Firm Profile > GT Stewart Limited > London , England

GT Stewart Limited
FLEET HOUSE,
8-12 NEW BRIDGE STREET,
LONDON
EC4V 6AL
England

Crime: general Tier 3

GT Stewart Limited is well-known for representing vulnerable clients, with its 'passion for justice shining through in its work on appeals and youth justice'. Publicly funded work forms the backbone of the practice, and the team's workload includes cases of drugs offences, murder, robbery and sexual offences. Practice head Greg Stewart is 'creative and dynamic'.

Testimonials

Greg Stewart looks after his clients with extraordinary care and commitment, and has an extraordinary legal brain; a man to have on your side‘.

Social housing: tenant Tier 4

GT Stewart Limited, whose practice is led by Claire Wiles, covers a full range of social housing issues for clients, including unlawful evictions, possession cases, homelessness matters and judicial reviews. Dirghayu Patel, who holds Higher Court advocacy rights, is experienced in undertaking advocacy at the County Court. His housing law expertise is complemented by his knowledge of public law, human rights and community care. Denise Phillips and Susan Gronbach are other notable individuals in the team, whose clients include individuals with medical, social and/or mental health issues.

Family Tier 6

GT Stewart Limited handles many urgent cases to help families where the local authority has issued proceedings against parents. It also represents parents and children who have suffered abuse and deals with relationship breakdown such as divorce, contact with children and financial issues. Geoffrey Castello heads the department and specialises in care proceedings, private children law and domestic abuse cases.

GT Stewart Solicitors & Advocates is a leading multi-service UK firm specialising in criminal defence, family and civil rights law. It has a national presence across 10 offices – Ashford, Birmingham, City of London, Croydon, Dartford, East Dulwich, Hammersmith, Leeds Manchester and Peterborough. It provides 24 hour emergency advice to anyone who has been arrested.

GT Stewart has earned a reputation in the courts for fighting tenaciously and fairly for all clients. We keep to our strapline ‘every client matters’. The recent addition of the Crime and Family teams at FMW Law in Hammersmith has enhanced that reputation.

GT Stewart is on the approved and recommended list of solicitors for the National Autistic Society (NAS) and we have contributed to the Rook Working Group for Advocacy Training which produced the Advocacy and Vulnerable Training Programme. The founder and driving force behind the success of the firm, Greg Stewart, has been involved in many high profile and sensitive cases in the Crown Courts and Court of Appeal. He is the co-author of the Criminal Appeals Handbook (Bloomsbury Professional 2nd edition). He regularly contributes to consultations and discussions of criminal justice and recently appeared on Unreliable Evidence on Radio 4 discussing anti-social behaviour. In May 2019 he and the head of our Youth Court team, Mel Stooks, were jointly awarded the Youth Champions Outstanding Achievement Award at the annual Youth Summit at Kings College London. The firm has a first class in-house advocacy team, consisting of in-house barristers and solicitor advocates. They can be found on the firm’s website www.gtstewart.co.uk

TYPES OF WORK UNDERTAKEN:

Criminal defence: GT Stewart Solicitors & Advocates provide a wide range of legal services to both individuals and businesses on a private or legal aid basis. The criminal defence team represent clients who are arrested and/or charged with a variety of serious criminal offences from the police station through to the Court of Appeal. The team comprises barristers and solicitor advocates. The team defend actions by the prosecuting agencies such as the Crown Prosecution Services (CPS), SFO, FCA, HMRC, HSE and the Office of Fair Trading. The firm is a member of the LAA Very High Cost Cases panel. The firm represents professionals facing prosecution and/or regulatory complaints. The firm has successfully challenged many decisions to prosecute by the CPS. They regularly challenge refusals of the police to vary or discharge ancillary criminal orders and DBS certificates. They have experience opposing and appealing Criminal Behaviour Orders and Gang Injunction applications.

Motoring Offences: GT Stewart Solicitors & Advocates has skilled and experienced solicitors able to defend clients facing allegations such as causing death by dangerous or careless driving, driving whilst unfit or under the influence of drugs, driving without a licence or speeding.

Education & Social Welfare: GT Stewart Solicitors & Advocates has been awarded a contract by the Legal Aid Agency to offer advice and assistance in education law in London and North of England. The team provide the full range of services including appealing admission and exclusion decisions, enforcing provisions for Special Educational Needs and Disability (SEND) pupils, Education Health and Care Plans and judicially reviewing local authorities’ education related decisions. The specialist members of the team have experience representing children with a spectrum of disabilities and special needs bringing judicial review proceedings on behalf of advocates, campaign organisations and charities.

Prison Law: GT Stewart Solicitors has a team of solicitors specialising in all areas of prison law. They hold a LAA contract to accept publicly funded prison law work. They can represent clients at adjudications, Parole Board Hearings and advise across the full range of prison law related matters includes IPPs, life sentence reviews and where necessary challenging decisions on behalf of clients by way of judicial review. If public funded is not available they can provide competitively priced private cost estimates.

Family: GT Stewart Solicitors has a large team of solicitors specialising in all areas of family law including divorce, Children Act issues, abduction, domestic abuse, care proceedings and private children’s law. Several of the team are members of Resolution and the Children’s Panel. They can provide affordable competitive private quotes for those who do not qualify for legal aid.

Civil liberties, Human Rights and Actions Against the State: the team has exceptional experience pursuing remedies for clients or their families when they have suffered wrongs at the hands of the State or their agents including the police, prison officers, local authorities and public bodies who need access to justice. These include article 2 and 8 HRA cases involving suspicious deaths in custody.

Information provided by GT Stewart Solicitors & Advocates

Department Name Email Telephone
Criminal Defence Greg Stewart g.stewart@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Criminal Defence Melanie Krudy m.krudy@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Criminal Defence Julie Ann Boyle j.boyle@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Criminal Defence James Foong j.foong@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Criminal Defence Philip Mahoney p.mahoney@gtstewart.co.uk 0113 222 4888
Criminal Defence Paul Mathew p.mathew@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Criminal Defence Ronnie Manek r.manek@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Criminal Defence Aideen McMahon a.mcmahon@gtewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Criminal Defence Sarah Memmi s.memmi@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Criminal Defence Lynn Roberts l.roberts@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Criminal Defence Sophie Smith s.smith@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Criminal Defence Mel Stooks m.stooks@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Criminal Defence Will Russell w.russell@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Criminal Defence Patricia Walker p.walker@gtstewart.co.uk 0113 222 4888
Prison Law Len Hodkin l.hodkin@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Prison Law Dr Laura Janes l.janes@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Prison Law Rikki Garg r.garg@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Prison Law Lisa Lovell l.lovell@gtstewart.co.uk 0113 222 4888
Family Law Geoffrey Costello g.costello@gtstewart.co.uk 020 299 6000
Family Law Nancy Freeman n.freeman@gtstewart.co.uk 020 299 6000
Family Law Sherene Pascall-Wallis s.wallis@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Family Law Naomi Smith n.smith@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Family Law Rachel Wood r.wood@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Family Law William Bache w.bache@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Housing Law David Araya d.araya@gtstewart.co.uk 0113 222 4888
Housing Law Dirghayu Patel d.patel@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Housing Law Denise Phillips d.phillips@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Housing Law Susan Gronbach s.gronbach@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Housing Law Claire Wiles c.wiles@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Civil Liberties Eva Roszykiewicz e.roszykiewicz@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Civil Liberties Bhaskar Banerjee b.banerjee@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Community Care Rebecca Hill r.hill@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Education Law Linda Ewen l.ewen@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Community Care Tracey Ling t.ling@gtstewart.co.uk 0113 222 4888
Community Care Warwick Norris w.norris@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Actions Against the State Michael Lennon m.lennon@gtstewart.co.uk 0113 222 4888
Actions Against the State Eva Roszykiewicz e.roszykiewicz@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Actions Against the State Bhaskar Banerjee b.banerjee@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Education Law Rebecca Hill r.hill@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Education Law Tracey Ling r.ling@gtstewart.co.uk 0113 222 4888
Motoring Law Greg Stewart g.stewart@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Motoring Law Julie Ann Boyle j.boyle@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Motoring Law Philip Mahoney p.mahoney@gtstewart.co.uk 0113 222 4888
Motoring Law Lynn Roberts l.roberts@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Motoring Law Sophie Smith s.smith@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Motoring Law Will Russell w.russell@gtstewart.co.uk 0208 299 6000
Photo Name Position Profile
 Geoffrey Castello photo Geoffrey Castello
Miss Rebecca Hill  photo Miss Rebecca Hill
 Melanie Krudy  photo Melanie Krudy
 Paul Mathew  photo Paul Mathew
 Warwick Norris  photo Warwick Norris
 Denise Phillips photo Denise Phillips
 Eve Roszykiewicz  photo Eve Roszykiewicz
 Will Russell  photo Will Russell
 Mel Stooks  photo Mel Stooks
 Claire Wiles photo Claire Wiles
Directors : 2
Fee Earners : 175
UK Offices : 10