The Legal 500

Twitter Logo Youtube Circle Icon LinkedIn Icon

DLA Piper LLP (US)

80 SOUTH EIGHTH STREET, SUITE 2800, MINNEAPOLIS, MINNESOTA 55402-2103, USA
Tel:
Work +1 612 524 3000
Fax:
Fax +1 612 524 3001
Web:
www.dlapiper.com

Main work contacts

CategoryContact
Arbitration
Global Co-Chairman Americas Co-Chairman Chair, Latin America Practice Roger Meltzer (+1 212 335 4550 | roger.meltzer@dlapiper.com)
Capital Markets, Banking & Finance
Managing Partner, Argentina Marcelo Etchebarne (+1 347 304 1948 | m.etchebarne@cekd.com)
Government Enforcement/FCPA
Managing Partner, Brazil Fabio Perrone Campos Mello (+55 21 3262 3027 | fcamposmello@cmalaw.com)
Corporate & M&A
Managing Partner, Chile Matias Zegers (+56 2 2798 2604 | mzegers@dlapiper.cl), Felipe Bahamondez (+56 2 2798 2600 | fbahamondez@dlapiper.cl)
Hospitality & Leisure
Employment & Labor
Managing Partner, Colombia Camilo MartĂ­nez BeltrĂĄn (+57 1 3174720 | cmartinez@dlapipermb.com)
Project Finance & Energy
Managing Partner, Mexico Eduardo GallĂĄstegui Armella (+52 55 5261 1807 | eduardo.gallastegui@dlapiper.com)
Real Estate
Managing Partner, Peru Ricardo Escobar (+511 616 1200 | rescobar@dlapiperpbe.com)
Tax
Managing Partner, Puerto Rico Nikos Buxeda (+1 787 945 9114 | nikos.buxeda@dlapiper.com)
Chair, Capital Markets Practice Group Christopher C. Paci (+1 212 335 4970 | christopher.paci@us.dlapiper.com)
US Head of Latin America Corporate Francisco J. Cerezo (+1 305 423 8551 | francisco.cerezo@us.dlapiper.com)
Global Co-Chair, Restructuring Practice Richard A. Chesley (+1 847 858 6133 | richard.chesley@us.dlapiper.com)

Legal Developments by:
DLA Piper LLP (US)

  • Sentencing guidelines for corporate manslaughter

    In February 2010 the Sentencing Guidelines Council (the SGC) issued definitive guidelines to courts on imposing appropriate sentences for corporate manslaughter and health and safety offences causing death. The SGC states that fines imposed on companies found guilty of corporate manslaughter should not fall below £500,000, while fines in respect of health and safety offences that are a significant cause of death should be at least £100,000. Crucially, the SGC declined to provide for a fixed link between the imposed fine and the turnover or profitability of the offending company.

    - DLA Piper UK LLP

Legal Developments worldwide

Legal Developments and updates from the leading lawyers in each jurisdiction. To contribute, send an email request to