Firm Profile > McMillan LLP > Toronto, Canada

McMillan LLP
BROOKFIELD PLACE, SUITE 4400
181 BAY STREET
TORONTO, ONTARIO M5J 2T3
Canada

Canada > Tax Tier 4

McMillan LLP advises large domestic and multinational companies on the tax aspects of their most complex and strategically significant corporate transactions; the scope of the team's work in this space includes M&A, reorganisations and divestments, with it being notably active in advice to private equity funds and financial services companies. Beyond transactional work, the group advises clients on transfer pricing issues and provides representation in tax disputes. Toronto-based partner Michael Friedman heads up the practice, which was strengthened by the recent arrival of Ted Thiessen from Gowling WLG.

Practice head(s):

Other key lawyers:

Ted Thiessen

Key clients

Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi

Bank of Montreal

Royal Bank of Canada

Citibank Canada

GE Capital

MasterCard International Incorporated

Honda Motor Company

Tyco International Ltd.

J.P. Morgan Chase & Co.

The Catalyst Capital Group Inc.

Sun Capital Partners, Inc.

Kilmer Group

Fortress Investment Group

Huron Capital Partners

Boehringer Ingelheim

Gruppo Campari

Great Canadian Gaming Corporation

Hines Interests Limited Partnership

Assa Abloy

The firm

McMillan is a business law firm serving public, private and not-for-profit clients across key industries in Canada, the United States and internationally. With recognized expertise and acknowledged leadership in major business sectors, we provide solution-oriented legal advice through our offices in Vancouver, Calgary, Toronto, Ottawa, Montréal and Hong Kong. Our firm values – respect, teamwork, commitment, client service and professional excellence – are at the heart of McMillan’s commitment to serve our clients, our local communities and the legal profession.

Areas of practice

Business Law: The firm delivers comprehensive business law services including on-going corporate and commercial advice to Canadian and foreign clients across a diverse range of industries.

Capital Markets: McMillan has extensive experience in virtually every area of securities law and acts for Canadian and foreign issuers of debt and equity securities and cryptocurrensies; financial institutions; investment banks and securities dealers.

Commercial Real Estate: The group helps clients create value, manage risk, enhance investment returns and create favourable tax structures for several commercial real estate initiatives.

Competition & Antitrust: McMillan offers a unique national platform for its competition law practice and is highly recognized for national and international merger, cartel and other competition matters. The group has played a leading role in the development of competition law and policy in Canada.

Cybersecurity: Represents individuals, businesses and government organizations that are at risk of having confidential data compromised by cyber-attacks. Delivering data breach solutions, advising managers and directors on ways to mitigate risks of cyber-attacks and guiding organizations on how to comply with privacy and legislation.

Employment & Labour Relations: Represents clients at all levels of provincial and federal courts, human rights tribunals, labour relations and pension boards, arbitration and government administrative bodies.

Financial Services: Approved counsel to all six major Canadian banks, all of the G14 banks, government institutions, and corporate clients on significant, complex domestic and cross-border financing and regulatory matters.

Government & Public Policy: The firm is a market leader in privatization and procurement with expertise in project planning, negotiating, and tendering.

Intellectual Property: McMillan helps clients protect and secure their valuable IP assets and is recognized as one of the leading intellectual property practices in Canada.

International Trade/WTO: McMillan advises provincial, national and multinational organizations in international trade tribunals by developing market-entry plans that considers the inherent challenges of entering into a new market.

Litigation: McMillan represents national and international clients facing virtually any type of business dispute or issue in any forum across Canada.

Mergers & Acquisitions: The firm acts for Canadian and foreign entities in transactions involving the purchase, sale and strategic combination of businesses across all major industry sectors.

Mining, Natural Resources & Energy: McMillan is involved in issues and transactions through all stages of exploration, development, and production and related environmental issues.

Privacy & Data Protection: McMillan assists clients with understanding privacy and data protection laws and the impact of regulatory requirements on their business while implementing measures to reduce risks.

Restructuring & Insolvency: Represents Canadian and foreign financial institutions, investment banks, governments, corporations, pension funds and hedge funds on several debt and debt-like products and services.

Tax: Providing comprehensive and pragmatic advice on corporate reorganizations, mergers and acquisitions, securities, structured financing and derivative products, leasing, and cross-border transactions.

Department Name Email Telephone
Business Law John Clifford john.clifford@mcmillan.ca 416.856.7134
Business Law Charles Chevrette charles.chevrette@mcmillan.ca 514.987.5003
Capital Markets Paul Davis paul.davis@mcmillan.ca 416.307.4137
Capital Markets Leo Raffin leo.raffin@mcmillan.ca 604.691.7450
Commercial Real Estate David Slan david.slan@mcmillan.ca 416.865.7096
Commercial Real Estate Damon Chisholm damon.chisholm@mcmillan.ca 604.691.7464
Employment & Labour Relations Dave McKechnie dave.mckechnie@mcmillan.ca 416.865.7051
Employment & Labour Relations David McInnes david.mcinnes@mcmillan.ca 604.691.7441
Financial Services Don Waters don.waters@mcmillan.ca 416.865.7920
Financial Services Waël Rostom wael.rostom@mcmillan.ca 416.865.7790
Litigation David Kent david.kent@mcmillan.ca 416.865.1743
Litigation Joan Young joan.young@mcmillan.ca 604.893.7639
Regulatory Mark Opashinov mark.opashinov@mcmillan.ca 416.865.7873
Regulatory Neil Campbell neil.campbell@mcmillan.ca 416.865.7025
Tax Michael Friedman michael.friedman@mcmillan.ca 416.865.7914
Tax Todd Miller todd.miller@mcmillan.ca 416.865.7058
Chief Executive Officer : Teresa Dufort
Executive Partner : David Dunlop
Executive Partner : Timothy Murphy
Executive Partner : Stephen Wortley