Firm Profile > Campbell Johnston Clark > London, England

Campbell Johnston Clark
59 MANSELL STREET
LONDON
E1 8AN
England

Shipping Tier 3

Marine-focused firm Campbell Johnston Clark is 'highly-regarded'; it handles a raft of contentious and non-contentious work, such as admiralty, marine insurance, charterparty, bill of lading, commodity, shipbuilding and offshore work. Clients include insurers, ship owners, ship managers, brokers and P&I Clubs. The team represents hull and war risks insurers on a significant coverage dispute subsequent to the sinking of a cargo ship, and on a claim by the assureds under the relevant policies. Alistair Johnston heads the litigation team and is experienced in major casualty matters.

Testimonials

The team gets good results and has a straightforward approach.

Key clients

MS AMLIN

Shipowners P&I Club

Kiran Shipping

AXA XL

Tokio Marine Houston Casualty

Union Maritime

Lomar Shipmanagement

Columbia Shipmanagement

Pan Ocean

GNMTC

Campbell Johnston Clark (CJC) is an international shipping law firm with expertise in all aspects of commercial shipping, ship finance, dry shipping, international trade law, admiralty work including casualties, salvage and wreck removal as well as oil and gas disputes and marine insurance. CJC was founded in 2010 and is now firmly established as the leading boutique global English law maritime practice.

The firm: CJC has a presence in the Asia Pacific region from its office in Singapore as well as offices in London and Newcastle. Our clients include include major ship-owners, charterers, banks and equity providers, hull and machinery underwriters and P&I clubs.  Underpinning this growth is the firm’s commitment to recruiting high-calibre lawyers and its firmly held ethos of providing first-class, practical and commercial legal advice, at attractive rates, without compromise on quality and turnaround times. The firm won ‘The Legal 500 UK 2015 shipping law firm of the year’ award and also highly commended by the Legal Business Awards in the category ‘Boutique Law Firm of the Year 2016’.

Types of work undertaken:Shipbuilding and finance: commercial, private equity, shipbuilding contracts, leasing, offshore, construction and acquisition financing and restructuring.

Litigation – shipping: commercial litigation including shipbuilding and MOA disputes, charterparties, pooling agreements, bills of lading, marine insurance,  sale and purchase disputes, particular and general average, casualty work including collisions, salvage, groundings, total losses, piracy and personal injury work.

Marine insurance: coverage for hull and machinery, P&I, FD&D, charterers’ liability, trade disruption, loss of hire, war, political and terrorism risks and ports and terminal liability insurances.

International trade: disputes under international sale contracts and letters of credit.

Marshall islands:  We are the only UK based law firm that has Marshall islands qualified counsel in London.  We advise on all aspects of Marshall islands law.

Sale and purchase: new-build and second-hand vessels, flag choice and vessel registrations and private yacht transactions.

Corporate and taxation (shipping): M&A, joint ventures, workouts, charterparty negotiations, crewing, tax-driven arrangements (including tonnage tax).

Clients: ship owners, charterers, funds, private equity, P&I clubs, hull and machinery market, international banks, ship managers, entrepreneurs.

Other offices: Newcastle, Singapore

Department Name Email Telephone
London Jonathan Campbell Jonathan@CJCLaw.com +44 (0)207 855 9669
London Alistair Johnston Alistair@CJCLaw.com +44 (0)207 855 9669
London Maria Borg Barthet Maria@CJCLaw.com +44 (0)207 855 9669
London Andrew Gray Andrew@CJCLaw.com +44 (0)207 855 9669
London Russell Harling Russell@CJCLaw.com +44 (0)207 855 9669
London Kirsty MacHardy Kirsty@CJCLaw.com +44 (0)207 855 9669
London James Mackay James@CJCLaw.com +44 (0)207 855 9669
London Carlo Sammarco Carlo@CJCLaw.com +44 (0)207 855 9669
London Jacqueline Zalapa Jacqueline@CJCLaw.com +44 (0)207 855 9669
Newcastle Allen Marks Allen@CJCLaw.com +44 (0)191 605 3669
Singapore Paul Apostolis Paul@CJCLaw.com +65 6812 9310
Singapore Gareth Williams Gareth@CJCLaw.com +65 6812 9310
Photo Name Position Profile
 Jonathan Campbell  photo Jonathan Campbell
Mr Andrew Gray  photo Mr Andrew Gray
Mr Alistair Johnston  photo Mr Alistair Johnston
Mrs Kirsty MacHardy  photo Mrs Kirsty MacHardy
Mr James Mackay  photo Mr James Mackay
Mr Ian Short  photo Mr Ian Short
Mrs Jacqueline Zalapa  photo Mrs Jacqueline Zalapa
Number of UK partners : 11
Number of other UK fee-earners : 21