The Legal 500

Twitter Logo Youtube Circle Icon LinkedIn Icon

Carey Olsen

PO BOX 98, CAREY HOUSE, LES BANQUES, ST PETER PORT, GY1 4BZ, GUERNSEY
Tel:
Work 01481 727272
Fax:
Fax 01481 711052
Email:
Web:
www.careyolsen.com

Main work contacts

CategoryContact
Banking and finance
Guernsey managing partner; head of trusts and private wealth (Guernsey) Russell Clark ( russell.clark@careyolsen.com)
Corporate
Partner, corporate Annette Alexander ( annette.alexander@careyolsen.com), Christopher Anderson ( christopher.anderson@careyolsen.com), Andrew Boyce ( andrew.boyce@careyolsen.com), Tom Carey ( tom.carey@careyolsen.com), David Crosland ( david.crosland@careyolsen.com), Tony Lane ( tony.lane@careyolsen.com)
Dispute resolution and litigation
Employment, pensions and incentives
Investment funds
Listing services
Partner, dispute resolution and litigation Tim Corfield ( tim.corfield@careyolsen.com), Mark Dunster ( mark.dunster@careyolsen.com), Elaine Gray ( elaine.gray@careyolsen.com), John Greenfield ( john.greenfield@careyolsen.com)
Property law
Regulatory
Restructuring and insolvency
Partner, trusts and private wealth Konrad Friedlaender ( konrad.friedlaender@careyolsen.com), Natasha Kapp ( natasha.kapp@careyolsen.com)
Trusts and private wealth
Partner, head of dispute resolution and litigation (Guernsey) Karen Le Cras ( karen.lecras@careyolsen.com)
Partner, property Davey Le Marquand ( davey.lemarquand@careyolsen.com)
Partner, head of property (Guernsey) Jason Morgan ( jason.morgan@careyolsen.com)
Partner, head of corporate (Guernsey) Ben Morgan ( ben.morgan@careyolsen.com)

Legal Developments in Guernsey

Legal Developments and updates from the leading lawyers in each jurisdiction. To contribute, send an email request to
  • In re B; B v T (Court of Appeal, 11 July 2012)

    A trustee's duty of confidentiality has recently been discussed and to some extent clarified in the recent Guernsey Court of Appeal decision of In re B; B v T (Court of Appeal, 11 July 2012). This summary has been prepared to provide you with a summary of the case as well as the general issues raised, but is not intended to cover all matters or to provide commentary.   This summary does not constitute legal advice.
  • The Company Administration Regime in Guernsey

    Introduction 
  • Guernsey Image Rights Legislation

    The Image Rights (Bailiwick of Guernsey) Ordinance 2012 (the Ordinance) and The Image Rights (Bailiwick of Guernsey) Regulations, 2012
  • Guernsey Foundations

    The Foundations (Guernsey) Law, 2012 (Law) is awaiting Royal assent, expected to be given by the end of the year or early next year. Whilst Guernsey is not the first jurisdiction to provide for foundations, the Law does provide a number of unique options for individuals wishing to take advantage of the benefits provided by foundations. The purpose of this note is to provide both a general summary of the features of a Guernsey foundation, as well as a summary of these unique options that will be available under the Law.
  • Competitive Guernsey

    Guernsey has been considering the introduction of local competition law since at least 2005 and by bringing into effect The Competition (Guernsey) Ordinance, 2012 on 1 August 2012, has introduced an effective Competition Law regime, to regulate the same 3 core areas recognized in most competition regimes, namely the abuse of a dominant position, anti-competitive arrangements, and mergers and acquisitions.
  • Friendly Rivalry? The Competition Laws of the Channel Islands

    • New Competition Law for Guernsey in force on 1 August 2012 • Jersey and Guernsey now both regulate the abuse of a dominant position, anti-competitive arrangements, and mergers and acquisitions • Key differences between the islands' competition laws • Overall, a pan-Channel Island approach to regulation
  • Channel Islands Stock Exchange (CISX) Rule Change Update

    Ogier Corporate Finance Limited (OCFL) is the market leader in providing listing agent services for the listing of securities on the Channel Islands Stock Exchange (CISX or the Exchange) having sponsored over 445 listings.
  • Channel Island Stock Exchange, LBG - Listing of Securities of Investment Funds

    The Channel Islands Stock Exchange, LBG (the Exchange or CISX) commenced operations on 27 October 1998 and is intended to provide recognised facilities for the listing and trading of securities issued by companies and investment funds.
  • Investment funds in Guernsey

    The investment funds industry in Guernsey has achieved significant growth in recent years. Statistics show that as at 30 June 2011 there was ÂŁ274.5 billion of assets under management in Guernsey.
  • Guernsey Companies Law - Office of the Registrar of Companies

    This memorandum has been prepared for the assistance of our clients in connection with the provisions relevant to the Office of the Registrar of Companies under the Companies (Guernsey) Law, 2008 (as amended) (the “Companies Law”).