Firm Profile > Chandler MHM Limited > Bangkok, Thailand

Chandler MHM Limited
36th Floor, Sathorn Square Office Tower
98 North Sathorn Road
Silom, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500
Thailand

Projects and energy Tier 1

Chandler MHM Limited has strengths in project finance and development, acting on major project mandates in Thailand and abroad. The team is led by the trio of Jessada  Sawatdipong, Ratana Poonsombudlert and Joseph Tisuthiwongse. With an expertise in cross border work in the energy sector, Sawatdipong advises borrowers and lenders, often acting for major Thai and international banks; Poonsombudlert specialises in the oil, gas and mining sectors; and Tisuthiwongse advised a series of lenders including Bangkok Bank and The Siam Commercial Bank on the project financing for the Nam Theun 1 hydroelectric power project in Laos valued at $1bn. Also recommended is Nopamon Thevit Intralib, a banking and financing specialist focusing on renewable energy matters.

Practice head(s):

Jessada Sawatdipong; Ratana Poonsombudlert; Joseph Tisuthiwongse

Other key lawyers:

Key clients

Electricity Generating Authority of Thailand

Kuwait Foreign Petroleum Exploration

PTT Global Chemical

Navanakorn Electricity

Mitsubishi

Banking and finance Tier 2

Chandler MHM Limited's practice has a record of acting for local and international lenders, sponsors and borrowers. In particular, the team is among the most experienced in the market when it comes to assisting Japanese clients. Jessada Sawatdipong heads the practice group and has particular expertise in project finance. In addition, Sawatdipong acted for Mizuho Bank and Standard Chartered Bank as lenders in the cross-border financing for the acquisition of shares in Saigon Beer, Alcohol and Beverage Corporation in Vietnam. Supattra Sathapornnanon is a notable member of the team with an expertise in multi-party, cross-border transactions. Joseph Tisuthiwongse, a recent addition to the team, acted for a series of lenders on the project financing for the development of the Nam Theun 1 hydroelectric power plant in Laos.

Practice head(s):

Jessada Sawatdipong

Key clients

KASIKORNBANK

CIMB

Japan Bank of International Corporation

Asian Development Bank

The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation

Korea Development Bank

TISCO Bank

BNP Paribas

Corporate and M&A (including capital markets) Tier 2

Chandler MHM Limited is perhaps the leading firm for advising Japanese clients doing business in Thailand. In particular, the team is rated for its historical expertise in the energy sector, though it also has experience in the manufacturing, IT, and real estate sectors. Key figures in the practice group include Ratana Poonsombudlert, an M&A expert in the energy and natural resources fields; Seiji Akimoto, a principal partner in the Bangkok office's Japan-facing practice; and Susumu Hanawa, who has played a crucial role in attracting instructions from Japanese real estate investors. Arkrapol Pichedvanichok, who joined the firm in October 2018, has particular expertise in cross-border joint ventures in the real estate and manufacturing sectors.

Practice head(s):

Ratana Poonsombudlert; Seiji Akimoto; Susumu Hanawa; Arkrapol Pichedvanichok

Dispute resolution Tier 3

Chandler MHM Limited's dispute resolution practice has experience in a number of Thai courts including the specialised labour, taxation and administrative courts. Practice head Chatchai Inthasuwan has decades of experience in corporate, insurance and construction-related disputes, and counsel Nathee Silacharoen, who joined the practice from DLA Piper (Thailand) Limited in 2019, has litigation experience in the insurance, hospitality and property sectors. Associate Jirayu Sanguankaew focuses on civil disputes in the hospitality sector, and is also recommended.

Practice head(s):

Chatchai Inthasuwan

Other key lawyers:

Real estate and construction Tier 3

Chandler MHM Limited advises domestic and international corporates on real estate transactions, REIT structuring, and lease and management agreements for hotels and office buildings. Practice co-head Joseph  Tisuthiwongse advised on the establishment of CPNREIT’s debenture program, and on issuance of Thai Baht-denominated debenture tranches in August 2018 and February 2019 collectively worth $505m. Susumu Hanawa, who also co-heads the practice, is noted for his work in real estate investments throughout the wider Asia region. Tananan Thammakiat is an expert in REITs and has experience in cross-border transactions. 

Practice head(s):

Joseph Tisuthiwongse; Susumu Hanawa; Tananan Thammakiat; Pranee Klinratana

Key clients

Ananda

NUMURA REAL ESTATE DEVELOPMENT

Tokyo Tatemono

36th Floor, Sathorn Square Office Tower
98 North Sathorn Road
Silom, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500
Thailand
Tel. 66 2009 5000
Fax. 66 2009 5080

website: www.chandlermhm.com

Department Name Email Telephone
Banking and project financing Jessada Sawatdipong jessada.s@mhm-global.com +66 2 266 6485
Banking and project financing Joseph Tisuthiwongse joseph.t@cmhm-global.com +66 2 266 6485
Banking and project financing Maria Makanas maria.m@mhm-global.com +66 2 266 6485
Banking and project financing Pranee Klinratana pranee.k@cmhm-global.com +66 2 266 6485
Banking and project financing Supattra Sathapornnanon supattra.s@mhm-global.com +66 2 266 6485
Banking and project financing Susumu Hanawa susumu.hanawa@mhm-global.com +66 2 266 6485
Corporate and M&A Arkrapol Pichedvanichok arkrapol.p@mhm-global.com +66 2 266 6485
Corporate and M&A Nuanporn Wechsuwanrux nuanporn.w@mhm-global.com +66 2 266 6485
Corporate and M&A Seiji Akimoto seiji.akimoto@mhm-global.com +66 2 266 6485
Corporate and M&A Peangnate Sawatdipong peangnate.s@mhm-global.com +66 2 266 6485
Corporate and M&A Jutharat Anuktanakul jutharat.a@mhm-global.com +66 2 266 6485
Corporate and M&A Nirawan Parkpeeranun nirawan.p@mhm-global.com +66 2 266 6485
Corporate and M&A Pranat Laohapairoj pranat.l@mhm-global.com +66 2 266 6485
Corporate and M&A Koonlacha Charungkit-anant koonlacha.c@mhm-global.com +66 2 266 6485
Corporate and M&A David Beckstead david.b@mhm-global.com +66 2 266 6485
Energy and natural resources Jessada Sawatdipong jessada.s@mhm-global.com +66 2 266 6485
Energy and natural resources Joseph Tisuthiwongse joseph.t@mhm-global.com +66 2 266 6485
Energy and natural resources ET Hunt Talmage III talmage@mhm-global.com +66 2 266 6485
Energy and natural resources David Beckstead david.b@mhm-global.com +66 2 266 6485
Energy and natural resources Nuanporn Wechsuwanrux nuanporn.w@mhm-global.com +66 2 266 6485
Dispute Resolution Chatchai Inthasuwan chatchai.i@mhm-global.com +66 2 266 6485
Dispute Resolution Peerapat Pongrojphao peerapat.p@mhm-global.com +66 2 266 6485
Dispute Resolution Jirayu Sanguankaew jirayu.s@mhm-global.com +66 2 266 6485
Dispute Resolution Ittirote Klinboon Ittirote.k@mhm-global.com +66 2 266 6485
Capital Markets Tananan Thammakiat tananan.t@mhm-global.com +66 2 266 6485
Capital Markets Worapan Wuttisarn worapan.w@mhm-global.com +66 2 266 6485
REITs Tananan Thammakiat tananan.t@mhm-global.com +66 2 266 6485
Real Estate Susumu Hanawa susumu.hanawa@mhm-global.com +66 2 266 6485
Labour and Employment Peangnate Sawatdipong peangnate.s@mhm-global.com +66 2 266 6485
Labour and Employment Pranat Laohapairoj pranat.l@mhm-global.com +66 2 266 6485
Restructuring and insolvency Jessada Sawatdipong jessada.s@mhm-global.com +66 2 266 6485
Restructuring and insolvency Chatchai Inthasuwan chatchai.i@mhm-global.com +66 2 266 6485
Restructuring and insolvency Susumu Hanawa susumu.hanawa@mhm-global.com +66 2 266 6485
Restructuring and insolvency ET Hunt Talmage III talmage@mhm-global.com +66 2 266 6485
Photo Name Position Profile
Mr Chatchai Inthasuwan  photo Mr Chatchai Inthasuwan Senior Partner
Mr Arkrapol Pichedvanichok  photo Mr Arkrapol Pichedvanichok Senior Partner
 Jessada Sawatdipong photo Jessada Sawatdipong Co-Managing Partner
Ms Chisako Takaya  photo Ms Chisako Takaya Chisako is a Co-managing partner at Chandler MHM Limited.  She specializes in…
Number of lawyers : 80
English
French
Japanese
Thai
World Law Group