Conaghan
Mr Ben Coogan  photo Mr Ben Coogan
Ms Emma Cook  photo Ms Emma Cook
Mr James Daniel  photo Mr James Daniel
Mr Philip Dowling  photo Mr Philip Dowling
Mr Darren Fooks  photo Mr Darren Fooks
Mr Eugene Fung  photo Mr Eugene Fung
Mr Phil Kaunitz  photo Mr Phil Kaunitz
Mr Andrew Kelly  photo Mr Andrew Kelly
Mr Michael Marshall  photo Mr Michael Marshall
Ms Julie McStay  photo Ms Julie McStay
Mr Chris O’Shea  photo Mr Chris O’Shea
Mr Loretta Reynolds photo Mr Loretta Reynolds
Mr Matthew Reynolds  photo Mr Matthew Reynolds
Mr Joel Shaw  photo Mr Joel Shaw
Ms Madeline Walsh  photo Ms Madeline Walsh
Number of partners nationally : 116
Number of other legal staff nationally : 262
French
German
Spanish
Greek
Afrikaans
Arabic
Cantonese
Hebrew
Hindi
Italian
Japanese
Mandarin
Polish
Russian
Tagalog
Tamil
Chinese
Croatian
Romanian
Bosnian
Serbian
Urdu
Bahasa
Malayalam
Maltese
Albanian
Bahasa Malaysia
Bemba
Chinese (Cantonese
Gujarati
Malay
Marathi
Nyanja
Turkish
Vietnamese