The Legal 500

Twitter Logo Youtube Circle Icon LinkedIn Icon

CMS

ATRIUM, PARNASSUSWEG 737, 1077 DG AMSTERDAM, NETHERLANDS
Tel:
Work +31 20 301 6301
Email:
Web:
www.cms.law
Aberdeen, Algiers, Amsterdam, Antwerp, Barcelona, Beijing and 70 more

Main work contacts

CategoryContact
Administrative law Luurt Wildeboer (+31 20 3016 382 | luurt.wildeboer@cms-dsb.com)
Banking & Finance Eduard Scheenstra (+31 20 3016 447 | eduard.scheenstra@cms-dsb.com)
Commercial Aukje Haan (+31 30 2121 747 | aukje.haan@cms-dsb.com)
Competition & EU Edmon Oude Elferink (+32 26 5004 54 | edmon.oudeelferink@cms-dsb.com)
Consumer products Mark Ziekman (+31 20 3016 413 | mark.ziekman@cms-dsb.com)
Corporate/M&A Roman Tarlavski (+31 20 3016 312 | roman.tarlavski@cms-dsb.com)
Dispute resolution Leonard Böhmer (+31 30 2121 710 | leonard.bohmer@cms-dsb.com)
Employment and pensions Katja van Kranenburg - Hanspians (+31 20 3016 402 | katja.vankranenburg@cms-dsb.com)
Energy Cecilia van der Weijden (+31 20 3016 411 | cecilia.vanderweijden@cms-dsb.com)
Funds Reinout Slot (+31 20 3016 319 | reinout.slot@cms-dsb.com)
Hotels & Leisure Roman Tarlavski (+31 20 3016 312 | roman.tarlavski@cms-dsb.com)
Infrastructure & Projects Hein van der Meer (+31 20 3016 227 | hein.vandermeer@cms-dsb.com)
Insolvency & Restructuring Jan Willem Bouman (+31 30 2121 285 | janwillem.bouman@cms-dsb.com)
Insurance Leonard Böhmer (+31 30 2121 710 | leonard.bohmer@cms-dsb.com)
Intellectual property Willem Hoorneman (+31 20 3016 237 | willem.hoorneman@cms-dsb.com)
Life Sciences & Healthcare Ellen Gielen (+31 30 2121 517 | ellen.gielen@cms-dsb.com)
Mobility Petra Heemskerk (+31 20 3016 295 | petra.heemskerk@cms-dsb.com)
Public Procurement Petra Heemskerk (+31 20 3016 295 | petra.heemskerk@cms-dsb.com)
Real Estate & Construction Hein van der Meer (+31 20 3016 227 | hein.vandermeer@cms-dsb.com)
Tax Herman Boersen (+31 20 3016 451 | herman.boersen@cms-dsb.com)
TMC - Technology, Media & Communications Katja van Kranenburg - Hanspians (+31 20 3016 402 | katja.vankranenburg@cms-dsb.com)

Legal Developments by:
CMS

  • Access to justice: protective costs orders in planning challenges

    Third parties and competing developers have no rights of appeal to the Secretary of State against planning decisions. Disappointed applicants can appeal to the Secretary of State and can have the merits of the application reconsidered. The only remedy available to a disappointed third party is a challenge by way of judicial review in the High Court on a point of law. The sense of frustration and disempowerment this creates has not been helped by the increasing complexity of the planning process and the use of consultation to legitimise decisions that many perceive may already have been taken.
    - CMS Group

Legal Developments in Netherlands

Legal Developments and updates from the leading lawyers in each jurisdiction. To contribute, send an email request to
  • Dynamic Contracts: Changing employment practices in the digital era

    Digital platforms designed to deliver professional services are changing the European employment landscape as both employers  and workers look for more flexible ways to work.
  • New Late Payments Directive

    Despite the implementation of Directive 2000/35/EC on combating late payment in commercial transactions in 2002, the European Commission (the “Commission”) concluded in 2008 that late payments were still widespread in the EU. It also turned out that public authorities in certain Member States were stipulating unjustifiably long contractual payment periods for transactions.
  • Amendment of the Collective Redundancy Notification Act

    On 1 March 2012 the Collective Redundancy Notification Act (Wet Melding Collective Outslug, "WACO") will be amended. What changes does this involve?
  • New Corporate Law Legislation

    In the field of corporate law, there are four (coming) Acts that attract attention, namely the introduction of the tenth book of the Dutch Civil Code, the amendment of the Marital Property Act and, to conclude, the coming entry into effect of the Management and Supervision Act and the Flexibilization of BV Act. Please find below a short explanation of each Act.
  • Shipping & Transport - Netherlands

    Attaching maritime assets in insolvency
    - AKD
  • The employment of foreign workers. What issues do you need to be aware of as an employer?

    The employment of foreign workers regularly raises questions. A brief summary of the most important areas of attention will be dealt with in this article.
    - AKD
  • Non-solicitation agreement violated via LinkedIn

    A non-solicitation agreement usually restricts the ability of an employee - after an employment contract has ended - to approach the clients of the former employer. The former employee of a software company recently discovered that the scope of such an agreement can also include contacts made via LinkedIn.
    - AKD
  • NETHERLANDS AS A GLOBAL FINANCE CENTRE

    Few jurisdictions can boast a foreign direct investment record like the Netherlands. As the world's seventh largest inward receiver of investments, housing approximately 9000 foreign-owned companies, the country's dynamic business environment provides an invaluable insight into macro investment trends.
    - AKD
  • Forming a company in the Netherlands

    The Netherlands and Dutch law The Netherlands is a perfect business location for foreign entrepreneurs (2,000 subsidiaries in Amsterdam, 140,000 jobs). It is the gateway to densely populated Western Europe and has a well-developed logistic and technical infrastructure.
  • Leasing of commercial premises in the Netherlands

    Normal 0 false false false EN-GB X-NONE X-NONE MicrosoftInternetExplorer4 /* Style Definitions */ table.MsoNormalTable {mso-style-name:"Table Normal"; mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0; mso-tstyle-colband-size:0; mso-style-noshow:yes; mso-style-priority:99; mso-style-qformat:yes; mso-style-parent:""; mso-padding-alt:0cm 5.4pt 0cm 5.4pt; mso-para-margin:0cm; mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:10.0pt; font-family:"Times New Roman","serif";} Dutch Law distinguishes two categories of commercial premises. Depending on the type of premises or the purpose for which it is used, they are referred to as: