Firm Profile > Wilsons > London, England

Wilsons
4 LINCOLN'S INN FIELDS
LONDON
WC2A 3AA
England

Wilsons is ranked as one of the top private client law firms in the country.  Its 300 year heritage, combined with lawyers who are recognised leaders in their fields, enables Wilsons to provide a unique combination of skills and experience to their client base, which includes international and UK based ultra-high net worth individuals and their families as well as the trustees of their wealth and business owning structures, significant landed and historic estates, charities and entrepreneurs.

Wilsons has built its national reputation on the strength of its private client practice, a strategy which it has pursued consistently for over 30 years.

The firm prides itself on the quality of its bespoke service delivery.  Its lawyers are dedicated to ensuring a detailed understanding of the clients’ interest and a seamless working relationship across the different specialities of the practice.

Private Client: The firm has notable experience in representing clients with business interests, landed and inherited wealth, foreign domiciliaries, UK and offshore trustees and individuals with international interests. It has developed a high profile client base, providing services including wills, tax and estate planning, UK and offshore trust formation and probate and estate administration. The firm regularly deals with probates and intestacies valued at up to £50m and sometimes more. Wilsons’ Disputes Team works closely with the Private Client Team to advise clients on a wide range of matters, particularly contentious trust, probate and property disputes. The Family Team’s legal expertise ranges from pre-nuptial agreements and civil partnerships to divorce and children’s arrangements. Wilsons works closely with numerous tax and trust service companies in the UK and internationally to ensure they provide the best and most efficient service to their clients.

Property: Many of Wilsons’ clients have substantial commercial, agricultural and residential property interests and the firm advises on purchasing, letting and sales, and has a reputation for gaining excellent results for landowners in the options over and sales of development land. Wilsons’ clients include religious, charitable and renowned educational organisations, overseas clients and landowners.

Disputes: Wilsons have one of the largest teams outside London. The firm advises clients on a wide range of contentious matters to provide an efficient and effective means of dispute resolution. In addition to its expertise in agricultural and probate disputes, the firm has specialists who can advise on all aspects of commercial dispute claims.

Commercial: The team has specialist lawyers in employment, commercial property, insolvency and corporate work. The team specialises in helping businesses by providing cost-effective and valuable advice on banking and insolvency, buying and selling while also advising on investment and private equity work. The corporate work focuses on the three main areas of private equity: commercial tax and asset planning, transactions and refinancing. Wilsons’ private equity clients are mainly wealthy individuals and groups investing in businesses, start-up companies and those requiring capital injections. The team deals with an unusual breadth of work much of which comes from referrals from private clients’ business interests and charity clients requiring high-quality, bespoke commercial advice.

Agriculture: During the last 20 years, Wilsons’ Rural Team has developed a practice centered on the legal needs of rural business and landowners. These include complex sales and purchases, development options for landowners, grants and diversification advice, property litigation including landlord and tenant legislation, partnership matters, boundaries and rights of way disputes.

Charity: Wilsons has one of the most highly ranked teams in the UK. Unlike many of its competitors, the firm advises on the complete range of a charity’s legal needs and has a particular specialism in contentious and non-contentious legacy work, acting for charities. The constitutional and governance team has considerable expertise in advising military charities and the charitable care sector.

Department Name Email Telephone
Managing Partner Mike Parker mike.parker@wilsonsllp.com 01722 427 742
Senior Partner; Probate & Estate Administration Frances Mayne frances.mayne@wilsonsllp.com 01722 427 714
Tax & Trusts Adam Herbert adam.herbert@wilsonsllp.com 01722 427 543
Tax & Trusts; Landed & Historic Estates Belinda Watson belinda.watson@wilsonsllp.com 01722 427 661
Wills & Trusts Disputes James Aspden james.aspden@wilsonsllp.com 01722 427 677
Personal Disputes; Commercial Disputes Ben Thornton ben.thornton@wilsonsllp.com 01722 427 732
Family Jacqueline Fitzgerald jacqueline.fitzgerald@wilsonsllp.com 020 7998 0421
Property Tim Clayden tim.clayden@wilsonsllp.com 01722 427 713
Employment Anthony Edwards anthony.edwards@wilsonsllp.com 01722 427 714
Corporate & Commercial James Johnson james.johnson@wilsonsllp.com 01722 427 658
Company Commercial Jane Lonergan jane.lonergan@wilsonsllp.com 01722 427 733
Charities Gillian Fletcher gillian.fletcher@wilsonsllp.com 020 7998 0422
Landowner Development & Planning Alison Bailey alison.bailey@wilsonsllp.com 01722 427 560
Farms & Estates Disputes Peter Bourke peter.bourke@wilsonsllp.com 01722 427 715
Partnerships & Farming Structures Jonathan Stephens jonathan.stephens@wilsonsllp.com 01722 427 744
Landowner Development & Planning Robert Swift robert.swift@wilsonsllp.com 01722 427 601
Education; Employment Stephen Oxley stephen.oxley@wilsonsllp.com 01722 427 743
Photo Name Position Profile
 Paul Barnes  photo Paul Barnes
 Fiona Campbell-White  photo Fiona Campbell-White
 Jacqueline Fitzgerald  photo Jacqueline Fitzgerald
 Gillian Fletcher  photo Gillian Fletcher
 Jenny Lau  photo Jenny Lau
Total staff : 166
Partners : 28
Fee-earners : 69