Firm Profile > Lee & Thompson LLP > London, England

Lee & Thompson LLP
4 GEE'S COURT
ST CHRISTOPHER'S PLACE
LONDON
W1U 1JD
England

Media and entertainment (including media finance) Tier 1

Lee & Thompson LLP's 'professional, efficient and reliable' team is 'highly regarded' for media and entertainment work. The firm handles a raft of work across the media, technology and creative industries. The advertising and marketing team advises brand owners, agencies, producers, media platforms, influencers, ad networks and tech disruptors on contentious and non-contentious work involving IP, copy clearance, ASA regulatory investigations, production, sponsorship, endorsement, merchandising, brand protection, commercial contracts, data protection, employment and corporate matters. Dominic Bray heads the advertising and marketing team and led advice for The Engine Group on several high-profile mandates. The digital and technology team handles gaming, social media and interactive content work, and is also experienced in games finance. The film and TV group, which features newly promoted partner Antony Swiatek and managing partner Reno Antoniades, is instructed by content creators, producers, sales agents, distributors and financiers; Sam Tatton-Brown handles film and TV finance mandates. The music department, which is led by Lawrence Engel  and also features consultant Dominic Free, recently promoted partner  Lizzie Payne-James, legal director Tim Fowler, and senior associate Simon Goodbody, acts for talent, industry organisations, music publishers, record labels and collection societies, and it handles contentious and non-contentious work in the sector.

Testimonials

The team is pro-active, knowledgeable and the team members make themselves available when needed.

The firm’s film and TV team has great strength-in-depth.

The team is very experienced and is able to provide valuable insights and opinions on important matters; it provides an exceptional service.

 

Key clients

McDonalds

Engine Group (WCRS, Synergy, PAA etc)

WWE

National Geographic

Cision

Beachbody

Social Chain

Avant Garde

Freud Communications

Jagex

Team 17

Pixel Toys

Riot Games

Curve Digital

Hutch Games

Dovetail Games

Rovio Entertainment

Monterosa Productions

Warp Digital

Cornerstone Films

Red Production Company

Head Gear Films

Rocket Science

Sampsonic

Eon Productions

StudioCanal

Lionsgate UK

Coutts

Ingenious

Harry Styles

Queen

Depeche Mode

Little Mix

Jess Glynne

“The Voice” Contestants (ITV)

Tinie Tempah

Craig David

Dave

One Direction

BMG Chrysalis

Drake

Universal Music

BPI

Sony/ATV

Gloucester Place Music

Stormzy

Universal Music International

Steve Jones and Paul Cook (Sex Pistols)

Reputation management Tier 2

Lee & Thompson LLP  has a 'superb depth of industry knowledge' and acts for both defendants and claimants with a focus on representing celebrity clients against the media. The department led by Mike Brookes works closely with the firm's other departments to provide the entire creative industry with tailored legal advice. Brookes, who 'remains at the top of his game', played a key role in extensive phone hacking litigation against Newsgroup and the Mirror and receives regular instructions from high-profile individuals across a range of sectors. 'Star associate' Leo Dawkins has considerable experience across all areas of reputation management cases including defamation, privacy, harassment and data protection issues. Mark Stafford increasingly provides support to the reputation practice, representing clients from the music industry in disputes as well as giving pre-broadcast copyright clearance advice.

Testimonials

A superb depth of industry knowledge in addition to great legal skills.

The team bring a wealth of experience and no issue we have brought to them to advise on has been beyond their capability.

Experienced in acting for both claimants, for instance in phone-hacking litigation, and media defendants. A superb and well experienced team.

Leo Dawkins is hard-working and tenacious, knowledgeable and articulate. He is a star associate.’

Key clients

Prince Moulay Hicham of Morocco

Channel 5

Jude Law

Paul Hollywood

Liam Payne

Louis Tomlinson

AC Grayling CBE

James Stunt

Anna Friel

Brand management Tier 3

Lee & Thompson LLP's full-service capabilities in trade mark portfolio management enable it to act for well-known brands and celebrity figures in the media, technology and creative industries, such as David and Victoria Beckham, McDonald's and National Geographic. The firm is known for its experience in managing IP rights and advising on endorsement and sponsorship arrangements for clients in the retail, performing arts and music, television production and gaming industries. Key figures include Dominic Bray, Gordon Williams, Huw Morris, Mark Stafford and Julian Ward.

Key clients

McDonald’s

Social Chain

David and Victoria Beckham

WWE

National Geographic

Art and cultural property Tier 4

Lee & Thompson LLP acts for various wealthy clients including art agents and dealers, well-known artists and collectors as well as senior gallery and auction house directors. Other clients include retail entrepreneurs, a range of corporates as well as art technology businesses, art fairs and creative events companies. Head of team Sarah Barker has significant experience in the arts, photography and visual arts sector. The team frequently advises on diverse matters that are relevant to this sector including intellectual property, digital and various regulatory matters.

Testimonials

Sarah Barker has an extremely determined but warm personality – this makes her a real stand out‘.

Sarah Barker is brilliant. Always available, super professional, creative, flexible and dedicated. She can be tough when required yet she is always fair‘.

‘I have worked with Sarah Barker for many years, I am always reliant on her in-depth knowledge of the art market and its nuances’.

Sarah Barker is intelligent, sharp and extremely effective all-round‘.

Sarah Barker is smart and diligent. She goes the extra mile’.

‘Martyn Bailey, who handles disputes, is also a fantastic asset for the firm; he is a highly capable and intelligent partner‘.

Martyn Bailey is a brilliant and hugely experienced operator‘.

A very knowledgeable and intelligent team’.

 

Key clients

Artangel

Draw Art Fair

Cultureshoc

Various high-profile art galleries including Karsten Schubert, Hetzler Gallery and Timothy Taylor

Artlogic

Lee & Thompson is one of the UK’s leading law firms for the media, technology and creative industries.

The firm: Lee & Thompson provides clients with the legal services they need to succeed in their creative and commercial ambitions. The firm counts multinational media organisations, brand and rights owners, production companies, record labels and entrepreneurs as clients as well as acting for many of the world’s most successful creative talent throughout their careers.

Since its inception in 1983, the firm has been at the top of its game and it has achieved this by prioritising two things: building a firm that understands the interdependence of the creative industries and by being relentless when it comes to meeting the needs of all its clients, whether these are professional or personal, creative or commercial.

It’s not just the high quality or breadth of the firm’s legal advice that sets it apart. It is the lawyers’ ability to merge this expertise with both a rigorous understanding of the industries in which the firm’s clients operate.

Types of work undertaken: All aspects of commercial, corporate and IP law  together with a strong and complementary litigation and employment offering.  We work across the media, entertainment and creative industries with particular strength and experience in advertising & marketing; art; digital & interactive entertainment; fashion; film & tv; live events; music; publishing; sport; theatre; video games.

 

Department Name Email Telephone
Partner, Film & TV and Managing Partner Reno Antoniades renoantoniades@leeandthompson.com 020 3073 7600
Head of Employment David Andrews davidandrews@leeandthompson.com 020 3073 7600
Consultant & Co-Founder Andrew Thompson andrewthompson@leeandthompson.com 020 3073 7600
Consultant & Co-Founder Robert Lee robertlee@leeandthompson.com 020 3073 7600
Partner, Dispute Resolution and Head of Brand Protection Gordon Williams gordonwilliams@leeandthompson.com 020 3073 7600
Head of Corporate Malcolm Murray malcolmmurray@leeandthompson.com 020 3073 7600
Partner and Head of Film Christos Michaels christosmichaels@leeandthompson.com 020 3073 7600
Head of Dispute Resolution and Partner, Advertising & Marketing Dominic Bray dominicbray@leeandthompson.com 020 3073 7600
Partner, Film & TV and Head of Media finance Sam Tatton-Brown samtatton-brown@leeandthompson.com 020 3073 7600
Partner and Head of Music Lawrence Engel lawrenceengel@leeandthompson.com 020 3073 7600
Partner, Dispute Resolution and Head of Reputation protection Mike Brookes mikebrookes@leeandthompson.com 020 3073 7600
Partner, Corporate Oliver Shipton olivershipton@leeandthompson.com 020 3073 7600
Partner and Head of Television Richard Lever richardlever@leeandthompson.com 020 3073 7600
Partner, Music Will Everitt willeveritt@leeandthompson.com 020 3073 7600
Partner and Head of Art & Fashion Sarah Barker sarahbarker@leeandthompson.com 020 3073 7600
Partner, Advertising & Marketing Huw Morris huwmorris@leeandthompson.com 020 3073 7600
Partner and Head of Digital & Technology Julian Ward julianward@leeandthompson.com 020 3073 7600
Partner, Film & Television Lee Stone leestone@leeandthompson.com 020 3073 7600
Consultant, Film & Television Jeremy Gawade jeremygawade@leeandthompson.com 020 3073 7600
Partner, Music Kieran Jay kieranjay@leeandthompson.com 020 3073 7600
Partner, Dispute Resolution Mark Stafford markstafford@leeandthompson.com 020 3073 7600
Partner, Film & Television Nicki Parfitt nickiparfitt@leeandthompson.com 020 3073 7600
Partner, Dispute Resolution Martyn Bailey martynbailey@leeandthompson.com 020 3073 7600
Partner, Film & TV Anwen Griffiths anwengriffiths@leeandthompson.com 020 3073 7600
Partner, Film & TV Antony Swiatek antonyswiatek@leeandthompson.com 020 3073 7600
Partner, Music Lizzie Payne-James lizziepayne-james@leeandthompson.com 020 3073 7600
Head of Marketing & Business Development Jo Rosenblatt jorosenblatt@leeandthompson.com 020 3073 7600
CFOO Simon Boyden simonboyden@leeandthompson.com 020 3073 7600
Photo Name Position Profile
 David Andrews  photo David Andrews
Mr Reno Antoniades photo Mr Reno Antoniades
 Martyn Bailey  photo Martyn Bailey
 Sarah Barker  photo Sarah Barker
 Dominic Bray  photo Dominic Bray
 Mike Brookes  photo Mike Brookes
 Lawrence Engel  photo Lawrence Engel
 Will Everitt  photo Will Everitt
 Jeremy Gawade  photo Jeremy Gawade
 Kieran Jay  photo Kieran Jay
 Robert Lee  photo Robert Lee
 Richard Lever  photo Richard Lever
 Christos Michaels  photo Christos Michaels
Mr Huw Morris  photo Mr Huw Morris
 Malcolm Murray  photo Malcolm Murray
 Nicki Parfitt  photo Nicki Parfitt
 Oliver Shipton  photo Oliver Shipton
 Mark Stafford  photo Mark Stafford
 Lee Stone  photo Lee Stone
 Sam Tatton-Brown  photo Sam Tatton-Brown
 Andrew Thompson  photo Andrew Thompson
Mr Julian Ward  photo Mr Julian Ward
Mr Gordon Williams  photo Mr Gordon Williams
Number of UK partners : 23
Number of UK fee-earners (non-Partner) : 37

Lee & Thompson is a truly special place to work and at the very heart of the business are some exceptional people. There is a unique culture that fosters real passion for delivering good results for clients, expression of personality, respect and genuine support for all who work at and with the firm.

We want to ensure that our people are able to become the very best that they can be and we offer the support and encouragement required to fulfil these ambitions. Above all, we want everyone to take pleasure and pride in all that they do. A significant part of our culture is fostering a sense of belonging and inclusion and we work hard to ensure that our people, and all those who we work with, are able to bring their whole selves to the office.

Our Inclusion Network celebrates diversity and belonging at our firm and beyond. We are committed to ensuring that we are inclusive of and accessible to anyone and everyone who wants to work at or with the firm. The Network’s activity is varied and multi-faceted – from raising awareness of inequality and supporting various creative industry led D&! organisations to regularly reviewing and improving the firm’s own recruitment and wellbeing programmes.

In 2019 we launched our inaugural Vacation Scheme, opening the doors to students from diverse backgrounds and giving them first hand experience of working in a specialist media firm. We are hopeful that the firm will be able to offer positions to Vac Scheme alumni when the time is right.