Firm Profile > Al Tamimi & Company > Cairo, Egypt

Al Tamimi & Company
STAR CAPITAL TOWER, BUILDING NO. 5 & 7, 9TH AND 10TH FLOORS
GEZIRET EL ARAB STREET, MOHANDSEEN, GIZA
12654, AGOUZA, CAIRO
Egypt

Banking and finance Tier 1

Al Tamimi & Company climbs the ranking this year having worked extensively for the Egyptian government, including large bond issues, and international financial institutions. EBRD, China Development Bank and Standard Chartered are among its clients. Hossam Gramon's team provides ‘highly responsive, practical and commercial advice’ on capital markets, Islamic finance and syndicated lending.

Practice head(s):

Hossam Gramon

Key clients

Telecom Egypt

The Ministry of Finance

The European Bank for Construction and Development EBRD

Egypt Kuwait Holding

Goldman Sachs  International

Alex Bank

ElSewedy Education Company

China Development Bank

Standard Chartered

Emirates NBD

Commercial, corporate and M&A Tier 1

Al Tamimi & Company has 'a great team, led by one of the best M&A lawyers in Egypt', according to one client. Mohamed Gabr leads the practice, which recently handled major M&A and IPO transactions in the transport, education, healthcare and pharmaceutical sectors, and is also advising on a growing amount of equity capital markets work. Clients include major international investors, including those in the GCC region. Associate Ingy Darwish is another name to note.

Practice head(s):

Mohamed Gabr

Testimonials

The firm shows conscientious attention to detail, and it is attentive and responsive.

‘Great team, led by one of the best M&A lawyers in Egypt.

Mohamed Gabr and Ingy Darwish take client service to a whole new level, providing tremendous support across all phases of a transaction. The team’s restructuring knowledge and its finesse in negotiations places them on the top of our list when it comes to M&As in Egypt.

Mohamed Gabr’s commitment to the client and the transaction is impressive. He and Ingy Darwish are commercially savvy, which allows them to propose alternative solutions to resolve conflicts.

Key clients

EFG Hermes

Egyptian American Enterprise Fund

Ezdehar Management

Cairo for Investment and Real Estate CIRA

El Tayseer Hospital

Equity Holding

Compass Capital

Chimera Investments Corporation

Saisaban

Employment Tier 1

Al Tamimi & Company has a dedicated employment team that advises multinationals, state-owned entities, local companies and other local, regional and international law firms. The practice, which is led by Ayman Nour, works closely with the firm's litigators to handle contentious matters alongside advice on labour policies, business reorganisation, dismissals, disciplinary matters and corporate due diligence processes.

Practice head(s):

Ayman Nour

Key clients

Johnson & Johnson

IBM

General Electric

Mondi Group

UCWEB

Westcon Group

Udacity

Dispute resolution: arbitration Tier 2

Al Tamimi & Company's arbitration team comprises specialist practitioners who handle proceedings in Arabic, English and French for international and local clients operating in a broad range of industries, notably telecoms, construction, infrastructure, public utilities, hospitality and maritime. Khaled Attia, who is a registered arbitrator in the Cairo Regional Center for International Commercial Arbitration, the Dubai International Arbitration Center and the London Court of International Arbitration, is the key partner.

Practice head(s):

Khaled Attia

Key clients

Dar Al-Handasah Consultants

Shair and Partners Holdings Ltd

Dispute resolution: litigation Tier 2

The litigation practice at Al Tamimi & Company 'prepares practical litigation strategy and explains it clearly to its clients'. Khaled Attia, who focuses principally on arbitration, leads the practice and he has extensive experience in competition disputes. The firm also has specialist litigation expertise in the areas of tax, consumer protection, labour, IP and maritime law.

Practice head(s):

Khaled Attia

Testimonials

Abdallah El Nokaly is specially helpful, always explaining things clearly and quickly. We feel that the firm is reliable and will always be there, ready to help.

They respond to emails quickly and make a good summary of the issues.

Intellectual property Tier 2

Al Tamimi & Company's team stands out for its 'good coverage and understanding of the MENA patent system and the ability to explain it from and to a European perspective'. The IP practice is led from the UAE, but its Cairo office has an experienced senior associate in Passant Abaza who joined from Eldib & Co, and associate Abdelrahman Helmi , who deals with patent infringement cases and trade mark disputes.

Testimonials

We value most the good coverage and understanding of the MENA patent system and the ability to explain it from and to a European perspective.

Their advice is on time, appropriate and expedient. They are seeking clarification if instructions are not clear to them and act as instructed.

They are very client-focused, well organised, reliable and responsive. We highly recommend them.

They are efficient, always responding quickly to our questions, whether they concern substantive or procedural patent matters. Their ability to handle patent applications in multiple jurisdictions in the Middle East is impressive.

The customer-oriented approach makes this team different. They are extremely driven by the customer needs and concerns and they propose tailored solutions to our needs.

They are competent and available to listen and advise.

Key clients

3M Inc.

Fiserv

Dafoss

Thomas Cook

Dassault Systems

MBC IP FZCO

Okhtein

Benfex

White Castle

TCL- China

TMT Tier 2

Al Tamimi & Company acts for local and international clients on matters related to technology procurement, licensing, project management and governance, business process and IT outsourcing, data protection, online and mobile technology, and electronic and mobile commerce. Ayman Nour leads the practice, which counts leading operator Telecom Egypt among its clients.

Practice head(s):

Ayman Nour

Key clients

Telecom Egypt

IBM

Projects and infrastructure Tier 3

Al Tamimi & Company's team is led by outstanding finance partner Hossam Gramon, whose work encompasses energy, infrastructure, healthcare, education and rail projects. The firm's work for international finance institutions, investment banks and local sponsors includes power, water and waste, oil and gas, and transport projects using traditional procurement and PPP finance.

Practice head(s):

Hossam Gramon

Key clients

The European Bank for Reconstruction and Development  EBRD

Goldman Sachs International

ElSewedy Education Company

Mangroovy Company for Real Estate and Tourism S.A.E.

ElSewedy Electric S.A.E

Nexant

The firm: Al Tamimi & Company is the largest law firm in the Middle East with 17 offices across nine countries. Established in 1989, we are a full service commercial firm combining knowledge, experience and expertise to ensure our clients have access to the best legal solutions that are commercially sound and cost effective.

Our clients are at the centre of everything that we do – their business is our business.
Our strength comes from our clients’ trust that we will provide them the quality of service that they deserve. Therefore, we make it our business to find creative and commercial legal solutions whilst focusing on making the law work for them. Over the years, we have acted for a wide variety of clients, including: government bodies; government or semi-government owned entities; local, regional and international companies; banks and financial institutions; along with both international and regional law firms.

We’re not like everyone else.
As a firm, we have the ability to practice local law in each of the nine jurisdictions where we have a presence. This means that each of our licensed litigators have rights of audience before local courts. We are proud of this unique strength, which truly sets us apart from the competition.

Doing Business in the Middle East?
So are we! Our regional footprint means that wherever our clients are doing business in the region, we are there to support them. Our expansion has been strategic and client driven. Our values define who we are and what is important to us. As a firm, we have grown based on a set of core values, which are integral to all that we do.

Areas of practice: As the Middle East’s largest law firm Al Tamimi & Company has vast experience acting for clients across many jurisdictions in the region. Through our full service offering we are able to provide legal advice with a one-stop-shop for all your legal requirements. We offer specialist legal advice in the following practice areas: arbitration; aviation; automotive; banking and finance; capital markets; commercial; construction and infrastructure; corporate services; education; employment and incentives; Expo 2020; family business and private wealth; financial crime; FMCG; healthcare; hotels and leisure; mergers and acquisitions; projects; rail; regulatory; shipping; sports and events management; transport and logistics.

Department Name Email Telephone
Chairman Essam Al Tamimi e.tamimi@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Senior Partner Husam Hourani h.hourani@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Managing Partner Samer Qudah s.qudah@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Deputy Managing Partner Mohamed Al Marzouqi m.almarzouqi@tamimi.com +971 2 813 0444
Deputy Managing Partner Jody Waugh j.waugh@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Arbitration Thomas Snider t.snider@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Arbitration Hassan Arab h.arab@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Aviation Yazan Saoudi y.saoudi@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Banking & Finance Husam Hourani h.hourani@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Banking & Finance Jody Waugh j.waugh@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Capital Markets Andrew Tarbuck a.tarbuck@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Commercial advisory Willem Steenkamp w.steenkamp@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Competition law Omar Obeidat o.obeidat@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Construction & Infrastructure Euan Lloyd e.lloyd@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Corporate governance Andrea Tithecott a.tithecott@tamimi.com +971 2 813 0444
Corporate structuring Samer Qudah s.qudah@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Corporate structuring Omer Khan o.khan@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Corporate Structuring Izabella Szadkowska i.szadkowska@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Debt capital markets Andrew Tarbuck a.tarbuck@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Debt capital markets Rafiq Jaffer r.jaffer@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Corporate Services Izabella Szadkowska i.szadkowska@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Education Ivor McGettigan i.mcgettigan@tamimi.com +971 2 813 0444
Education Ahmad Saleh ah.saleh@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Employment & Incentives Samir Kantaria s.kantaria@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Employment & Incentives Gordon Barr g.barr@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Family Business & Private Wealth Richard Catling r.catling@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Financial Crime Khalid Al Hamrani k.alhamrani@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Financial Crime Ibtissem Lassoued i.lassoued@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Financial services regulation and enforcement Jody Waugh j.waugh@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Financial services regulation and enforcement Rita Jaballah r.jaballah@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Healthcare Andrea Tithecott a.tithecott@tamimi.com +971 2 813 0444
Hotels & Leisure Tara Marlow t.marlow@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Insurance Yazan Saoudi y.saoudi@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
IP Omar Obeidat o.obeidat@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
IP Ahmad Saleh ah.saleh@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Legislative drafting Mohammed Al Marzouqi m.almarzouqi@tamimi.com +971 2 813 0444
Legislative drafting Hassan ElTahir h.eltahir@tamimi.com +971 2 813 0444
Litigation Hussein Eisa Al Shiri h.shiri@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Litigation Ahmed Allouz a.allouz@tamimi.com +974 4 364 1641
Litigation Hassan Arab h.arab@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Maritime and shipping Omar Omar o.omar@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Maritime and shipping Yazan Saoudi y.saoudi@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Mergers & Acquisitions Abdullah Mutawi a.mutawi@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Private client services Essam Al Tamimi e.tamimi@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Private equity Richard Catling r.catling@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Private equity Abdullah Mutawi a.mutawi@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Private Notary Taiba Al Safar t.alsafar@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Projects Mark Brown m.brown@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Real estate Tara Marlow t.marlow@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Real estate Mohammed Kawasmi m.kawasmi@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Rail Foutoun Hajjar f.hajjar@tamimi.com +973 1710 8933
Regulatory Andrea Tithecott a.tithecott@tamimi.com +971 2 813 0444
Sports & events management Steve Bainbridge s.bainbridge@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Tax law Shiraz Khan s.khan@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Technology, media and telecommunications Martin Hayward m.hayward@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Technology, media and telecommunications Fiona Robertson f.robertson@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Transport & Logistics Yazan Saoudi y.saoudi@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Transport & Logistics Omar Omar o.omar@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Automotive Samir Kantaria s.kantaria@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Aviation Yazan Saoudi y.saoudi@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Education Ivor McGettigan i.mcgettigan@tamimi.com +971 2 813 0444
Expo 2020 Steve Bainbridge s.bainbridge@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
FMCG Samer Qudah s.qudah@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Innovation, Technology & Entrepreneurship Ahmad Saleh ah.saleh@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
China Group Jody Waugh j.waugh@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
India Group Samir Kantaria s.kantaria@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Korea Group Omar Omar o.omar@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Photo Name Position Profile
Dr Khaled Attia photo Dr Khaled Attia Partner, Head of Dispute Resolution
Mr Mohamed Gabr  photo Mr Mohamed Gabr
Mr Ayman Nour  photo Mr Ayman Nour
Number of lawyers worldwide : 370
:
Association of International Petroleum Negotiators (AIPN)
Australian Business Group
ABA (American Bar Association)
British Business Group
Dubai International Financial Centre (DIFC) Courts
Chartered Institute of Arbitrators
Employment Lawyers Association
Energy Institute
International Federation of Industrial Property Attorneys (FICPI)
GCC Commercial Arbitration Centre
International Council for Commercial Arbitration

Diversity and Inclusion at Al Tamimi & Company


Al Tamimi & Company is committed to maintaining its high levels of diversity.  With over 50 different nationalities and cultural backgrounds amongst our people, we celebrate diversity.  This is one law firm where there is no stereotype, enabling our people to be who they are and value the differences in one another.


The Firm is committed to providing a supportive, inclusive and respectful work environment which recognises and values the diversity of all its employees, stakeholders and clients. We acknowledge that every employee, regardless of gender, age, ethnicity or cultural background, disability, religious belief, political affiliation, socioeconomic origin, or family responsibilities can make a valuable contribution to achieving the business outcomes. Moreover, we strongly believe outcomes are strengthened with a diverse team.


The Firm promotes an environment where equity and inclusion is encouraged and supported and where all forms of discrimination, harassment and bullying are eliminated. 


We will achieve this objective by: 

  • Raising awareness of and promoting workplace diversity within the Firm.
  • Integrating the principles of workplace diversity into business and human resource management policies, practices and systems.
  • Encouraging employees to identify and maximise use of their life skills and experiences in the workplace.
  • Encouraging managers to recognise and draw on the diversity of their employees.
  • Ensuring employees are not subjected to discrimination or unfair treatment in the workplace on grounds such as, ethnicity, race, gender, age, physical or mental disability or personal responsibilities.
  • Upholding and promote the Al Tamimi & Company Values, Employment Principles and Code of Conduct

Ensuring employees and those seeking employment with the Firm receive fair and equitable treatment in accessing employment opportunities, employees selection processes, career development and mobility arrangements