Firm Profile > Al Tamimi & Company In Association with Adv. Mohammed Al Marri > Doha, Qatar

Al Tamimi & Company In Association with Adv. Mohammed Al Marri
19TH FLOOR, TORNADO TOWER
MAJLIS AL TAAWON STREET, PO BOX 23443
DOHA
Qatar

Banking, finance and capital markets Tier 1

For some, Al Tamimi & Company In Association with Adv. Mohammed Al Marri is the 'go-to firm for finance matters in Doha', particularly in the areas of debt capital markets (DCM) and aviation financing. A prime example of the team's work in the DCM space was advising on Masraf Al Rayan's $2bn sukuk programme. Practice head Matthew Heaton advises on aircraft financing, but is also skilled in acquisition, leverage, corporate and real estate financing. Rafiq Jaffer, who is based in Dubai, primarily leads on DCM matters.

Practice head(s):

Testimonials

‘Matthew Heaton is responsive and user-friendly. I enjoy working with him.’

Key clients

Doha Bank

Masraf Al Rayan

Credit Agricol

Commercial, corporate and M&A Tier 1

Al Tamimi & Company In Association with Adv. Mohammed Al Marri is a key name in the market for M&A and restructuring, as well as advising international companies on establishing entities in Qatar. Frank Lucente jointly leads the practice and advised Uber on its $3.1bn merger with Careem. Fellow practice head Ahmed Jaafir assisted HSBC Bank Middle East with the Qatari elements surrounding the bank's changing of its head office from Jersey to Dubai. He also advised Microsoft on establishing a foreign-owned entity in Qatar. Senior associate Zeina Al Nabih recently transferred from the firm's Amman office and is experienced in M&A and commercial agreements.

Practice head(s):

Key clients

Microsoft

Weatherford

Al Baraka

HSBC

Hewlett Packard

GE/Baker Hughes

Canon Middle East

Axa Insurance

Samsung

Al Khaliji Bank

Commercial Bank of Qatar

Uber

Dispute resolution Tier 1

Al Tamimi & Company In Association with Adv. Mohammed Al Marri is 'very practical and decisive' and, through its affiliation with local advocate Mohammed Al Marri, is capable of acting in the local courts too. Hani Al Naddaf leads the team and is very active in construction-related disputes. Roy Georgiades was recently promoted to partner and acted for BNP Paribas in a bank guarantee dispute against Carrillion. Mohammed Al Marri is the key name when acting before the courts but also works on arbitration cases.

Practice head(s):

Testimonials

They are always very attentive, send us the information quickly and are willing to listen at all times.’

Key clients

QatarKentz

Synohydro

Nestlé

UTC

China Railway

SEB

FIFA

BNP Paribas

Standard Chartered Bank

Hitachi

Salam International

Etihad Airways

Swatch Group

Richemont

Jaidah Group

HSBC Middle East Ltd.

Projects, real estate and construction Tier 1

The team at Al Tamimi & Company In Association with Adv. Mohammed Al Marri has expertise in contentious and non-contentious issues surrounding the construction and development of major power and infrastructure projects. The practice is led by Roy Georgiades alongside senior associate Noelle Tannous; both focus on litigation and arbitration pertaining to major projects in the region.

Practice head(s):

Testimonials

‘They are very practical and decisive.’

‘Noelle Tannous and Roy Georgiades are very attentive and willing to listen at all times. They communicate their information quickly.’

Key clients

Fino International LLC

The firm: Al Tamimi & Company is the largest law firm in the Middle East with 17 offices across nine countries. Established in 1989, we are a full service commercial firm combining knowledge, experience and expertise to ensure our clients have access to the best legal solutions that are commercially sound and cost effective.

Our clients are at the centre of everything that we do – their business is our business.
Our strength comes from our clients’ trust that we will provide them the quality of service that they deserve. Therefore, we make it our business to find creative and commercial legal solutions whilst focusing on making the law work for them. Over the years, we have acted for a wide variety of clients, including: government bodies; government or semi-government owned entities; local, regional and international companies; banks and financial institutions; along with both international and regional law firms.

We’re not like everyone else.
As a firm, we have the ability to practice local law in each of the nine jurisdictions where we have a presence. This means that each of our licensed litigators have rights of audience before local courts. We are proud of this unique strength, which truly sets us apart from the competition.

Doing Business in the Middle East?
So are we! Our regional footprint means that wherever our clients are doing business in the region, we are there to support them. Our expansion has been strategic and client driven. Our values define who we are and what is important to us. As a firm, we have grown based on a set of core values, which are integral to all that we do.

Areas of practice: As the Middle East’s largest law firm Al Tamimi & Company has vast experience acting for clients across many jurisdictions in the region. Through our full service offering we are able to provide legal advice with a one-stop-shop for all your legal requirements. We offer specialist legal advice in the following practice areas: arbitration; aviation; automotive; banking and finance; capital markets; commercial; construction and infrastructure; corporate services; education; employment and incentives; Expo 2020; family business and private wealth; financial crime; FMCG; healthcare; hotels and leisure; mergers and acquisitions; projects; rail; regulatory; shipping; sports and events management; transport and logistics.

Department Name Email Telephone
Chairman Essam Al Tamimi e.tamimi@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Senior Partner Husam Hourani h.hourani@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Managing Partner Samer Qudah s.qudah@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Deputy Managing Partner Mohamed Al Marzouqi m.almarzouqi@tamimi.com +971 2 813 0444
Deputy Managing Partner Jody Waugh j.waugh@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Arbitration Thomas Snider t.snider@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Arbitration Hassan Arab h.arab@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Aviation Yazan Saoudi y.saoudi@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Banking & Finance Husam Hourani h.hourani@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Banking & Finance Jody Waugh j.waugh@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Capital Markets Andrew Tarbuck a.tarbuck@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Commercial advisory Willem Steenkamp w.steenkamp@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Competition law Omar Obeidat o.obeidat@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Construction & Infrastructure Euan Lloyd e.lloyd@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Corporate governance Andrea Tithecott a.tithecott@tamimi.com +971 2 813 0444
Corporate structuring Samer Qudah s.qudah@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Corporate structuring Omer Khan o.khan@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Corporate Structuring Izabella Szadkowska i.szadkowska@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Debt capital markets Andrew Tarbuck a.tarbuck@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Debt capital markets Rafiq Jaffer r.jaffer@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Corporate Services Izabella Szadkowska i.szadkowska@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Education Ivor McGettigan i.mcgettigan@tamimi.com +971 2 813 0444
Education Ahmad Saleh ah.saleh@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Employment & Incentives Samir Kantaria s.kantaria@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Employment & Incentives Gordon Barr g.barr@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Family Business & Private Wealth Richard Catling r.catling@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Financial Crime Khalid Al Hamrani k.alhamrani@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Financial Crime Ibtissem Lassoued i.lassoued@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Financial services regulation and enforcement Jody Waugh j.waugh@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Financial services regulation and enforcement Rita Jaballah r.jaballah@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Healthcare Andrea Tithecott a.tithecott@tamimi.com +971 2 813 0444
Hotels & Leisure Tara Marlow t.marlow@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Insurance Yazan Saoudi y.saoudi@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
IP Omar Obeidat o.obeidat@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
IP Ahmad Saleh ah.saleh@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Legislative drafting Mohammed Al Marzouqi m.almarzouqi@tamimi.com +971 2 813 0444
Legislative drafting Hassan ElTahir h.eltahir@tamimi.com +971 2 813 0444
Litigation Hussein Eisa Al Shiri h.shiri@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Litigation Ahmed Allouz a.allouz@tamimi.com +974 4 364 1641
Litigation Hassan Arab h.arab@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Maritime and shipping Omar Omar o.omar@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Maritime and shipping Yazan Saoudi y.saoudi@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Mergers & Acquisitions Abdullah Mutawi a.mutawi@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Private client services Essam Al Tamimi e.tamimi@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Private equity Richard Catling r.catling@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Private equity Abdullah Mutawi a.mutawi@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Private Notary Taiba Al Safar t.alsafar@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Projects Mark Brown m.brown@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Real estate Tara Marlow t.marlow@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Real estate Mohammed Kawasmi m.kawasmi@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Rail Foutoun Hajjar f.hajjar@tamimi.com +973 1710 8933
Regulatory Andrea Tithecott a.tithecott@tamimi.com +971 2 813 0444
Sports & events management Steve Bainbridge s.bainbridge@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Tax law Shiraz Khan s.khan@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Technology, media and telecommunications Martin Hayward m.hayward@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Technology, media and telecommunications Fiona Robertson f.robertson@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Transport & Logistics Yazan Saoudi y.saoudi@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Transport & Logistics Omar Omar o.omar@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Automotive Samir Kantaria s.kantaria@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Aviation Yazan Saoudi y.saoudi@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Education Ivor McGettigan i.mcgettigan@tamimi.com +971 2 813 0444
Expo 2020 Steve Bainbridge s.bainbridge@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
FMCG Samer Qudah s.qudah@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Innovation, Technology & Entrepreneurship Ahmad Saleh ah.saleh@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
China Group Jody Waugh j.waugh@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
India Group Samir Kantaria s.kantaria@tamimi.com +971 4 331 7161
Korea Group Omar Omar o.omar@tamimi.com +971 4 364 1641
Photo Name Position Profile
Mr Hani Al Naddaf  photo Mr Hani Al Naddaf Partner,  Head of Litigation – Qatar
 Ahmed Jaafir  photo Ahmed Jaafir Partner,  Head of Corporate Structuring (Qatar)
 Frank Lucente  photo Frank Lucente Partner
Number of lawyers worldwide : 370
:
Association of International Petroleum Negotiators (AIPN)
Australian Business Group
ABA (American Bar Association)
British Business Group
Dubai International Financial Centre (DIFC) Courts
Chartered Institute of Arbitrators
Employment Lawyers Association
Energy Institute
International Federation of Industrial Property Attorneys (FICPI)
GCC Commercial Arbitration Centre
International Council for Commercial Arbitration

Diversity and Inclusion at Al Tamimi & Company

Al Tamimi & Company is committed to maintaining its high levels of diversity.  With over 50 different nationalities and cultural backgrounds amongst our people, we celebrate diversity.  This is one law firm where there is no stereotype, enabling our people to be who they are and value the differences in one another.

The Firm is committed to providing a supportive, inclusive and respectful work environment which recognises and values the diversity of all its employees, stakeholders and clients. We acknowledge that every employee, regardless of gender, age, ethnicity or cultural background, disability, religious belief, political affiliation, socioeconomic origin, or family responsibilities can make a valuable contribution to achieving the business outcomes. Moreover, we strongly believe outcomes are strengthened with a diverse team.

The Firm promotes an environment where equity and inclusion is encouraged and supported and where all forms of discrimination, harassment and bullying are eliminated. 

We will achieve this objective by: 

  • Raising awareness of and promoting workplace diversity within the Firm.
  • Integrating the principles of workplace diversity into business and human resource management policies, practices and systems.
  • Encouraging employees to identify and maximise use of their life skills and experiences in the workplace.
  • Encouraging managers to recognise and draw on the diversity of their employees.
  • Ensuring employees are not subjected to discrimination or unfair treatment in the workplace on grounds such as, ethnicity, race, gender, age, physical or mental disability or personal responsibilities.
  • Upholding and promote the Al Tamimi & Company Values, Employment Principles and Code of Conduct

 

Ensuring employees and those seeking employment with the Firm receive fair and equitable treatment in accessing employment opportunities, employees selection processes, career development and mobility arrangements