Firm Profile > EIP > London , London

EIP
FAIRFAX HOUSE
15 FULWOOD PLACE
LONDON
WC1V 6HU
London

PATMA: Patent attorneys Tier 2

EIP stands out through its longstanding expertise in parallel prosecution and litigation cases and is especially well versed in high-tech cases, most notably instructions from telecoms clients. The group continued to expand its already high-profile roster of direct clients and added a Denver office in April 2018, the second of its international offices after the opening of the Düsseldorf office in 2013. In the UK, the group of practice heads Jerome SpaargarenHeather McCann and Matt Lawman has offices in London, Bath, Cardiff and Leeds. Pete Wilson joined from BT and of counsel Danny Butler joined from his own practice.

Intellectual property Tier 3

Boutique IP firm EIP 'hits far, far above its weight' and is comprised of 'experienced and expert IP litigators' who are recognised for medical device, life sciences and mobile telecoms patent disputes. The team is 'involved in some of the highest profile IT disputes on both technical and legal issues' and is instructed by Unwired Planet International in standard essential patent litigation against Huawei, which includes complex competition and FRAND licensing considerations; it is also advising Conversant Wireless Licensing on similar litigation against Huawei and ZTE. 'Very savvy IP litigator' Gary Moss heads up the practice, which includes Robert Lundie Smith and Matthew Jones. The team also benefits from the addition of managing associate Tom Brazier from Allen & Overy LLP.

PATMA: Trade mark attorneys Tier 4

EIP's key standout feature is its combined full-service UK and US trade mark prosecution offering and its accompanying litigation team in the UK and Germany. The group is steadily increasing its market share and boasts an internationally experienced team, including three bilingual German and English team members. Claire Lehr directs the practice, with Paula Flutter as the key chartered trade mark practitioner in the group.

EIP is an Intellectual Property Law firm advising on all areas of IP.

We are now more than 170 people including 22 partners, practising from offices in the UK (Bath, Cardiff, Leeds and London), Germany (Düsseldorf) and the US (Denver).

EIP’s combination of patent, trademark and design attorneys with specialist IP litigators means we can offer sophisticated and wide-ranging, yet specialised, services.

Our international filing process, managed by a central records department allows our attorneys – in three key IP locations – to work together in a coordinated way.

In 2019 EIP was named “UK Patent and Trademark Attorney Firm of the Year for Patent Litigation” by Managing Intellectual Property Magazine, and one of Europe’s leading patent firms by the Financial Times. EIP is a Legal 500, Chambers & Partners, IAM Patent 1000 and World Trademark Review 1000 recommended firm.

Other offices: Bath, Cardiff, Düsseldorf, Leeds, Denver

Department Name Email Telephone
Digital Jerome Spaargaren jspaargaren@eip.com
Chemistry Darren Smyth dsmyth@eip.com
Mechanical Paula Flutter pflutter@eip.com
Energy Richard Gordon-Brown rgordonbrown@eip.com
Patent litigation Gary Moss gmoss@eip.com
Trademarks Claire Lehr clehr@eip.com
IP strategy Matt Lawman mlawman@eip.com
Life sciences, medical Andrew Sharples asharples@eip.com
Photo Name Position Profile
 Claire Lehr  photo Claire Lehr
 Matthew Blaseby  photo Matthew Blaseby
Dr Matthew Jones  photo Dr Matthew Jones
Dr Robert Lundie Smith  photo Dr Robert Lundie Smith
 Heather McCann  photo Heather McCann
 Gary Moss  photo Gary Moss
 Iain Russell  photo Iain Russell
 James Seymour  photo James Seymour
 Andrew Sharples  photo Andrew Sharples
 Darren Smyth  photo Darren Smyth
 Jerome Spaargaren  photo Jerome Spaargaren
 Paula Flutter  photo Paula Flutter
Number of UK partners : 19
Number of other UK fee-earners : 50
Total staff : 177
Urdu
Spanish
Welsh
Dutch
German
French
Hindi