Firm Profile > Blackadders LLP > Dundee ,

Blackadders LLP
30 & 34 REFORM STREET
DUNDEE
DD1 1RJ

Blackadders can trace its roots back to 1773, and is the result of several amalgamations and acquisitions.

The firm: Blackadders employs over 220 staff. The firm’s legal expertise, professional support staff and technical resources combine to create a first-class legal service capability for both business and individual clients.

Blackadders’ private client practice advises on wills, executries, trusts and tax planning services. Blackadders is not only a leading private client law firm in Scotland but a leading Independent Financial Adviser and Advisory Investment Manager.

Blackadders has transformed the executry/probate function within its private client department by implementing a FloSuite IT solution which automates and manages its day-to-day operations. Since going live with the FloSuite executry solution, the firm’s own ROI study has recorded a range of clear business benefits, including efficiency gains of around 50% in the processing of executries.

The firm’s business lawyers are known for their straight talking and for the delivery of agreed outcomes. They have the attitude and experience to help clients achieve their business objectives by providing responsive, clear and strategic commercial advice. The underlying aim in handling all business work is to safeguard the clients’ financial future. This is achieved by spending time learning about each client and understanding how they wish to take their business forward.

Types of work undertaken: The firm’s emphasis is on maintaining long-term, mutually beneficial relationships with clients and this has resulted in a substantial portfolio of private individuals, SMEs and large corporate clients. The firm focuses on the following principal areas of work:

Business: the firm’s specialist team is expert in all areas of commercial and corporate work, especially corporate finance, corporate financial planning, dispute resolution, licensing, and intellectual property and technology.

Employment: the award-winning employment team is highly rated and is recognised for its expertise. The team offers the full range of services spanning the entire employer/employee relationship, from recruitment through to retirement.

Private client: the team of experienced private client lawyers and client care specialists advises on a full range of issues such as wills, trusts, executries, powers of attorney and inheritance tax planning. The team works to ensure each client’s financial wellbeing is maximised, using specific wealth planning strategies tailored to fit individuals, family trusts or other private groups’ needs.

Family/matrimonial: the family law team’s knowledge and experience combine to ensure that clients feel supported during a potentially difficult time in their lives. The team focuses on child law, separation and divorce, and collaborative mediation.

Property: the property services division includes residential, rural, commercial, property, conveyancing and estate agency.

Wealth management: the firm’s independent wealth management team has years of experience advising private individuals and corporate clients, offering tailored financial advice ranging from insurance, investments and taxation issues to retirement and inheritance tax planning.

Other offices: Aberdeen, Edinburgh, Glasgow, Perth, Arbroath and Forfar

Department Name Email Telephone
Managing partner Johnston Clark johnston.clark@blackadders.co.uk 01382 229222
Chairman Scott Williamson scott.williamson@blackadders.co.uk 01382 229222
Conveyancing Karen Fulton karen.fulton@blackadders.co.uk 01382 229222
Estate agency Lindsay Darroch lindsay.darroch@blackadders.co.uk 01382 229222
Private client Johnston Clark johnston.clark@blackadders.co.uk 01382 229222
Family law Craig Samson craig.samson@blackadders.co.uk 01382 229222
Commercial property Emma Gray emma.gray@blackadders.co.uk 01382 229222
Commercial Campbell Clark campbell.clark@blackadders.co.uk 01382 229222
Corporate Campbell Clark campbell.clark@blackadders.co.uk 01382 229222
Employment Simon Allison simon.allison@blackadders.co.uk 01382 229222
Litigation Ryan McKay ryan.mckay@blackadders.co.uk 01224 588913
Agriculture Petra Grunenberg petra.grunenberg@blackadders.co.uk 01382 229222
Photo Name Position Profile
 Simon Allison  photo Simon Allison
 Campbell Clark  photo Campbell Clark
Number of UK partners : 25
Number of other UK fee-earners : 80