Firm Profile > Rivkin Radler > Long Island, United States

Rivkin Radler
926 RXR PLAZA
UNIONDALE, NY 11556
United States

Insurance: advice to insurers Tier 4

Rivkin Radler's New York-based insurance practice handles every form of risk advisory and dispute resolution, including litigation, mediation and arbitration. Alan Rutkin heads the practice and has extensive experience working on major claims, most notably involving energy and the environment. The team has actively been involved in advising clients across the country on coverage issues related to Covid-19, with Michael Troisi serving as lead counsel. Other key members of the team are William Savino, an experienced trial lawyer who litigates class actions, and Michael Kotula who has significant experience in defending against a wide variety of high-exposure claims including toxic tort, environmental pollution and health hazards.

Practice head(s):

Alan Rutkin

Other key lawyers:

Michael Troisi; William Saviano; Michael Kotula

Testimonials

‘Rivkin Radler’s strength is its people. I have had the pleasure of working with this firm on numerous occasions for more than 15 years. Their attorneys’ knowledge of insurance coverage means that I am getting the advice I need in a timely and cost-effective manner.’

‘I like to work with Alan Rutkin, because I trust him. I have a tremendous amount of respect and confidence in his knowledge of the industry. His opinions are always well thought through, so when he tells me something I don’t want to hear, I have my arms around the issue and can stay ahead of it. Alan exhibits a calmness even in a tense arbitration or negotiation.’

‘I have worked with Michael Kotula and Anne Murray at Rivkin Radler for years. Their attention to detail and client communication is like none other. They are dedicated to their clients and I have had great success in resolving even the most difficult of cases when they are involved.’

‘This is, undoubtedly, THE top firm I have ever had on my side. They are definitely a team. ‘

Our organization is a national insurance carrier. Each state has their own unique laws pertaining to the various types of coverage we offer. Rivkin Radler has shown time and time again their knowledge and ability in providing guidance for coverage and defense counsel in all of the issues we have presented to them in every state in which they provide services. Our outcomes have been beyond expectations in many of the cases no matter which state. This shows the in-depth knowledge of the attorneys working for this firm. ’

‘It is a very client-centered practice. They are excellent communicators and always follow through.’

‘Very responsive, competent and driven to assist in resolution.’

‘Michael Kotula, Anne Murray and Larry Levy- smart, strategic, thorough and highly responsive. ’

‘The Rivkin team is highly professional with emphasis on completing assignments in a timely and comprehensive way to include legal research and a sound strategy for moving forward. ’

‘Alan Eagle, Joanne Engledrum and Frank Valverde are the Rivkin members we deal with and they have proven to be formidable in terms of getting our coverage positions out and out tender letters out. We have been very successful in our coverage evaluations and likewise very successful in getting our tenders picked up by the other insurance carriers.’

‘The firm is first-rate in responsiveness and customer service. Its broad range of practice areas provide a great resource when unique issues arise in your case.’

‘Bill Savino presents as a tier-one attorney. He is methodical and detailed when thinking through case strategy and options. There’s no shooting from the hip.’

Key clients

AEGIS

Ark Syndicate Management Limited

Central Insurance Companies

Factory Mutual Insurance Company/FM Global

Global Indemnity Group

Great American Insurance

Hanover Insurance

Markel Service Incorporated

Metropolitan Life Insurance Company

Mitsui Sumitomo Marine Management

National General Lender Services

Nautilus Insurance Group (a Berkley Company)

Primerica Financial Services, Inc.

Safepoint Insurance Company

San Francisco Reinsurance Company (ARM US)

Seneca Insurance

Sentry Insurance

Sompo Insurance

The Cincinnati Insurance Co.

The Guardian Life Insurance Co. of America

Travelers

Trustmark Insurance Co.

Utica National Insurance

Founded in 1950, Rivkin Radler gained national recognition for the firm’s role in groundbreaking cases. Many of the world’s largest companies rely on Rivkin Radler to address their complex legal challenges. As a result, many clients have been placing their trust in us for decades.

Over the past 70 years, Rivkin Radler has become the advisor-of-choice to large corporations, middle-market: companies and successful individuals. The firm offers representation in 21 practice areas across five offices in the Northeast. With approximately 200 lawyers, Rivkin Radler has grown to become a nationally recognized provider of superior legal representation to a broad array of clients.

Rivkin Radler’s attorneys are leaders in legal, business and charitable arenas. Time and again, they are recognized by peer-review programs that recognize professional excellence.

The firm is committed to fostering diversity within an inclusive environment that respects the individual, promotes different perspectives, encourages distinctive ideas and drives dynamic results. Rivkin Radler employs individuals with varied backgrounds and life experiences who together create a firm with a rich and vibrant culture, enabling the firm to attract and retain the best talent and to bring a diversity of thinking to bear for its clients.

Main areas of practice
Health law:  Rivkin Radler represents a diverse group of healthcare clients, such as multi-provider healthcare delivery systems, including clinically integrated networks, IPAs, specialty provider networks, managed care organizations and ACOs, urgent care centers, hospitals, and physician practices.

The firm’s expertise encompasses complex healthcare transactions, regulatory compliance, enforcement actions, managed care contracting, disputes, and defense of criminal prosecutions. The firm frequently advises clients on privacy and security laws including HIPAA and the HITECH Act. The firm also represents clients in fraud and abuse cases, including False Claims Act and qui tam/whistleblower cases.

Insurance coverage: Rivkin Radler handles all aspects of insurance coverage law including litigation and dispute resolution, coverage advice and policy drafting. The firm’s practice includes casualty coverage (CGL, umbrella and excess liability); D&O liability coverage; employment practices liability; extra-contractual and bad faith; life, health and disability; personal lines (home and auto, professional liability); property; reinsurance; specialty and other coverage lines; and title insurance litigation.

With more than 60 attorneys and a long track record, Rivkin Radler’s insurance coverage group is one of the largest coverage-focused practice groups in the US. The firm represents insurers big and small, domestic and foreign, investor-owned and policyholder-owned.

The firm tackles the insurance industry’s newest and most challenging issues, with innovative strategies.  Rivkin Radler was among the first firms to handle complex coverage issues such as pollution, cyber, asbestos, advertising injury, molestation, life sciences, medical technologies, climate change, terrorism, antitrust, intellectual property, and fraud.  The firm stays at the cutting edge of insurance law.

We are committed to outstanding client service.  And our commitment is validated by our client retention rate.  Many of our insurer relationships are decades old.

The attorneys handle all aspects of insurance coverage law, including litigation and other forms of dispute resolution.  Insurers rely on our coverage advice.

Insurance fraud: the firm represents insurers across all lines of coverage and at every stage of the claim, from the initial report of the loss to resolution, obtaining groundbreaking results in all areas of health insurance fraud, ‘no-fault’ automobile insurance fraud and first-party property damage. The firm prosecutes RICO, fraud and declaratory judgment actions to extinguish exposure to fraudulent claims and recover wrongfully obtained claim payments.

Department Name Email Telephone
Appeals Cheryl Korman cheryl.korman@rivkin.com 516-357-3573
Appeals Evan Krinick evan.krinick@rivkin.com 516-357-3483
Banking William Cornachio william.cornachio@rivkin.com 516-357-3111
Banking Harvey Epstein harvey.epstein@rivkin.com 516-357-3512
Banking Michael Heller michael.heller@rivkin.com 516-357-3451
Bankruptcy Stuart Gordon stuart.gordon@rivkin.com 516-357-3055
Commercial Litigation Evan Krinick evan.krinick@rivkin.com 516-357-3483
Commercial Litigation William Savino william.savino@rivkin.com 516-357-3349
Commercial Litigation Michael Versichelli michael.versichelli@rivkin.com 516-357-3431
Complex Torts and Product Liability Brian Ade brian.ade@rivkin.com (201) 287-2461
Complex Torts and Product Liability David Richman david.richman@rivkin.com 516-357-3120
Compliance, Investigations and White Collar Geoffrey Kaiser geoffrey.kaiser@rivkin.com 516-357-3161
Compliance, Investigations and White Collar Kenneth "Casey" Murphy kenneth.murphy@rivkin.com 516-357-3154
Construction David Grill david.grill@rivkin.com 516-357-3011
Corporate Walter Gumersell walter.gumersell@rivkin.com 516-357-3098
Corporate Stella Lellos stella.lellos@rivkin.com 516-357-3373
Corporate Jeffrey Rust jeffrey.rust@rivkin.com 516-357-3404
Directors & Officers Liability Jonathan Bruno jonathan.bruno@rivkin.com 212-455-9554
Directors & Officers Liability David Wilck david.wilck@rivkin.com 516-357-3347
Employment & Labor Barry Levy barry.levy@rivkin.com 516-357-3149
Employment & Labor Kenneth Novikoff ken.novikoff@rivkin.com 516-357-3110
General Liability Jacqueline Bushwack jacqueline.bushwack@rivkin.com 516-357-3239
General Liability Frank Raia frank.raia@rivkin.com 516-357-3321
General Liability Eric Strober eric.strober@rivkin.com 516-357-3434
Health Services Robert Iseman robert.iseman@rivkin.com 518-641-7055
Health Services Christopher Kutner chris.kutner@rivkin.com 516-357-3355
Health Services Benjamin Malerba benjamin.malerba@rivkin.com 516-357-3128
Insurance Coverage Alan Eagle alan.eagle@rivkin.com 516-357-3545
Insurance Coverage Michael Kotula michael.kotula@rivkin.com 516-357-3066
Insurance Coverage Alan Rutkin alan.rutkin@rivkin.com 516-357-3278
Insurance Fraud Max Gershenoff max.gershenoff@rivkin.com 516-357-3444
Insurance Fraud Barry Levy barry.levy@rivkin.com 516-357-3149
Insurance Fraud Michael Sirignano michael.sirignano@rivkin.com 516-357-3073
Intellectual Property Gregory Miller gregory.miller@rivkin.com 201-287-2474
Intellectual Property Stephen Smirti steve.smirti@rivkin.com 516-357-3351
Medical Malpractice Defense David Richman david.richman@rivkin.com 516-357-3120
Privacy, Data & Cyber Law Shari Claire Lewis shari.lewis@rivkin.com 516-357-3292
Privacy, Data & Cyber Law Benjamin Malerba benjamin.malerba@rivkin.com 516-357-3128
Professional Liability Jonathan Bruno jonathan.bruno@rivkin.com 212-455-9554
Professional Liability Janice DiGennaro janice.digennaro@rivkin.com 516-357-3548
Professional Liability David Wilck david.wilck@rivkin.com 516-357-3347
Real Estate, Zoning & Land Use Erez Glambosky erez.glambosky@rivkin.com 516-357-3065
Real Estate, Zoning & Land Use Yaron Kornblum yaron.kornblum@rivkin.com 516-357-3082
Tax Scott Eisenmesser scott.eisenmesser@rivkin.com 516-357-3085
Tax Kate Heptig kate.heptig@rivkin.com 516-357-3421
Tax Karen Sosler karen.sosler@rivkin.com 518-641-7053
Trusts & Estates Scott Eisenmesser scott.eisenmesser@rivkin.com 516-357-3085
Trusts & Estates Jeffrey Greener jeffrey.greener@rivkin.com 516-357-3177
Construction Pia Riverso pia.riverso@rivkin.com 516-357-3159
Intellectual Property Nancy Del Pizzo nancy.delpizzo@rivkin.com 201-287-2472
Photo Name Position Profile
 Alan Eagle  photo Alan Eagle Alan C. Eagle maintains a national insurance coverage practice that is supported…
 Joanne Engeldrum  photo Joanne Engeldrum Joanne M. Engeldrum counsels insurance companies on complex first- and third-party claims,…
 Michael Kotula  photo Michael Kotula Michael A. Kotula handles complex litigation involving asbestos, environmental pollution, health hazards,…
 Evan Krinick  photo Evan Krinick Evan H. Krinick, Rivkin Radler’s managing partner, is a trial and appellate…
 Peter McNamara  photo Peter McNamara Peter P. McNamara serves as coverage and defense counsel to America’s major…
 Anne Murray  photo Anne Murray Anne M. Murray counsels insurance companies on complex first- and third-party claims,…
 Alan Rutkin  photo Alan Rutkin Alan S. Rutkin handles every aspect of insurance coverage law. Alan has…
 William Savino  photo William Savino A partner in the firm’s Insurance Coverage & Commercial Litigation Practice Groups,…
 Stephen Smirti  photo Stephen Smirti Stephen J. Smirti, Jr., represents clients in insurance coverage and reinsurance matters…
 Michael Troisi  photo Michael Troisi Michael A. Troisi represents insurance companies across the country in coverage lawsuits,…
 Michael Versichelli  photo Michael Versichelli Michael P. Versichelli focuses his practice on commercial and insurance coverage litigation,…
Number of Partners : 101
Number of Other Fee-Earners : 124
Other Staff : 137
Albanian
French
Creole
Greek
Hebrew
Hindi
Italian
Korean
Pilipino
Polish
Portuguese
Punjabi
Russian
Spanish
Tagalog
Urdu
Managing partner : Evan H Krinick (T: 516 357 3483; F: 516 357 3333)