The Legal 500

Twitter Logo Youtube Circle Icon LinkedIn Icon
HANOVER HOUSE, 14 HANOVER SQUARE, LONDON, W1S 1HP, ENGLAND
Tel:
Work 020 7667 5000
Fax:
Fax 020 7667 5100
DX:
44617 MAYFAIR
Email:
Web:
www.harbottle.com

Main work contacts

CategoryContact
Advertising & Marketing
Managing partner Glen Atchison (+44 (0)20 7667 5000 | glen.atchison@harbottle.com)
Charities
Advertising and marketing Andy Millmore (+44 (0)20 7667 5000 | andy.millmore@harbottle.com), Sacha Wilson (+44 (0)20 7667 5000 | sacha.wilson@harbottle.com), Michael Lister (+44 (0)20 7667 5000 | michael.lister@harbottle.com)
Corporate & Commercial
Corporate Finance
Corporate Recovery & Insolvency
Broadcasting Sacha Wilson (+44 (0)20 7667 5000 | sacha.wilson@harbottle.com)
Data Protection
Charities and philanthropy David Scott (+44 (0)20 7667 5000 | david.scott@harbottle.com), Colin Howes (+44 (0)20 7667 5000 | colin.howes@harbottle.com)
Dispute Resolution
Employment Howard Hymanson (+44 (0)20 7667 5000 | howard.hymanson@harbottle.com), Marian Derham (+44 (0)20 7667 5000 | marian.derham@harbottle.com), Yvonne Gallagher (+44 (0)20 7667 5000 | yvonne.gallagher@harbottle.com)
Commercial property Leo Marino (+44 (0)20 7667 5000 | leo.marino@harbottle.com), Robert Reilly (+44 (0)20 7667 5000 | robert.reilly@harbottle.com)
Family Catherine Bedford (+44 (0)20 7667 5000 | catherine.bedford@harbottle.com)
Film & TV
Corporate and commercial Colin Howes (+44 (0)20 7667 5000 | colin.howes@harbottle.com)
Intellectual Property
Corporate finance Tim Parker (+44 (0)20 7667 5000 | tim.parker@harbottle.com)
Interactive Entertainment
Corporate recovery and insolvency Rhys Llewellyn (+44 (0)20 7667 5000 | rhys.llewellyn@harbottle.com)
Music Chloe Forsyth (+44 (0)20 7667 5000 | chloe.forsyth@harbottle.com)
Data protection Daniel Tozer (+44 (0)20 7667 5000 | daniel.tozer@harbottle.com), Sacha Wilson (+44 (0)20 7667 5000 | sacha.wilson@harbottle.com), Jo Sanders (+44 (0)20 7667 5000 | jo.sanders@harbottle.com)
Personal Injury
Private Client
Publishing Alex Hardy (+44 (0)20 7667 5000 | alex.hardy@harbottle.com)
Dispute resolution Andy Millmore (+44 (0)20 7667 5000 | andy.millmore@harbottle.com), Sandi Simons (+44 (0)20 7667 5000 | sandi.simons@harbottle.com)
Reputation Management
Retail & Fashion
E-commerce and new media Sacha Wilsom (+44 (0)20 7667 5000 | sacha.wilson@harbottle.com), Daniel Tozer (+44 (0)20 7667 5000 | daniel.tozer@harbottle.com)
Sport & Sponsorship
Tax
Technology
Theatre
Venture Capital
Fashion Sandi Simons (+44 (0)20 7667 5000 | sandi.simons@harbottle.com)
Film & television Jonathan Berger (+44 (0)20 7667 5000 | jonathan.berger@harbottle.com), Sarah Lazarides (+44 (0)20 7667 5000 | sarah.lazarides@harbottle.com)
Information technology Daniel Tozer (+44 (0)20 7667 5000 | daniel.tozer@harbottle.com)
Intellectual property Andy Millmore (+44 (0)20 7667 5000 | andy.millmore@harbottle.com), Jeremy Morton (+44 (0)20 7667 5000 | jeremy.morton@harbottle.com)
Interactive entertainment Mark Phillips (+44 (0)20 7667 5000 | mark.phillips@harbottle.com), Alan Moss (+44 (0)20 7667 5000 | alan.moss@harbottle.com)
Media Finance Abigail Payne (+44 (0)20 7667 5000 | abigail.payne@harbottle.com), Alan Moss (+44 (0)20 7667 5000 | alan.moss@harbottle.com)
Personal injury Daniel Marks (+44 (0)20 7667 5000 | daniel.marks@harbottle.com)
Private capital David Scott (+44 (0)20 7667 5000 | david.scott@harbottle.com)
Private wealth Glen Atchison (+44 (0)20 7667 5000 | glen.atchison@harbottle.com), Chris Moorcroft (+44 (0)20 7667 5000 | chris.moorcroft@harbottle.com)
Private weath Jonathan Burt (+44 (0)20 7667 5000 | jonathan.burt@harbottle.com)
Reputation management Gerrard Tyrrell (+44 (0)20 7667 5000 | gerrard.tyrrell@harbottle.com), John Kelly (+44 (0)20 7667 5000 | john.kelly@harbottle.com), Jo Sanders (+44 (0)20 7667 5000 | jo.sanders@harbottle.com)
Residential property Melanie Benson (+44 (0)20 7667 5000 | melanie.benson@harbottle.com)
Retail Melanie Benson (+44 (0)20 7667 5000 | melanie.benson@harbottle.com)
Sport & sponsorship Bob Mitchell (+44 (0)20 7667 5000 | bob.mitchell@gmail.com), Michael Lister (+44 (0)20 7667 5000 | bob.mitchell@gmail.com)
Tax Gary Ashford (+44 (0)20 7667 5000 | gary.ashford@gmail.com)
Theatre and performing arts Neil Adleman (+44 (0)20 7667 5000 | neil.adleman@harbottle.com)
Venture capital Tony Littner (+44 (0)20 7667 5000 | tony.littner@harbottle.com)

Legal Developments by:
Harbottle & Lewis LLP

  • Account of profits v damages: when and why does it matter?

    Since 2007, Experience Hendrix LLC(Hendrix) and Times Newspapers Ltd (Times) have been litigating over the intellectual property rights (IPR) in a recording of a Jimi Hendrix concert that took place at the Royal Albert Hall in February 1969. In September 2006 Times distributed a free CD, or covermount, with each edition of The Sunday Times . A claim was issued against Times in March 2007 for infringement of copyright and performers’ rights under the Copyright, Designs and Patents Act 1988. In March 2008 the High Court held that Times had infringed the IPR in the recording and Hendrix elected to have an inquiry as to damages in respect of that infringement. The case has given rise to some complex issues as to the basis for the quantification of damages, and the inquiry is due to be heard next year, but the case is also a reminder of more general considerations in relation to remedies in IPR cases, and why the basis for quantification of those remedies can have far reaching consequences for a successful claimant.

    - Harbottle & Lewis LLP

Legal Developments in the UK

Legal Developments and updates from the leading lawyers in each jurisdiction. To contribute, send an email request to