Firm Profile > Al Tamimi & Company > Cairo, Egypt

Al Tamimi & Company
STAR CAPITAL TOWER, BUILDING NO. 5 & 7, 9TH AND 10TH FLOORS
GEZIRET EL ARAB STREET, MOHANDSEEN, GIZA
12654, AGOUZA, CAIRO
Egypt

Egypt > Commercial, corporate and M&A Tier 1

Al Tamimi & Company remains a potent force in the market despite the changes in personnel. Practice head Mohamed Gabr left the firm to take an in-house role but the firm hired Ehab Taha, formerly of TMS Law Firm – Taha, Moussa & Sabahi, to lead the group. The firm's high-end M&A work combined with its skill in capital markets work and its highly respected commercial advice, make it a key adviser to both domestic and multinational companies. Senior associates Ahmed Adib and Zeinab Shohdy, and associate Ingy Darwish are heavily involved in the firm's major transactions.

Practice head(s):

Ehab Taha

Other key lawyers:

Ahmed Adib; Ingy Darwish; Zeinab Shohdy

Testimonials

‘The firm has a professional team covering legal and commercial aspects.’

‘Ahmed Adib is a real standout . He works around the clock, has great client focus and takes time to explain all matters related to work, keeping his clients interest in mind.’

Key clients

EFG Finance

Telecom Egypt

Masria Card

Sawari Ventures

Ezdehar Management

Cairo 3A

Al Tayseer International Hospital

Ekuity Holding

Compass Capital

Masar Financial Advisory

Lorax Capital

Arafa Holding

Infinity Energy

Family Corporation

Chimera Investments

Egypt > Employment Tier 1

Al Tamimi & Company is frequently involved in the employment law aspects of large M&A transactions involving multinational clients in the a diverse range of sectors including financial services, media and IT. It also handles employment litigation in local courts, as well as advising on employee incentive schemes. Recent work has increasingly focused on terminations, remote working, unpaid leave and the development of new HR policies. The regional practice is led from UAE but local managing partner Ayman Nour is a key practitioner in Egypt. Senior associate Nadine Khaled is also recommended.

Practice head(s):

Ayman Nour

Other key lawyers:

Hadia ElBeshry; Nadine Khaled

Testimonials

‘Al Tamimi in Egypt is led by Ayman Nour, a very dynamic managing partner. He was very engaged during our initial exploratory discussions and leads a very capable team, consisting notably of senior associates Hadia ElBeshry and Nadine Khaled, the latter being particularly well-versed in employment law and practice relating to Egypt.’

‘We have dealt with a few lawyers and law firms from Egypt who have been, frankly, disappointing. This firm, however, is miles ahead. Nadine Khaled is especially recommended for employment law requirements. She is very focused on delivering quality work usually ahead of the agreed time. Extremely professional and a pleasure to deal with.’

Key clients

General Electric

Khatib and Alami

Johnson & Johnson

Kanoo Group

Majid Al Futtaim (MAF)

Bridgestone

InterCement

IBM

Egypt > Banking and finance Tier 2

Al Tamimi & Company remains involved in groundbreaking finance and capital markets transactions despite changes to its partnership. Key partner Hossam Gramon joined new firm ADSERO-Ragy Soliman & Partners but Ehab Taha, who specialises in capital markets transactions, joined from TMS Law Firm – Taha, Moussa & Sabahi to lead the growing practice. Since the change, the firm has been involved in groundbreaking transactions, notably Egypt's first sovereign issuance of a green bond, the first by an Arab country.

Practice head(s):

Ehab Taha

Key clients

The Ministry of Finance

The European Bank for Construction and Development (EBRD)

Cairo 3A for Poultry

EFG Finance Holding

Acwa Power Global Services

First Abu Dhabi Bank Fab (UAE)

Cairo for Investment and Real Estate Development (CIRA)

Telecom Egypt

National Bank of Kuwait NBK

Egypt > Dispute resolution: arbitration Tier 2

The arbitration at Al Tamimi & Company is based around the stellar reputation of its partner, Khaled Attia, who is a registered arbitrator in the Cairo Regional Center for International Commercial Arbitration (CRCICA), the Dubai International Arbitration Center (DIAC) and the London Court of International Arbitration (LCIA). Focused on arbitration, competition and PPP matters, Attia frequently assists international companies with high-value matters in Egypt, as well as acting in many international fora.

Practice head(s):

Khaled Attia

Egypt > Dispute resolution: litigation Tier 2

The Cairo office of Al Tamimi & Company is a key part of a litigation group that spans the Middle East which has notable expertise in disputes in the telecoms, technology, energy and natural resources, automotive and industrial sectors. Khaled Attia focuses predominantly on arbitration but leads a nine-lawyer practice that handles domestic and international litigation, which recently included representing ACETO Industries in a dispute with a German contractor concerning the wrongful termination of two subcontracts. Senior associate Ahmed Ezzat is also recommended.

Practice head(s):

Khaled Attia

Other key lawyers:

Ahmed Ezzat

Key clients

Telecom Egypt

ExxonMobil

Bridgestone

IBM

Unilever

Ghalioungui Trading

National Automotive Company NATCO

Abu-Zaabal Fertilizer & Chemical

Trans Business for Trading & Distribution

Pharco Pharmaceutical

Mastercard

Aluminium Bahrain ALBA

TCI Sanmar

Egypt > Intellectual property Tier 2

Al Tamimi & Company has a large regional IP practice, in which the Cairo office plays a key role. The firm is frequently involved in high-profile matters in the Middle East, both contentious and commercial, on behalf of major global and regional brands. Its work encompasses trade mark prosecution, patents, domain names, IP audits, copyright enforcement and labelling compliance. The practice is led from the UAE, but experienced senior associate Abdelrahman Helmi  is based in Cairo. He has extensive experience in patent infringement cases and trade mark disputes.

Other key lawyers:

Abdelrahman Helmi

Key clients

Okhtein

PEO Partner

Danfoss

Egypt > TMT Tier 2

'The team is responsive, business-focused and provides clear and actionable advice', says a client of Al Tamimi & Company. The TMT practice is led from Dubai but the main contacts in Cairo, local managing partner Ayman Nour and senior associate Hadia ElBeshry, handle corporate transactions for technology and media companies, as well as advising on technology procurement, licensing, project management, data protection and other relevant issues. They count IBM among their clients.

Other key lawyers:

Ayman Nour; Hadia ElBeshry

Testimonials

‘The team is responsive, business-focused and provides clear and actionable advice. It is always a pleasure to deal with the firm.’

‘The firm operates across many locations in the Middle East and Africa, and has an integrated practice so that clients need not start anew when they have a project in a new country. This approach makes it both simple and engaging to work with the firm.’

Key clients

ExxonMobil

IBM

Red Bull GMBH

Egypt > Projects and infrastructure Tier 3

Al Tamimi & Company has built up its presence in major projects since the arrival of head of banking and finance Hossam Gramon three years ago, though he moved to ADSERO-Ragy Soliman & Partners in late 2020. Associate Omar Zaki is now the main contact. Focusing on project finance, the firm frequently advises on projects in sectors such as renewable energy and real estate, acting for government bodies, sponsors and project finance lenders.

Key clients

Telecom Egypt

The European Bank for Construction and Development (EBRD)

Goldman Sachs International

El Nasr for Coke & Chemicals

Standard Chartered Bank

Egypt Kuwait Holding

Cairo for Investment and Real Estate CIRA

Maridive Group

The firm: Al Tamimi & Company is the largest law firm in the Middle East with 17 offices across nine countries. Established in 1989, we are a full service commercial firm combining knowledge, experience and expertise to ensure our clients have access to the best legal solutions that are commercially sound and cost effective.

Our clients are at the centre of everything that we do – their business is our business.
Our strength comes from our clients’ trust that we will provide them the quality of service that they deserve. Therefore, we make it our business to find creative and commercial legal solutions whilst focusing on making the law work for them. Over the years, we have acted for a wide variety of clients, including: government bodies; government or semi-government owned entities; local, regional and international companies; banks and financial institutions; along with both international and regional law firms.

We’re not like everyone else.
As a firm, we have the ability to practice local law in each of the nine jurisdictions where we have a presence. This means that each of our licensed litigators have rights of audience before local courts. We are proud of this unique strength, which truly sets us apart from the competition.

Doing Business in the Middle East?
So are we! Our regional footprint means that wherever our clients are doing business in the region, we are there to support them. Our expansion has been strategic and client driven. Our values define who we are and what is important to us. As a firm, we have grown based on a set of core values, which are integral to all that we do.

Areas of practice: As the Middle East’s largest law firm Al Tamimi & Company has vast experience acting for clients across many jurisdictions in the region. Through our full service offering we are able to provide legal advice with a one-stop-shop for all your legal requirements. We offer specialist legal advice in the following practice areas: arbitration; aviation; automotive; banking and finance; capital markets; commercial; construction and infrastructure; corporate services; education; employment and incentives; Expo 2020; family business and private wealth; financial crime; FMCG; healthcare; hotels and leisure; mergers and acquisitions; projects; rail; regulatory; shipping; sports and events management; transport and logistics.

Department Name Email Telephone
Chairman Essam Al Tamimi e.tamimi@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Senior Partner Husam Hourani h.hourani@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Managing Partner Samer Qudah s.qudah@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Deputy Managing Partner Mohamed Al Marzouqi m.almarzouqi@tamimi.com +971 2 813 0444
Deputy Managing Partner Jody Waugh j.waugh@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Arbitration Thomas Snider t.snider@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Arbitration Hassan Arab h.arab@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Aviation Yazan Saoudi y.saoudi@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Banking & Finance Husam Hourani h.hourani@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Banking & Finance Jody Waugh j.waugh@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Capital Markets Andrew Tarbuck a.tarbuck@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Commercial advisory Willem Steenkamp w.steenkamp@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Competition law Omar Obeidat o.obeidat@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Construction & Infrastructure Euan Lloyd e.lloyd@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Corporate governance Andrea Tithecott a.tithecott@tamimi.com +971 2 813 0444
Corporate structuring Samer Qudah s.qudah@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Corporate structuring Omer Khan o.khan@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Corporate Structuring Izabella Szadkowska i.szadkowska@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Debt capital markets Andrew Tarbuck a.tarbuck@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Debt capital markets Rafiq Jaffer r.jaffer@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Corporate Services Izabella Szadkowska i.szadkowska@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Education Ivor McGettigan i.mcgettigan@tamimi.com +971 2 813 0444
Education Ahmad Saleh ah.saleh@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Employment & Incentives Samir Kantaria s.kantaria@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Employment & Incentives Gordon Barr g.barr@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Family Business & Private Wealth Richard Catling r.catling@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Financial Crime Khalid Al Hamrani k.alhamrani@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Financial Crime Ibtissem Lassoued i.lassoued@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Financial services regulation and enforcement Jody Waugh j.waugh@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Financial services regulation and enforcement Rita Jaballah r.jaballah@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Healthcare Andrea Tithecott a.tithecott@tamimi.com +971 2 813 0444
Hotels & Leisure Tara Marlow t.marlow@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Insurance Yazan Saoudi y.saoudi@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
IP Omar Obeidat o.obeidat@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
IP Ahmad Saleh ah.saleh@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Legislative drafting Mohammed Al Marzouqi m.almarzouqi@tamimi.com +971 2 813 0444
Legislative drafting Hassan ElTahir h.eltahir@tamimi.com +971 2 813 0444
Litigation Hussein Eisa Al Shiri h.shiri@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Litigation Ahmed Allouz a.allouz@tamimi.com +974 4 364 1641
Litigation Hassan Arab h.arab@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Maritime and shipping Omar Omar o.omar@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Maritime and shipping Yazan Saoudi y.saoudi@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Mergers & Acquisitions Abdullah Mutawi a.mutawi@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Private client services Essam Al Tamimi e.tamimi@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Private equity Richard Catling r.catling@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Private equity Abdullah Mutawi a.mutawi@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Private Notary Taiba Al Safar t.alsafar@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Projects Mark Brown m.brown@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Real estate Tara Marlow t.marlow@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Real estate Mohammed Kawasmi m.kawasmi@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Rail Foutoun Hajjar f.hajjar@tamimi.com +973 1710 8933
Regulatory Andrea Tithecott a.tithecott@tamimi.com +971 2 813 0444
Sports & events management Steve Bainbridge s.bainbridge@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Tax law Shiraz Khan s.khan@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Technology, media and telecommunications Martin Hayward m.hayward@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Technology, media and telecommunications Fiona Robertson f.robertson@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Transport & Logistics Yazan Saoudi y.saoudi@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Transport & Logistics Omar Omar o.omar@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Automotive Samir Kantaria s.kantaria@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Aviation Yazan Saoudi y.saoudi@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Education Ivor McGettigan i.mcgettigan@tamimi.com +971 2 813 0444
Expo 2020 Steve Bainbridge s.bainbridge@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
FMCG Samer Qudah s.qudah@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Innovation, Technology & Entrepreneurship Ahmad Saleh ah.saleh@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
China Group Jody Waugh j.waugh@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
India Group Samir Kantaria s.kantaria@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Korea Group Omar Omar o.omar@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Photo Name Position Profile
 Khaled Attia photo Khaled Attia Partner, Head of Dispute Resolution, Egypt
Mr Mohamed Gabr  photo Mr Mohamed Gabr Partner & Head of Corporate Commercial – Egypt
Mr Ayman Nour  photo Mr Ayman Nour Partner , Head of Office – Egypt
Number of lawyers worldwide : 370
:
Association of International Petroleum Negotiators (AIPN)
Australian Business Group
ABA (American Bar Association)
British Business Group
Dubai International Financial Centre (DIFC) Courts
Chartered Institute of Arbitrators
Employment Lawyers Association
Energy Institute
International Federation of Industrial Property Attorneys (FICPI)
GCC Commercial Arbitration Centre
International Council for Commercial Arbitration

Diversity and Inclusion at Al Tamimi & Company


Al Tamimi & Company is committed to maintaining its high levels of diversity.  With over 50 different nationalities and cultural backgrounds amongst our people, we celebrate diversity.  This is one law firm where there is no stereotype, enabling our people to be who they are and value the differences in one another.


The Firm is committed to providing a supportive, inclusive and respectful work environment which recognises and values the diversity of all its employees, stakeholders and clients. We acknowledge that every employee, regardless of gender, age, ethnicity or cultural background, disability, religious belief, political affiliation, socioeconomic origin, or family responsibilities can make a valuable contribution to achieving the business outcomes. Moreover, we strongly believe outcomes are strengthened with a diverse team.


The Firm promotes an environment where equity and inclusion is encouraged and supported and where all forms of discrimination, harassment and bullying are eliminated. 


We will achieve this objective by: 

  • Raising awareness of and promoting workplace diversity within the Firm.
  • Integrating the principles of workplace diversity into business and human resource management policies, practices and systems.
  • Encouraging employees to identify and maximise use of their life skills and experiences in the workplace.
  • Encouraging managers to recognise and draw on the diversity of their employees.
  • Ensuring employees are not subjected to discrimination or unfair treatment in the workplace on grounds such as, ethnicity, race, gender, age, physical or mental disability or personal responsibilities.
  • Upholding and promote the Al Tamimi & Company Values, Employment Principles and Code of Conduct

Ensuring employees and those seeking employment with the Firm receive fair and equitable treatment in accessing employment opportunities, employees selection processes, career development and mobility arrangements