Firm Profile > Eversheds Asianajotoimisto Oy / Eversheds Attorneys Ltd (a member of Eversheds Sutherland) > Helsinki, Finland

Eversheds Asianajotoimisto Oy / Eversheds Attorneys Ltd (a member of Eversheds Sutherland)
FABIANINKATU 29 B
00100 HELSINKI
Finland

Banking and finance Tier 3

Eversheds Asianajotoimisto Oy / Eversheds Attorneys Ltd (a member of Eversheds Sutherland) specialises in real estate financing work and matters which involve alternative forms of financing including fintech and crowdfunding issues. The team acts for a number of international lenders and borrowers and has expertise assisting technology companies, start-ups and real estate funds; Santander Consumer Finance and the Digitalist Group are key examples. The group also assisted POP Bank Group with the €100m sale of its holdings in Samlink to Cognizant Technology Solutions. The practice is jointly led by Merja BlankensteinTiina AshornHarri Tolppanen, and Vesa Turkki.

Testimonials

Balanced set of key basic knowledge, which provides a basic feeling of “good level of knowledge” already in everyday communications.

Key clients

StaffPoint Oy

Digitalist Group Oyj

Surimo Finance Oy

POP Bank Group

Santander Consumer Finance Oy

Tremoko Oy

Collector Bank AB

Dispute resolution Tier 3

Eversheds Asianajotoimisto Oy / Eversheds Attorneys Ltd (a member of Eversheds Sutherland) represents clients in arbitration and litigation, with a particular focus on corporate disputes, competition and damages cases and corporate and white-collar crime claims. Clients include businesses in the transportation, banking, and telecoms industries, as well as several local municipalities. The practice is led by Niina Rosenlund, who is an experienced litigator and arbitrator who acts in commercial disputes and criminal defence proceedings.

Key clients

Koiviston Auto Group

City of  Vantaa

City of Raasepori

City of Tuusula

City of Nurmijärvi

City of Oulu

City of Rovaniemi

City of Kemijärvi

City of Sodankylä

City of Hyvinkää

Nuorisosäätiö, Youth Foundation

Pneuplan Oy

Tuotos Ry

Employment Tier 3

Eversheds Asianajotoimisto Oy / Eversheds Attorneys Ltd (a member of Eversheds Sutherland) acts for employers in a range of matters, with particular expertise in health and safety and working conditions disputes. The team counts notable clients including local municipalities and major international construction companies on its roster. Timo JarmasHeikki Tuomela and Pekka Jantti head up the practice, which recently represented Pirkanmaa Hospital District in an investigation by the Parliamentary Ombudsman of Finland.

Testimonials

You can rely on getting help even with difficult questions. There is a great deal of knowledge and experience in the Employment team on Eversheds.’

I do respect the attitude, knowledge and experience of Timo Jarmas who is my main contact in Eversheds – he understands our business environment and shares his opinions pointing out possible risks. This is just what we need, not just the low-risk legal solution, but giving deeper insight on the overall issue.’

Capable of delivering pragmatic solutions.

Key clients

Suomen Terveystalo Oyj

YIT Construction Ltd

9Lives Oy

Oy Aku’s Factory Ltd

Studio Mediapolis Oy

StaffPoint Oy

Pirkanmaa Hospital District

Tapola Oy Lihanjalostustehdas

Inwido Finland Oy

Ilkka-Yhtymä Oyj

Vantaan Tilapalvelut Vantti Oy

City of Vantaa

EU and competition Tier 3

Olli Hyvönen leads the department at Eversheds Asianajotoimisto Oy / Eversheds Attorneys Ltd (a member of Eversheds Sutherland), which focuses on state aid and antitrust cases. The team has argued several cases at the European level and is involved in precedent-setting cases including representing the City of Vantaa in the asphalt cartel damages case and acting for Helsingin Bussiliikenne in a state aid case before the European Court of Justice.

Testimonials

Excellent knowledge and connections to the European Commission’s decision-making process.’

We have very diverse needs, related to public administration. The needs are rarely ones that we can foresee or that would repeat. Thus, it is very valuable for us that Eversheds has a large team themselves and we can always rely on finding the best fitted experts to suit our needs.

We have always been met by dedicated and helpful individuals, who are able to understand our specific needs.

Key clients

City of Vantaa

Koiviston Auto Group

Helsingin Bussiliikenne Oy

Betset Group

Salon Energiantuotanto/Vapo Oy

VTT Oy

Infra-Asfaltti Oy

Fysios Oy

Jyväskylän ammattikorkeakoulu JAMK

Regional Council of South-West Finland

Northern Ostrobotnia Hospital District

ISS Palvelut Oy

Intellectual property Tier 3

Eversheds Asianajotoimisto Oy / Eversheds Attorneys Ltd (a member of Eversheds Sutherland) advises clients on IP identification, registration, protection and defence matters and also represents companies in trade mark violation and trade secrets disputes. The team is jointly led by IP specialist Petteri Häkkänen and Tiina Ashorn, and counts noteworthy names including Arla Foods and Posti Group as clients; the group also utilises the firm's global network to handle cross-border issues. 

Testimonials

‘Good mix of highly technical expertise in our field and strategic guidance.

Extremely good fit for our background and our core technology. Great grasp of what we do.

Key clients

Olvi Oyj

Posti Group Oyj

VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland

Arla Foods amba

Procter & Gamble

Salusfin Oy

Estate of Jean Sibelius

Robert’s Coffee

Berner Oy

Raisio Oyj (Raisio Group)

Sasta Oy

Gutsy Animations Oy

IP-Agency Finland Ltd

Tallberg Group

Zora Biosciences Oy

SGN Group Oy

Neurotar Oy

Goodwiller Oy

Salusfin Oy

Real estate and construction Tier 3

The team at Eversheds Asianajotoimisto Oy / Eversheds Attorneys Ltd (a member of Eversheds Sutherland) has substantial experience in high-value real estate transactions, construction projects and leasing mandates and counts several key investment funds as clients. The practice is jointly led by Pekka KokkoSaara Raitala and Sirkka Terho with construction specialist Juha Kallioinen. The group is expanding its focus on development projects and recently advised new client Ruby Hotels on the €30m acquisition and subsequent development of its first Finnish hotel property.

Testimonials

Excellent knowledge of law, ability to perceive the whole, ability to analyse risks and propose different paths of solutions.

Knowledge of law and construction, and the ability to apply it in practice.

Key clients

Elo Mutual Pension Insurance Company

Helsingin Yliopistokiinteistöt Oy

Ficolo Oy

Quadoro Doric Real Estate GmbH

Ruby Hotels & Resorts GmbH

Otava Oy

KEVA

Realia Group

ISS Palvelut Oy

Fennica Toimitilat

Sammalvuori

Apteekkien Eläkekassa

Otavamedia Oy

Talvivaara Sotkamo

AVAIN Asumisoikeus Oy

Lippupiste Oy

Elematic Oyj

TMT Tier 3

Jointly led by the 'unique' and 'flexible' Tiina Ashorn and Markus Rämö, the practice at Eversheds Asianajotoimisto Oy / Eversheds Attorneys Ltd (a member of Eversheds Sutherland) acts on a wide variety of TMT matters including IT procurements, software licensing work, data protection issues, technology M&A, contractual work and disputes. The team has a key focus on new media companies and start-ups, and works closely with academic institutions and growth companies. The group also advises major international clients including Sony on day-to-day data protection, privacy and IT issues. Juha Taipale departed to Attorneys-at-law Trust. Ltd.

Testimonials

Quick turnaround times and available to assist in various matters on short notice. They have the resources to assist on a wide range of legal issues.’ 

The team is highly motivated to find solutions to our needs. Eversheds Sutherland also wants to understand our future needs and offers very useful information to us about changes in legal matters such as in e-privacy.

They understand not just the legal environment but also our business and business models. They do respect our values when proposing different options. I feel that the office is open 24/7 because I get answers very quickly  locally and globally.’

Partner Tiina Ashorn has always made her time and wide expertise available and arranged for any other expertise as needed.

Tiina Ashorn’s strength is being flexible, working as an outsourced “in-house” lawyer. She has created a very unique and functional process for us. It works well and she has worked hard to get to know her clients’ business.

Key clients

Plus Terveys Oy

Blue Meteorite ltd

Natural Resources Institute Finland

The Northern Ostrobothnia Hospital District

Viaplay AB

Good Sign Oy

Ixonos Plc

Tecnotree Plc

Elematic Oy Ab

Oy Viasat Ab

Oy Omnitele Ab

Sony Music Entertainment Finland

Merivaara Corporation

Vertical Oy

Convergens Oy

Creuna Oy

Saalasti Oy

Viria Oyj

Pirkanmaan Sairaanhoitopiiri

Howden

Bar Association of Finland

Korkia Venture Insight Oy

Korkia Consulting Oy

Arctic Security Oy

POP – Pankki osk

Coolbrook Oy

Convergens Oy

Ficolo Oy

Plusterveys

Taaleri Oyj

VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland

Sininen Meteoriitti Oy

Veikkaus Oy

Digitalist Group Plc

Orfer Oy

Commercial, corporate and M&A Tier 4

Eversheds Asianajotoimisto Oy / Eversheds Attorneys Ltd (a member of Eversheds Sutherland) provides a joined-up approach to transactions with the firm's international reach granting it strong capabilities in cross-border M&A transactions in the healthcare, transportation and telecoms industries. The team advises industrial clients and investors on the buy and sell-side of transactions and also handles other corporate and regulatory work. The practice is jointly led by Olli IirolaHarri TolppanenVesa Turkki, and Mika Taberman.

Key clients

Diarc-Technology Oy

Administer Oy

ITaito Oy

Oivauni Oy

Intive

Digitalist Group Plc

Enersense International Oyj

Koiviston Auto Group

Viria Group

Eversheds Sutherland is one of the largest law firms in Finland. With approximately 170 legal professionals our services cover a wide spectrum of corporate and business law with a particularly strong focus in corporate and M&A, real estate, HR, dispute resolution and arbitration, insurance and financing, TMT, IPR, insolvency and compliance.

Eversheds Sutherland is a trusted provider of legal services to various industrial and business sectors, representing clients’ interests at all administrative institutions and courts as well as national and international arbitration proceedings. Our Finnish subsidiary, Heinonen & Co, has provided internationally recognized IPR and protection services for over fifty years.

We are part of global Eversheds Sutherland. As one of the world’s biggest legal brands, Eversheds Sutherland has globally offices throughout Europe, the US, the Middle East, Asia and Africa, supplying clients with seamless legal coverage on anything from large-scale projects involving multiple jurisdictions to day-to-day activities. Eversheds Sutherland’s teams of lawyers around the world operate seamlessly to deliver the legal know-how and strategic alignment that clients need from their advisors to help further their business interests.

What unites us is our commitment to service excellence through a solution-oriented approach. We know our clients’ businesses, the industries and markets they operate in, and we know that great relationships yield the best outcomes. Clients describe us as creative and well-versed in cutting edge legal work – we listen well in order to understand how and where we can be most effective and add the greatest value.

Department Name Email Telephone
ICT Tiina Ashorn tiina.ashorn@eversheds.fi +358 10 684 1617
Banking & Finance Merja Blankenstein merja.blankenstein@eversheds.fi +358 10 684 1612
Antti Husa antti.husa@eversheds.fo +358 10 684 1522
EU and Competition Olli Hyvönen olli.hyvonen@eversheds.fi +358 10 684 1623
IPR Petteri Häkkänen petteri.hakkanen@eversheds.fi +358 10 684 1428
Commercial, corporate and M&A Olli Iirola olli.iirola@eversheds.fi +358 10 684 1345
Employment Timo Jarmas timo.jarmas@eversheds.fi +358 10 684 1514
Jukka-Pekka Joensuu jukka-pekka.joensuu@eversheds.fi +358 10 684 1678
Pekka Jäntti pekka.jantti@eversheds.fi +358 10 684 1315
Juha Kallioinen juha.kallioinen@eversheds.fi +358 10 684 1911
Ismo Kallioniemi ismo.kallioniemi@eversheds.fi +358 10 684 1378
Real estate, construction and environment Pekka Kokko pekka.kokko@eversheds.fi +358 10 684 1628
Dispute resolution Vesa Kokko vesa.kokko@eversheds.fi +358 10 684 1962
Tax Torsti Lakari torsti.lakari@eversheds.fi +358 10 684 1480
Restructuring and insolvency Harri Lindfors harri.lindfors@eversheds.fi +358 10 684 1313
Jari Malinen jari.malinen@eversheds.fi +358 10 684 1564
Anu Mattila anu.mattila@eversheds.fi +358 10 6841 300
Mika Oksanen mika.oksanen@eversheds.fi +358 10 684 1667
Tuomas Penttilä tuomas.penttila@eversheds.fi +358 10 684 1642
Saara Raitala saara.raitala@eversheds.fi +358 10 684 1647
Jukka Reilin jukka.reilin@eversheds.fi +358 10 684 1520
International business and contracts Hannu Rintala hannu.rintala@eversheds.fi +358 10 684 1330
Dispute resolution Niina Rosenlund (Mickelsson) niina.rosenlund@eversheds.fi +358 10 684 1626
Tero Routamo tero.routamo@eversheds.fi +358 10 684 1626
ICT Markus Rämö markus.ramo@eversheds.fi +358 10 684 1650
Restructuring and insolvency Jari Salminen jari.salminen@eversheds.fi +358 10 684 1651
Kai Salonen kai.salonen@eversheds.fi +358 10 684 1639
Peter Salovaara peter.salovaara@eversheds.fi +358 10 684 1320
Tax Henri Steiner henri.steiner@eversheds.fi +358 10 684 1331
Finance and insurance Mika Taberman mika.taberman@eversheds.fi +358 10 684 1355
Real estate, construction and environment Sirkka Terho sirkka.terho@eversheds.fi +358 10 684 1675
Finance and insurance Harri Tolppanen harri.tolppanen@eversheds.fi +358 10 684 1660
Employment Heikki Tuomela heikki.tuomela@eversheds.fi +358 10 684 1641
Corporate and M&A Vesa Turkki vesa.turkki@eversheds.fi +358 10 684 1525
Markku Varhela markku.varhela@eversheds.fi +358 10 684 1457
Johan Wesander johan.wesander@eversheds.fi +358 10 684 1380
Photo Name Position Profile
 Jussi Aranne  photo Jussi Aranne
Mrs Tiina Ashorn  photo Mrs Tiina Ashorn
 Mika Backman  photo Mika Backman
Mrs Merja Blankenstein  photo Mrs Merja Blankenstein
 Jarkko Hankaa  photo Jarkko Hankaa
Mrs Minna Hanninen  photo Mrs Minna Hanninen
Mr Kari Heliö  photo Mr Kari Heliö
 Kirsi Hiltunen  photo Kirsi Hiltunen
Mr Olli Hyvönen  photo Mr Olli Hyvönen
 Petteri Häkkänen  photo Petteri Häkkänen
Mr Olli Iirola  photo Mr Olli Iirola
Mr Pekka Jäntti  photo Mr Pekka Jäntti
Mr Jukka-Pekka Joensuu  photo Mr Jukka-Pekka Joensuu
Mr Ismo Kallioniemi  photo Mr Ismo Kallioniemi
 Kalle Klemetti  photo Kalle Klemetti
Mr Pekka Kokko  photo Mr Pekka Kokko
Mr Juha Kujala  photo Mr Juha Kujala
Mr Torsti Lakari  photo Mr Torsti Lakari
Mr Lassi Lepistö  photo Mr Lassi Lepistö
Mr Harri Lindfors  photo Mr Harri Lindfors
Mr Igor Livchitz  photo Mr Igor Livchitz
Mrs Anu Mattila  photo Mrs Anu Mattila
 Outi Maunula  photo Outi Maunula
Mrs Niina Mickelsson  photo Mrs Niina Mickelsson
Mr Mika Oksanen  photo Mr Mika Oksanen
 Henna Pajulammi  photo Henna Pajulammi
 Arto Palsala  photo Arto Palsala
 Sipi Penttilä  photo Sipi Penttilä
 Tuomas Penttilä  photo Tuomas Penttilä
 Anne Petäjäniemi-Björklund  photo Anne Petäjäniemi-Björklund
 Sanna Poranen  photo Sanna Poranen
 Leena Pyymäki  photo Leena Pyymäki
Mr Markus Rämö  photo Mr Markus Rämö
Ms Saara Raitala  photo Ms Saara Raitala
 Kati Rantala  photo Kati Rantala
Mr Tero Routamo  photo Mr Tero Routamo
 Mari Rusi  photo Mari Rusi
 Kalervo Rötsä  photo Kalervo Rötsä
Mr Jari Salminen  photo Mr Jari Salminen
Mr Kai Salonen  photo Mr Kai Salonen
Mr Peter Salovaara  photo Mr Peter Salovaara
Mr Henrik Sandholm  photo Mr Henrik Sandholm
Mr Henri Steiner  photo Mr Henri Steiner
 Kimmo Suominen  photo Kimmo Suominen
 Mika Taberman  photo Mika Taberman
Mrs Sirkka Terho  photo Mrs Sirkka Terho
Mr Harri Tolppanen  photo Mr Harri Tolppanen
 Johanna Tolppanen  photo Johanna Tolppanen
 Teemu Tomminen  photo Teemu Tomminen
Mr Heikki Tuomela  photo Mr Heikki Tuomela
 Tuuli Vapaavuori-Vartiainen  photo Tuuli Vapaavuori-Vartiainen
Mr Markku Varhela  photo Mr Markku Varhela
 Johan Wesander  photo Johan Wesander
Number of lawyers : 2,000+
in this country : 100+
English
Finnish
French
German
Russian
Swedish
Eversheds Sutherland
the global law firm that sets the standards
Other offices : Please see www.eversheds-sutherland.com for details of offices around the world