Firm Profile > Hewitsons > Milton Keynes , South East

Hewitsons
EXCHANGE HOUSE
482 MIDSUMMER BOULEVARD
CENTRAL MILTON KEYNES
MK9 2EA
South East

Construction Tier 2

Hewitsons acts for a wide range of clients on construction projects across the UK, including contractors, developers, investors and consultants, among others. It has established specialist business units, which enables the firm to provide sector-specific advice; one area of strength is the education sector, where the construction department (together with practitioners in ancillary areas, such as planning and real estate) provides bespoke advice to schools and other institutions. In 2018, the firm advised developers, contractors and clients active in the charity and investment sectors on multimillion pound construction contracts. Practice head Tim Richards and Colin Jones both have expertise in contentious and non-contentious matters.

Personal tax, trusts and probate: Beds, Bucks, Herts, Middx Tier 2

Hewitsons’ private wealth practice has long-standing expertise in trust matters including trust administration and reorganisations and  assistance with foreign assets. It also has comprehensive tax expertise; inheritance tax and capital gains tax planning and income tax returns. The team works closely with rural and charity specialists, and has significant international links. Carolyn Bagley is the main contact in the Milton Keynes office.

Commercial property: Beds, Bucks, Herts, Middx Tier 3

Hewitsons’ real estate practice is best known for its longstanding work with Government agency Homes England. The team assists this client with the disposal of large mixed-use developments including residential plots, commercial offices, schools and community facilities, to national house builders and developers. In addition, the team specialises in residential and commercial development projects, housing infrastructure grant funding to local authorities and landlord and tenant law. Yvette Morgan and David Wells head the practice.

Hewitsons is a leading law firm that treats each of its clients on an individual basis, advising businesses, individuals and institutions. Hewitsons operates UK-wide, delivering a broad range of high-quality specialist legal services through its groups of solicitors and via its international network, LawExchange International.

The firm: Hewitsons operates out of locations in Cambridge, London, Milton Keynes and Northampton, from which its teams provide a well-tailored and co-ordinated service to clients. The expertise and professional approach of the firm’s personnel are equal to the quality expected from national practices but with the added advantages that the firm’s strategic locations bring in terms of cost-effectiveness and pertinent local knowledge.

The international dimension of Hewitsons’ service is strengthened through LawExchange International, the association of pre-eminent legal practices, which Hewitsons founded in 1994. Member firms throughout Europe, North and South America, Asia/Pacific and the Middle East provide their clients with informed legal knowledge within each respective national jurisdiction, and excellent service with global reach through the deeply integrated LawExchange network.

Hewitsons has the size and depth of resources, combined with commercially-minded and innovative approaches to client service, to ensure delivery of a high quality service that meets its clients’ legal requirements comprehensively and consistently adds value.

Types of work undertaken: Hewitsons provides a broad spectrum of services for the business community, public sector bodies, private clients and educational and charitable entities, encompassing all aspects of corporate, commercial, property and employment law, from non-contentious negotiations and advice through to dispute resolution and litigation. The firm offers in addition a higher number of specialist services (for example pensions, sport and technology law) than most firms of comparable size.

Hewitsons has multidisciplinary sector-focused groups to target its services, and to meet its clients’ current and future needs. These include dedicated groups focused on agricultural food and rural clients, banking and finance, development, technology and clean-tech, charities, educational institutions, high-net-worth clients, owner managed businesses, real estate portfolio management and sport.

Hewitsons’ corporate and commercial teams are market leaders with extensive expertise in all areas, including M&A, buyouts, start-ups, equity and debt investments, IPO’s, share schemes and corporate reorganisations. The firm is highly regarded for its expertise in the technology field, particularly for intellectual property and ICT law issues, and has a dedicated employment law group and dispute resolution lawyers specialising in commercial and intellectual property matters.

The firm’s property services group has exceptional knowledge of and experience in property and development work, including commercial sales and leasing, options, capital funding, joint venture and consortium agreements and associated construction, public procurement, planning and environmental issues, both contentious and non-contentious. Clients include owners and occupiers, promoters, developers, end-users, investors and portfolio managers.

Hewitsons’ substantial and highly respected private wealth unit provides specialised advice on tax planning, charity and agricultural law, trusts and probate to individuals and trustees whose wealth derives from family companies, listed market and other financial investments, commercial and agricultural property and landed estates.

Department Name Email Telephone
Private Wealth Clare Colacicchi clarecolacicchi@hewitsons.com 01604 463317
Construction Colin Jones colinjones@hewitsons.com 01223 532731
Agriculture Denise Wilkinson denisewilkinson@hewitsons.com 01223 532743
Banking and finance Neil Harpham neilharpham@hewitsons.com 01604 463301
Charities Chris Knight chrisknight@hewitsons.com 01604 463103
Corporate James Lawrence jameslawrence@hewitsons.com 01223 532716
Commercial Bill Thatcher billthatcher@hewitsons.com 01223 532709
Construction Tim Richards timrichards@hewitsons.com 01908 247011
Dispute resolution Dominic Hopkins dominichopkins@hewitsons.com 01604 233233
Education Chris Knight chrisknight@hewitsons.com 01604 463103
Employment Nicholas Hall nicholashall@hewitsons.com 01604 463375
Information Technology Andrew Priest andrewpriest@hewitsons.com 01223 532746
Intellectual property Mark Elmslie markelmslie@hewitsons.com 01223 532720
Pensions Christopher Nuttall christophernuttall@hewitsons.com 01604 463134
Private wealth Daniel Curtis danielcurtis@hewitsons.com 01223 461155
Public sector Tim Richards timrichards@hewitsons.com 01908 247011
Real Estate Development Claire Howard-Amos clairehoward-amos@hewitsons.com 01604 463323
Residential property Tim Middleton timmiddleton@hewitsons.com 01223 461155
Sport Ben Moorhead benmoorhead@hewitsons.com 020 7400 6578
Photo Name Position Profile
 Lynne Adams  photo Lynne Adams
 Carolyn Bagley  photo Carolyn Bagley
 Maria Hearne  photo Maria Hearne
 Yvette Morgan  photo Yvette Morgan
 Sunita Punj  photo Sunita Punj
 Tim Richards  photo Tim Richards
 David Wells  photo David Wells
 Campbell Wilson  photo Campbell Wilson
Number of UK partners : 45
Number of other UK fee-earners : 95
English (fluent)
French
German
Italian
Society of Trust & Estate Practitioners (STEP)