Firm Profile > Sherrards Solicitors LLP > St Albans, England

Sherrards Solicitors LLP
4 BEACONSFIELD ROAD
ST ALBANS
AL1 3RD
England

Commercial litigation: Beds, Bucks, Herts, Middx Tier 1

Sherrards Solicitors LLP’s litigation practice has a far-reaching international scope and handles complex cross-border and multi-jurisdictional matters with a focus on Russia, Ukraine and the CIS, China, North America and French-speaking countries. In the UK, the practice is best known for its expertise in the recruitment sector. Major fraud, financial services-related investigations, franchising, retail and banking-related litigation, debt recovery and insolvency, white collar crime and asset finance litigation are other areas of strength. Paul Marmor heads the practice. Barney Laurence, who was made partner in March 2018, and CIS specialist Marta Grieve are other names to note.

Testimonials

They have an international outlook with particular experience with dealing with Russian clients and familiarity with cross border business‘.

An excellent no nonsense firm which really understands business and how to handle complex and testing fraud and litigation matters‘.

Sherrards has an excellent litigation team led by Paul Marmor‘.

They provide advisory and litigation services of a quality similar to the services of the Tier 1 City and West End law firms, but at a fraction of the cost‘.

‘Paul Marmor is a star litigator. He is a master strategist and seeks to anticipate what the other side will do for the next move, and the move after that‘.

Paul Marmor is excellent in multi-jurisdictional litigation and appreciates how moves in one jurisdiction may impact on the proceedings and strategy in other jurisdictions‘.

Paul Marmor and Barney Laurence get on top of complex subject matters rapidly and diligently‘.

Key clients

Habibsons Bank

Aurora Leasing Limited

Berry Recruitment

Cambria Automobiles Limited

Lauralu UK Limited

Villa Plus

Menkind UK Limited

Muffin Break

Winkworth Estates & Lettings

Ward Thomas Removals Limited

Corporate and commercial: Beds, Bucks, Herts, Middx Tier 1

Sherrards Solicitors LLP's practice is based in Hertfordshire, but operates at a local, national and international level, benefiting from a strong geographical and professional proximity with London firms. The practice has longstanding expertise in mergers, acquisitions, disposals, private equity transactions and other transactions for public companies. The client portfolio includes a number of owner-managed businesses from the media and entertainment, franchising and recruitment sectors. Leigh Head heads the practice. Andrew Cooke, who was made partner in April 2018 splits his time between St Albans and London, and senior associate Kiall Bagnell are other key contacts.

Testimonials

‘A very professional and experienced team‘.

The individuals are responsive, aware of deadlines and professional‘.

Key clients

KMP Taste Limited

McConnell Group Limited

Winkworth Franchising Limited

Fawcett Garages (Newbury) Limited

Arrow Medical Limited

Bestival & Camp Bestival

Mander Organs Limited

Lords Builders Merchants

Hungry Panda

International Music Summit

Employment: Beds, Bucks, Herts, Middx Tier 1

Sherrards Solicitors LLP’s employment team advises clients in sectors including retail and leisure, recruitment, franchising, logistics and pharmaceuticals. It provides both employment and HR advice in conjunction with transactional support on business mergers and acquisitions. The department has immigration capability and caters for a variety of international clients. Mark Fellows heads the practice. Joanne Perry is also recommended.

Testimonials

They seem to really care about not only doing a good job, but making you feel as though someone is listening to you and is determined to help. I also noticed how they will work extra hours to make sure urgent matters are dealt with.

The employment team have legal expertise and practical experience. They are excellent throughout their department for employment advice to individuals and to companies. Their HR consultancy is first rate.

Very commercial advice from friendly professionals. I have confidence in the answers I am given and they are relevant to our organisation and culture.

We have been delighted with the service provided by Mark Fellows, Joanne Perry and the team. They are very commercial in their mindset and understand the practicalities/difficulties of HR management, so give useful advice rather than just the simple legal position which is really appreciated. They always respond quickly if advice needed urgently.

Mark Fellows is like a good doctor in that he has been supporting me during a very difficult time.

The team’s support is fantastic. Joanne Perry in particular ensures she really understands our business and ensures we understand her advice.’ 

Joanne Perry gives practical advice and has a robust approach which makes the client feel that she is on their side but also making sure that a commercial view is taken.

Joanne Perry and Mark Fellows are both extremely friendly, professional and helpful.

Key clients

Berry Recruitment

Winkworth Franchising Limited

Topgolf Limited

The Jewellery Channel Limited

AirBusiness

Forever Collectibles

Strax UK Limited

F H Bertling Limited

B3 Living

NewRiver REIT (UK) Limited

Bestival/ Camp Bestival

Commercial property: Beds, Bucks, Herts, Middx Tier 2

The team at Sherrards Solicitors LLP has longstanding expertise in the retail, leisure, hospitality, healthcare and banking sectors. High-profile work includes acquisitions, financing and the development of residential, commercial and mixed-use sites. The team also handles easement matters, planning and landlord and tenant work. Terry Fendt heads the practice. Stephanie Kierans and managing partner Alasdair McMillin are also recommended.

Testimonials

Always professional and commercial‘.

Terry Fendt and Stephanie Kierans are the most commercially aware solicitors I’ve ever used‘.

Stephanie Kierans stands out. She deals with everything very quickly and efficiently‘.

Key clients

Pico’s Limited (trading as Benito’s Hat)

Funstation Limited

Eat At The Works Limited

Energie Property (UK) Limited

FoodCo. UK LLP (trading as Muffin Break)

Chokdee Limited (trading as Giggling Squid)

Chas Lowe & Sons

Gift Universe/Menkind/Red 5

Evapo Ltd

Rituals Cosmetics UK Limited

Amey Plc

Personal tax, trusts and probate: Beds, Bucks, Herts, Middx Tier 2

Sherrards Solicitors LLP is best known for its internationally focused private client work, which focuses on clients from North America, India, Russia, the Middle East, Spain, France and Germany, among others. The team specialises in wills, estate and tax planning for both domiciled and non-domiciled clients. Complex probate and trust work is also an area of expertise, while economic control and coercion and romance fraud are fields of increasing interest. Senior consultant Nicole Marmor heads the practice. Senior solicitor Donna Payne is also recommended.

Testimonials

Excellent manner of communication with clients‘.

Excellent service from Nicole Marmor and Donna Payne‘.

The firm: Sherrards is a law firm with a reputation for providing excellent client service to a range of clients including owner managed businesses and public companies, banks, global brands, partnerships and enterprises. Sherrards’ clients also benefit from specialist legal expertise in the recruitment, retail, franchising, leisure, charities, media & entertainment and banking & finance sectors. Sherrards’ client-centric approach means that they provide a clear and commercially focused perspective based on a solid understanding of real business issues, helping clients to successfully resolve complex matters and achieve their growth ambitions.

Principal areas of work: Sherrards’ varied client base includes OFO (UK) Ltd, Haier Group Corporation, Winkworth Franchising Ltd, Berry Recruitment Ltd, Rituals Cosmetics (UK) Ltd, Gift Universe Limited (incorporating Menkind Limited and Red 5 (Retail) Limited, Foodco UK LLP (trading as Muffin Break) and Cambria Automobiles plc.

Property: Respected lawyers Terry Fendt and Charles Hodder lead the team. Commercially savvy solicitors, they handle complex property transactions, including joint ventures and finance agreements, acquisition and disposal of retail and investment property, hotels, restaurants and pubs, property development (commercial and residential) and management work.  Asha Ngai, Caroline Vernon and John Brian lead the residential team, much of which has an international element.

Corporate/ Commercial: Covering a full range of corporate and commercial work, the team has additional expertise in IP, media and entertainment and charity law. Jean-Paul da Costa and Leigh Head lead the team providing a partner-led service, committed to providing tailored, commercial and cost-effective solutions.

Dispute Resolution & Litigation: Paul Marmor leads the litigation team who provide a responsive service to manage the risks and maximise the strength of their client’s position.

Employment: Mark Fellows leads the team with partner Joanne Perry who support clients through all stages of the employment relationship with a focus on creating and maintaining a sound legal framework for employers.

Private Wealth: The team handles Wills, tax and probate matters, UK and internationals succession planning and high­end residential property.

International: Sherrards has an international focus with China & Asia, Russia & CIS, French and German teams. The teams provide legal services to UK SMEs looking to export overseas and foreign companies and high-net-worth individuals setting up in the UK.

Department Name Email Telephone
Managing partner Alasdair McMillin alasdair.mcmillin@sherrards.com 01727 738902
Commercial property Terry Fendt terry.fendt@sherrards.com 01727 738922
Commercial property Stephanie Kierans stephanie.kierans@sherrards.com 01727 738923
Commercial property Charles Hodder charles.hodder@sherrards.com 020 7478 9027
Corporate/ commercial Jean-Paul da Costa JeanPaul.Dacosta@sherrards.com 020 7478 9018
Dispute resolution/ commercial litigation Paul Marmor paul.marmor@sherrards.com 0207 4789010
Employment Mark Fellows mark.fellows@sherrards.com 01727 738976
Corporate/ commercial Leigh Head leigh.head@sherrards.com 01727 738937
Banking and finance Gregory Lunnon gregory.lunnon@sherrards.com 01727 738903
Personal tax, trusts and probate Nicole Marmor nicole.marmor@sherrards.com 01727 738989
Residential conveyancing John Brian john.brian@sherrards.com 01727 738977
Residential conveyancing Asha Ngai asha.ngai@sherrards.com 02074953035
Residential conveyancing Caroline Vernon caroline.vernon@sherrards.com 020 3795 0036
Employment Joanne Perry joanne.perry@sherrards.com 01727 738920
Property disputes Michael Lewis michael.lewis@sherrards.com 01727 738980
Dispute Resolution/ Litigation Barney Lawrence barnaby.lawrence@sherrards.com 01727 738975
Residential property Amy Brunt amy.brunt@sherrards.com 01727 738983
Corporate/ commercial Andrew Cooke andrew.cooke@sherrards.com 020 7478 9911
Residential property Anu Hunt anu.hunt@sherrards.com 020 7478 9914
Property disputes Ben Walters ben.walters@sherrards.com 01727 738931
Commercial property Claire Haywood claire.haywood@sherrards.com 01727 738904
Wills, Trusts & Probate Donna Payne donna.payne@sherrards.com 01727 738943
Commercial property Fiorina Fortunato fiorina.fortunato@sherrards.com 020 3795 0026
Dispute Resolution/ Litigation Gemma Newing gemma.newing@sherrards.com 01727 738918
Corporate/ commercial Geraldine Fabre geraldine.fabre@sherrards.com 020 7478 9917
Commercial property Isabel Wolfe Barry Isabel.wolfebarry@sherrards.com 020 7478 9912
Commercial property Jessica Lloyd jessica.lloyd@sherrards.com 0207 478 9015
Corporate/ commercial Jonathan Cooke jonathan.cooke@sherrards.com 020 7478 9028
Dispute Resolution/ Litigation Karen Dobson karen.dobson@sherrards.com 01727 738906
Corporate/ commercial Katherine Gilroy katherine.gilroy@sherrards.com 020 7478 9918
Corporate/ commercial Kiall Bagnell kiall.bagnell@sherrards.com 01727 738914
Immigration adviser Laura Butcher laura.butcher@sherrards.com 020 7478 9014
Corporate/ commercial Laurel Zhang laurel.zhang@sherrards.com 02074789916
Corporate/ commercial consultant Manzoor Ishani mishani@ishani.net 07887745587
Commercial property Mark Peters mark.peters@sherrards.com 020 7478 9011
Dispute Resolution/ Litigation Paul Werth Paul.werth@sherrards.com 01727 738940
Commercial property Richard Berns richard.berns@sherrards.com 020 7478 9020
Commercial property Sarah Bennett- Hughes sarah.bennett-hughes@sherrards.com 01727 738948
Commercial property Shreya Kargathra shreya.karathra@sherrards.com 020 7478 9919
Trainee Sunira Patel sunira.patel@sherrards.com 01727 738987
White Collar Crime Simon Morgan simon.morgan@sherrards.com 020 3657 9454
Commercial property/ planning law Giles Ferin giles.ferin@sherrards.com 07778192150
Commercial property/ construction Graeme Roberts graeme.roberts@sherrards.com 01256 889840
Paralegal Rachael Drane rachael.drane@sherrards.com 01727 738933
Photo Name Position Profile
Mr Kiall Bagnell  photo Mr Kiall Bagnell
Ms Sarah Bennett-Hughes  photo Ms Sarah Bennett-Hughes
Mr John Brian  photo Mr John Brian
Mrs Karen Dobson  photo Mrs Karen Dobson
Mr Mark Fellows  photo Mr Mark Fellows
Mr Terry Fendt  photo Mr Terry Fendt
Mr Martin Halling  photo Mr Martin Halling
Mr Leigh Head  photo Mr Leigh Head
Mr Adan Hogg  photo Mr Adan Hogg
Mr Manzoor Ishani  photo Mr Manzoor Ishani
Ms Stephanie Kierans  photo Ms Stephanie Kierans
Mr Barney Laurence  photo Mr Barney Laurence
Mr Michael Lewis  photo Mr Michael Lewis
Ms Kirsty Limacher  photo Ms Kirsty Limacher
Mr Ben Lindsay  photo Mr Ben Lindsay
Mr Gregory Lunnon  photo Mr Gregory Lunnon
Mr Paul Marmor  photo Mr Paul Marmor
Mrs Nicole Marmor  photo Mrs Nicole Marmor
Mr Alasdair McMillin  photo Mr Alasdair McMillin
Ms Rosemarie Moulding  photo Ms Rosemarie Moulding
Ms Gemma Newing  photo Ms Gemma Newing
Ms Sunira Patel  photo Ms Sunira Patel
Ms Donna Payne  photo Ms Donna Payne
Mrs Joanne Perry  photo Mrs Joanne Perry
Mr Ben Walter  photo Mr Ben Walter
Number of UK partners : 18
Number of other UK fee-earners : 55
Mandarin Chinese
Russian
French
German
IBA

CLIENT: Andy Laurillard, MD Giggling Squid
COMPANY/FIRM: Chokdee Ltd t/a Giggling Squid
TESTIMONIAL: “Giggling Squid has grown from one restaurant in 2002 to over 30 and we need a law firm who can keep pace with us. Stephanie Kierans and the rest of the lawyers at Sherrards have done just that. They provide excellent commercial advice and are quick to respond to all our needs”.


CLIENT: Doug Bates
COMPANY/FIRM: Intelligent People.
TESTIMONIAL: “Sherrards are a warm and friendly team who not only offer expert advice but execute brilliantly. As a small business we occasionally have debt to chase or need legal counsel on other matters, we have a 100% record with Sherrards and will continue to use them for the foreseeable future. Highly, highly recommended”


CLIENT: Eve Gonsalves
COMPANY/FIRM: Energie Property UK Limited
TESTIMONIAL: “Energie have worked with Sherrards as the business has expanded. The team at Sherrards are down to earth, approachable and on hand to provide assistance where required. They work with us and our franchisees to help making the club acquisition process as seamless as possible.”


CLIENT: Sahnker Patel, CEO Lords Builders Merchants
COMPANY/FIRM: Lords Builders Merchants
TESTIMONIAL: “Andrew Cooke and the team from Sherrards have once again provided the Lords Group with exemplary support in this acquisition. We have built a very strong relationship which will continue to grow as our business does.”


CLIENT: Robert McGregor, Director McConnell Group
COMPANY/FIRM: McConnell Group
TESTIMONIAL: “We have worked with Kiall, Leigh and corporate the team for a number of years and they always provides concise and commercial advice. They have a collaborative, personable approach and we thoroughly enjoy working with them.”