The Legal 500

Twitter Logo Youtube Circle Icon LinkedIn Icon
MOLENWERF 16, 1014 BG, P.O. BOX 58188, 1040HD, NETHERLANDS
Tel:
Work +31 20 550 6666
Fax:
Fax +31 20 550 6777
Email:
Web:
www.kvdl.com

Main work contacts

CategoryContact
Banking and finance Bart de Man (+31 20 5506 841 | bart.de.man@kvdl.com), Joris van Horzen (+31 20 5506 655 | joris.van.horzen@kvdl.com), Jan Broekhuizen (+31 20 5506 629 | jan.broekhuizen@kvdl.com)
Commercial and International Trade Martine de Koning (+31 20 5506 639 | martine.de.koning@kvdl.com)
Competition/European Annemieke van der Beek (+31 20 5506 684 | annemieke.van.der.beek@kvdl.com)
Construction and Real Estate Nico Jacobs (+31 20 5506686 | nico.jacobs@kvdl.com)
Labour and Employment Eva Knipschild (+31 20 5506 840 | eva.knipschild@kvdl.com), Chris Nekeman (+31 20 5506 676 | chris.nekeman@kvdl.com), Soo-Ja Schijf (+31 20 5506 832 | s.schijf@kvdl.com)
Insurance and liability Frits van der Woude (+31 20 5506 879 | frits.van.der.woude@kvdl.com), Chris van Dijk (+31 20 5506 661 | chris.van.dijk@kvdl.com), Erik van Orsouw (+31 20 5506 878 | erik.van.orsouw@kvdl.com), Peter van den Broek (+31 20 5506 669 | peter.van.den.broek@kvdl.com)
Healthcare Fenna van Dijk (+31 20 5506 680 | fenna.van.dijk@kvdl.com)
Corporate Transactions Meltem Koning-Gungormez (+31 20 5506 621 | meltem.koning@kvdl.com), Erik Stegerhoek (+31 20 5506 627 | erik.stegerhoek@kvdl.com)
IT Patrick Wit (+31 20 5506 642 | patrick.wit@kvdl.com), Reinoud Westerdijk (+31 20 5506 638 | reinoud.westerdijk@kvdl.com), Christoph Jeloschek (+31 20 5506 846 | christoph.jeloschek@kvdl.com), Joost Schmaal (+31 20 5506 883 | joost.schmaal@kvdl.com)
Litigation and Arbitration Christoph Jeloschek (+31 20 5506 846 | christoph.jeloschek@kvdl.com)
Media and Intellectual Property Jens van den Brink (+31 20 5506 843 | jens.van.den.brink@kvdl.com), Alfred Meijboom (+31 20 5506 633 | alfred.meijboom@kvdl.com), Maarten Schut (+31 20 5506 644 | maarten.schut@kvdl.com)
Public Procurement Reinoud Westerdijk (+31 20 5506 638 | reinoud.westerdijk@kvdl.com)
Privacy Hester de Vries (+31 20 5506 657 | hester.de.vries@kvdl.com), Nicole Wolters Ruckert (+31 20 5506 646 | nicole.wolters.ruckert@kvdl.com), Quirine Tjeenk Willink (+31 20 5506 615 | Quirine.Tjeenk.Willink@kvdl.com)
Public Law Jan van der Grinten (+31 20 5506 852 | jan.van.der.grinten@kvdl.com)
Mediation Eva Knipschild (+31 20 5506 840 | eva.knipschild@kvdl.com)
Real Estate and Construction Richard-Jan Roks (+31 20 5506 650 | richard-jan.roks@kvdl.com), Eline Goemens (+31 20 5506 664 | eline.goemans@kvdl.com)
Insurance and Liability Petra Oskam (+31 20 5506 685 | petra.oskam@kvdl.com)

Legal Developments by:
Kennedy Van der Laan

  • New Late Payments Directive

    Despite the implementation of Directive 2000/35/EC on combating late payment in commercial transactions in 2002, the European Commission (the “Commission”) concluded in 2008 that late payments were still widespread in the EU. It also turned out that public authorities in certain Member States were stipulating unjustifiably long contractual payment periods for transactions.
    - Kennedy Van der Laan

Legal Developments in Netherlands

Legal Developments and updates from the leading lawyers in each jurisdiction. To contribute, send an email request to
  • New Late Payments Directive

    Despite the implementation of Directive 2000/35/EC on combating late payment in commercial transactions in 2002, the European Commission (the “Commission”) concluded in 2008 that late payments were still widespread in the EU. It also turned out that public authorities in certain Member States were stipulating unjustifiably long contractual payment periods for transactions.
  • Amendment of the Collective Redundancy Notification Act

    On 1 March 2012 the Collective Redundancy Notification Act (Wet Melding Collective Outslug, "WACO") will be amended. What changes does this involve?
  • New Corporate Law Legislation

    In the field of corporate law, there are four (coming) Acts that attract attention, namely the introduction of the tenth book of the Dutch Civil Code, the amendment of the Marital Property Act and, to conclude, the coming entry into effect of the Management and Supervision Act and the Flexibilization of BV Act. Please find below a short explanation of each Act.
  • Shipping & Transport - Netherlands

    Attaching maritime assets in insolvency
    - AKD
  • The employment of foreign workers. What issues do you need to be aware of as an employer?

    The employment of foreign workers regularly raises questions. A brief summary of the most important areas of attention will be dealt with in this article.
    - AKD
  • Non-solicitation agreement violated via LinkedIn

    A non-solicitation agreement usually restricts the ability of an employee - after an employment contract has ended - to approach the clients of the former employer. The former employee of a software company recently discovered that the scope of such an agreement can also include contacts made via LinkedIn.
    - AKD
  • NETHERLANDS AS A GLOBAL FINANCE CENTRE

    Few jurisdictions can boast a foreign direct investment record like the Netherlands. As the world's seventh largest inward receiver of investments, housing approximately 9000 foreign-owned companies, the country's dynamic business environment provides an invaluable insight into macro investment trends.
    - AKD
  • Forming a company in the Netherlands

    The Netherlands and Dutch law The Netherlands is a perfect business location for foreign entrepreneurs (2,000 subsidiaries in Amsterdam, 140,000 jobs). It is the gateway to densely populated Western Europe and has a well-developed logistic and technical infrastructure.
  • Leasing of commercial premises in the Netherlands

    Normal 0 false false false EN-GB X-NONE X-NONE MicrosoftInternetExplorer4 /* Style Definitions */ table.MsoNormalTable {mso-style-name:"Table Normal"; mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0; mso-tstyle-colband-size:0; mso-style-noshow:yes; mso-style-priority:99; mso-style-qformat:yes; mso-style-parent:""; mso-padding-alt:0cm 5.4pt 0cm 5.4pt; mso-para-margin:0cm; mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:10.0pt; font-family:"Times New Roman","serif";} Dutch Law distinguishes two categories of commercial premises. Depending on the type of premises or the purpose for which it is used, they are referred to as:
  • Employment of foreign workers in the Netherlands

    The employment of foreign workers in the Netherlands regularly raises questions. What issues do you need to be aware of as an employer? A brief summary of the most important areas of attention will be dealt with in this article.
    - AKD