Firm Profile > Al Tamimi & Company > Kuwait City , Kuwait

Al Tamimi & Company
AL DHOW TOWER, 16TH FLOOR
KHALED BIN AL WALEED ST, SHARQ, PO BOX 29551
SAFAT 13156
Kuwait

Commercial, corporate and M&A Tier 1

Al Tamimi & Company advises on joint ventures and distribution agreements, shareholder agreements, M&A and transactional due diligence. The practice is jointly headed by Philip Kotsis and Alex Saleh. Senior associate Aaron Dikos is also recommended.

Next Generation Partners

Privatisation and projects Tier 1

Al Tamimi & Company is jointly headed by Philip Kotsis and Alex Saleh, who have experience of infrastructure, power generation, water desalinisation and wastewater projects. Highlights included advising the Kuwait Authority for Partnership Projects on the commissioning, financing, design and construction of the Umm Al Hayman wastewater project.

Banking and finance Tier 2

Al Tamimi & Company is regularly instructed in Islamic and conventional finance transactions spanning trade, real estate and M&A financing. Headed by Omar Handoush, the department also has expertise in financial regulatory analyses and the structuring of investment funds. Also recommended is Alex Saleh, who has experience of Islamic and conventional syndicated loan transactions and also handles project finance.

Leading individuals

Dispute resolution Tier 2

Al Tamimi & Company handles disputes in the fields of transportation, banking, employment and IP. The Kuwait-based practice is jointly headed by Philip Kotsis and Alex Saleh, and includes Yaqoub Yousef Al-Munayee, who has experience advocating before the Court of Cassation and is regularly engaged in arbitration.

 

The firm

Al Tamimi & Company is the largest law firm in the Middle East with 17 offices across nine countries. Established in 1989, we are a full service commercial firm combining knowledge, experience and expertise to ensure our clients have access to the best legal solutions that are commercially sound and cost effective.

Our clients are at the centre of everything that we do – their business is our business.
Our strength comes from our clients’ trust that we will provide them the quality of service that they deserve. Therefore, we make it our business to find creative and commercial legal solutions whilst focusing on making the law work for them. Over the years, we have acted for a wide variety of clients, including: government bodies; government or semi-government owned entities; local, regional and international companies; banks and financial institutions; along with both international and regional law firms.

We’re not like everyone else.
As a firm, we have the ability to practice local law in each of the nine jurisdictions where we have a presence. This means that each of our licensed litigators have rights of audience before local courts. We are proud of this unique strength, which truly sets us apart from the competition.

Doing Business in the Middle East?
So are we! Our regional footprint means that wherever our clients are doing business in the region, we are there to support them. Our expansion has been strategic and client driven. Our values define who we are and what is important to us. As a firm, we have grown based on a set of core values, which are integral to all that we do.

Areas of practice

As the Middle East’s largest law firm Al Tamimi & Company has vast experience acting for clients across many jurisdictions in the region. Through our full service offering we are able to provide legal advice with a one-stop-shop for all your legal requirements. We offer specialist legal advice in the following practice areas: arbitration; aviation; automotive; banking and finance; capital markets; commercial; construction and infrastructure; corporate services; education; employment and incentives; Expo 2020; family business and private wealth; financial crime; FMCG; healthcare; hotels and leisure; mergers and acquisitions; projects; rail; regulatory; shipping; sports and events management; transport and logistics.

 

Department Name Email Telephone
Senior Partner Essam Al Tamimi e.tamimi@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Managing Partner Husam Hourani h.hourani@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Deputy Managing Partner Hassan Arab h.arab@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Arbitration Thomas Snider t.snider@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Arbitration Hassan Arab h.arab@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Aviation Yazan Saoudi y.saoudi@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Banking & Finance Husam Hourani h.hourani@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Banking & Finance Jody Waugh j.waugh@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Capital Markets Andrew Tarbuck a.tarbuck@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Capital Markets Mohamed Khodeir m.khodeir@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Commercial advisory Willem Steenkamp w.steenkamp@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Competition law Omar Obeidat o.obeidat@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Construction & Infrastructure Lyndon Richards l.richards@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Corporate governance Gary Watts g.watts@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Corporate governance Andrea Tithecott a.tithecott@tamimi.com +971 2 813 0444
Corporate structuring Samer Qudah s.qudah@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Corporate structuring Omer Khan o.khan@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Corporate Structuring Izabella Szadkowska i.szadkowska@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Debt capital markets Andrew Tarbuck a.tarbuck@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Debt capital markets Jody Waugh j.waugh@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Debt capital markets Rafiq Jaffer r.jaffer@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Corporate Services Izabella Szadkowska i.szadkowska@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Education Ivor McGettigan i.mcgettigan@tamimi.com +971 2 813 0444
Education Ahmad Saleh ah.saleh@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Employment & Incentives Samir Kantaria s.kantaria@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Employment Gordon Barr g.barr@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Family Business & Private Wealth Gary Watts g.watts@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Financial Crime Khalid Al Hamrani k.alhamrani@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Financial Crime Ibtissem Lassoued i.lassoued@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Financial services regulation and enforcement Jody Waugh j.waugh@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Financial services regulation and enforcement Rita Jaballah r.jaballah@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Healthcare Andrea Tithecott a.tithecott@tamimi.com +971 2 813 0444
Hotels & Leisure Tara Marlow t.marlow@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Insurance Yazan Saoudi y.saoudi@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
IP Omar Obeidat o.obeidat@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
IP Ahmad Saleh ah.saleh@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Legislative drafting Mohammed Al Marzouqi m.almarzouqi@tamimi.com +971 2 813 0444
Legislative drafting Hassan ElTahir h.eltahir@tamimi.com +971 2 813 0444
Litigation Hussein Eisa Al Shiri h.shiri@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Litigation Ahmed Allouz a.allouz@tamimi.com +974 4 364 1641
Litigation Hassan Arab h.arab@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Maritime and shipping Omar Omar o.omar@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Maritime and shipping Yazan Saoudi y.saoudi@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Mergers & Acquisitions Abdullah Mutawi a.mutawi@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Mergers & Acquisitions Gary Watts g.watts@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Private client Essam Al Tamimi e.tamimi@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Private equity Richard Catling r.catling@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Private equity Abdullah Mutawi a.mutawi@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Private Notary Taiba Al Safar t.alsafar@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Projects Mark Brown m.brown@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Real estate Tara Marlow t.marlow@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Real estate Mohammed Kawasmi m.kawasmi@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Rail Foutoun Hajjar f.hajjar@tamimi.com +973 1710 8933
Regulatory Andrea Tithecott a.tithecott@tamimi.com +971 2 813 0444
Sports & events management Steve Bainbridge s.bainbridge@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Tax law Shiraz Khan s.khan@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Technology, media and telecommunications Martin Hayward m.hayward@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Technology, media and telecommunications Fiona Robertson f.robertson@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Transport & Logistics Yazan Saoudi y.saoudi@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Transport & Logistics Omar Omar o.omar@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Automotive Samir Kantaria s.kantaria@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Aviation Yazan Saoudi y.saoudi@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Education Ivor McGettigan i.mcgettigan@tamimi.com +971 2 813 0444
Expo 2020 Steve Bainbridge s.bainbridge@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
FMCG Samer Qudah s.qudah@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Innovation, Technology & Entrepreneurship Ahmad Saleh ah.saleh@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
China Group Jody Waugh j.waugh@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
India Group Samir Kantaria s.kantaria@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Korea Group Omar Omar o.omar@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Photo Name Position Profile
Mr Yaqoub Al Munayae  photo Mr Yaqoub Al Munayae
Mr Aaron Dikos  photo Mr Aaron Dikos
Mr Omar Handoush  photo Mr Omar Handoush
Mr Philip Kotsis  photo Mr Philip Kotsis
Mr Ahmed Rezeik  photo Mr Ahmed Rezeik
Mr Alex Saleh  photo Mr Alex Saleh
Number of lawyers worldwide : 370
:
Association of International Petroleum Negotiators (AIPN)
Australian Business Group
ABA (American Bar Association)
British Business Group
Dubai International Financial Centre (DIFC) Courts
Chartered Institute of Arbitrators
Employment Lawyers Association
Energy Institute
International Federation of Industrial Property Attorneys (FICPI)
GCC Commercial Arbitration Centre
International Council for Commercial Arbitration

Diversity and Inclusion at Al Tamimi & Company

Al Tamimi & Company is committed to maintaining its high levels of diversity.  With over 50 different nationalities and cultural backgrounds amongst our people, we celebrate diversity.  This is one law firm where there is no stereotype, enabling our people to be who they are and value the differences in one another.

The Firm is committed to providing a supportive, inclusive and respectful work environment which recognises and values the diversity of all its employees, stakeholders and clients. We acknowledge that every employee, regardless of gender, age, ethnicity or cultural background, disability, religious belief, political affiliation, socioeconomic origin, or family responsibilities can make a valuable contribution to achieving the business outcomes. Moreover, we strongly believe outcomes are strengthened with a diverse team.

The Firm promotes an environment where equity and inclusion is encouraged and supported and where all forms of discrimination, harassment and bullying are eliminated. 

We will achieve this objective by: 

  • Raising awareness of and promoting workplace diversity within the Firm.
  • Integrating the principles of workplace diversity into business and human resource management policies, practices and systems.
  • Encouraging employees to identify and maximise use of their life skills and experiences in the workplace.
  • Encouraging managers to recognise and draw on the diversity of their employees.
  • Ensuring employees are not subjected to discrimination or unfair treatment in the workplace on grounds such as, ethnicity, race, gender, age, physical or mental disability or personal responsibilities.
  • Upholding and promote the Al Tamimi & Company Values, Employment Principles and Code of Conduct

 

Ensuring employees and those seeking employment with the Firm receive fair and equitable treatment in accessing employment opportunities, employees selection processes, career development and mobility arrangements