Firm Profile > Kasznar Leonardos Intellectual Property > Porto Alegre, Brazil

Kasznar Leonardos Intellectual Property
RUA FÉLIX DA CUNHA, 1009
7TH FLOOR
PORTO ALEGRE, RS – 90570-000
Brazil

Intellectual property Tier 1

Kasznar Leonardos Intellectual Property had a busy year in 2018 advising on matters relating to biosimilars and handling a software copyright infringement case, among other highlights. The group includes specialists in the areas of patents, domain names, data privacy, IP licensing and marketing law. Regulatory affairs head Anderson Ribeiro is an up-and-comer of note. Claudio Roberto BarbosaGabriel Francisco LeonardosElisabeth Kasznar Fekete and Nancy Satiko Caigawa are recommended for IP litigation. Rosane Tavares joined from Guerra IP in July 2018.

Kasznar Leonardos Intellectual Property is an IP boutique with offices in Rio de Janeiro, São Paulo and Porto Alegre, recognized for its experience and excellence in services, provision in all IP areas. It acts as legal advisors on contractual matters, as industrial property agents with BPTO and as lawyers, arbitrators and mediators in litigation and extrajudicial dispute resolution.

In trademarks, the firm has significant expertise in obtaining and maintaining trademark registrations in Brazil and abroad. It also provides counsel regarding domain names and copyright registrations, assisting clients in all steps of the process.

In patents, the firm drafts, files and prosecutes patent applications from local and foreign companies, and counts on experts who cover a variety of specialities, such as aviation, auto, biotech, electronics, oil and gas, chemistry, information technology, telecoms, pharmacy and steel.

In litigation and legal advice, the firm also has strong teams, led by the highly recognized IP lawyer Gabriel Leonardos. It also provides development of anti-piracy programs. In contracts, the services include all stages related to negotiation, drafting and registration of IP licensing agreements before the Brazilian Patent and Trademark Office (BPTO).

Among its partners, there are leading lawyers who have shaped, and continue to shape, Brazilian case law in IP matters, with a successful track record for clients.

History of the firm: Established in 1919, the firm has inherited an invaluable legacy: highly qualified practitioners and the experience of 100 years of history in the provision of services to register and protect the industrial and intellectual property rights of some of the largest and most important companies in the world, from the most diverse industries. The firm accompanies the growth of IP activities in the country, which gives it an advantage in the practice of law.

Named since 2012 as senior partners and IP experts Elisabeth Kasznar Fekete, Filipe Leonardos and Gabriel F Leonardos, hold leading positions in IP. The three of them have over 30 years’ experience in IP. With decades of experience as well, the other senior partners of the firm – Eduardo Colonna Rosman, Gustavo  Barbosa and João Luis Vianna – run the prestigious patent department.

Specialized in the management of intellectual assets, the firm has 22 partners, more than 200 employees and correspondents in every state in Brazil, as well as having a broad network of international partners. The team is made up of highly qualified practitioners to serve clients, among them multinational companies from all industry segments, such as oil and gas, energy, chemical, food, pharmaceutical, biotechnology, steel, aerospace, automotive, electronics, telecommunications and information technology.

Main areas of practice: Kasznar Leonardos provides Brazilian and foreign companies with a wide range of technical and judicial services in IP areas, such as trademarks; domain names; patents; industrial designs; copyrights; geographical indications; digital law; unfair competition; trade secrets and confidential data; technology transfer, franchising and licensing; litigation and dispute resolution; regulatory law in the health area; marketing law and entertainment; anti-counterfeiting; protection of plant varieties; and personal data protection. In these areas, Kasznar’s team acts as attorneys in the prosecution of applications; as legal advisors in licensing and other contract matters; as lawyers in litigation and arbitration; and as neutrals in arbitration and mediation. The firm’s multilingual staff speak several languages, including Portuguese, English, German, French, Spanish, Hungarian and Italian.

Department Name Email Telephone
Regulatory/Life Sciences Anderson Ribeiro anderson.ribeiro@kasznarleonardos.com
Litigation Claudio Barbosa claudio.barbosa@kasznarleonardos.com
Patents Diego Mônaco diego.monaco@kasznarleonardos.com
Patents Eduardo Rosman eduardo.rosman@kasznarleonardos.com
Litigation Elisabeth Kasznar Fekete elisabeth.kasznar@kasznarleonardos.com
Litigation Fabiano de Bem da Rocha fabiano.rocha@kasznarleonardos.com
Patents Fábio Ferreira fabio.ferreira@kasznarleonardos.com
Litigation/Marketing and Entertainment Law Fernanda Magalhães fernanda.magalhaes@kasznarleonardos.com
Trademarks Filipe Leonardos filipe.leonardos@kasznarleonardos.com
Trademarks Flávia Tremura flavia.rodrigues@kasznarleonardos.com
Litigation Gabriel Leonardos gabriel.leonardos@kasznarleonardos.com
Litigation Gustavo Bacalhau gustavo.bacalhau@kasznarleonardos.com
Patents Gustavo Barbosa gustavo.barbosa@kasznarleonardos.com
Patents João Vianna joao.vianna@kasznarleonardos.com
Trademarks Liz Starling liz.starling@kasznarleonardos.com
Trademarks Maria Pia Guerra maria.guerra@kasznarleonardos.com
Litigation Nancy Caigawa nancy.caigawa@kasznarleonardos.com
Patents Priscila Kashiwabara priscila.kashiwabara@kasznarleonardos.com
Litigation Rafael Lacaz Amaral rafael.amaral@kasznarleonardos.com
Managing Partner Ronaldo Varella ronaldo.gomes@kasznarleonardos.com
Patents Rosane Tavares rosane.tavares@kasznarleonardos.com
Patents Tatiana Silveira tatiana.silveira@kasznarleonardos.com
Photo Name Position Profile
Mr Fabiano de Bem da Rocha  photo Mr Fabiano de Bem da Rocha
Partners : 22
Other fee-earners : 87
Total staff : 230
Portuguese
English
Spanish
Italian
French
German
Hungarian
INTA - International Trademark Association
American Intellectual Property Law Association (AIPLA)
AIPPI (The International Association for the Protection of Intellectual Property)
ASIPI
Intellectual Property Owners (IPO)
IBA (International Bar Association)