The Legal 500

Twitter Logo Youtube Circle Icon LinkedIn Icon

Carey Olsen

47 ESPLANADE, ST HELIER, JE1 0BD, JERSEY
Tel:
Work 01534 888900
Fax:
Fax 01534 887744
Email:
Web:
www.careyolsen.com

Main work contacts

CategoryContact
Banking and finance
Group and Jersey managing partner; head of corporate (Jersey) Alex Ohlsson ( alex.ohlsson@careyolsen.com)
Corporate
Partner, corporate Kate Andrews ( kate.andrews@careyolsen.com), Guy Coltman ( guy.coltman@careyolsen.com), Peter German ( peter.german@careyolsen.com), Christopher Griffin ( christopher.griffin@careyolsen.com), Simon Marks ( simon.marks@careyolsen.com), Robert Milner ( robert.milner@careyolsen.com), James Mulholland ( james.mulholland@careyolsen.com), Daniel O'Connor ( daniel.oconnor@careyolsen.com), Robin Smith ( robin.smith@careyolsen.com), James Willmott ( james.willmott@careyolsen.com)
Dispute resolution and litigation
Employment, pensions and incentives
Partner, trusts and private wealth Keith Dixon ( keith.dixon@careyolsen.com), Alexa Saunders ( alexa.saunders@careyolsen.com)
Investment funds
Partner, dispute resolution and litigation Jeremy Garrood ( jeremy.garrood@careyolsen.com), William Grace ( william.grace@careyolsen.com), Marcus Pallot ( marcus.pallot@careyolsen.com)
Listing services
Property law
Regulatory
Restructuring and insolvency
Chairman; partner, head of dispute resolution and litigation (Jersey) John Kelleher ( john.kelleher@careyolsen.com)
Trusts and private wealth
Investment funds and private equity Andreas Kistler ( andreas.kistler@careyolsen.com)
Partner, head of property (Jersey) Christopher Philpott ( chris.philpott@careyolsen.com)
Partner, head of trusts and private wealth (Jersey) Siobhan Riley ( siobhan.riley@careyolsen.com)
Senior associate, corporate Matthew Brehaut ( matt.brehaut@careyolsen.com), Vaishali Gupta ( vaishali.gupta@careyolsen.com), Arya Hashemi ( arya.hashemi@careyolsen.com), Vicky La ( vicky.la@careyolsen.com), Colin Masterton ( colin.masterton@careyolsen.com), Imogen Payne ( imogen.payne@careyolsen.com), Emma Penney ( emma.penney@careyolsen.com)
Senior associate, dispute resolution and litigation) Andrew Chissick ( andrew.chissick@careyolsen.com)
Senior associate, trusts and private wealth Nina Silva ( nina.silva@careyolsen.com)

Legal Developments in Jersey

Legal Developments and updates from the leading lawyers in each jurisdiction. To contribute, send an email request to
  • Modernisation of Jersey‚Äôs pensions law

    Modernisation of Jersey’s pensions law
  • Jersey Opens the door to QROP‚Äôs

    Jersey opens the door to QROPs
  • Jersey Legislation Overview

    Jersey Legislation Overview
  • Civil Liability for Breaches of the Codes

    Civil Liability for Breaches of the Codes
  • AML Update: Review of 2014 amendments to the substantive offences

    AML Update: Review of 2014 amendments to the substantive offences under the Proceeds of Crime (Jersey) Law 1999 
  • The New Charities Law - a bright new dawn

    As of Friday 21 November 2014, the new Charities (Jersey) Law 2014 (the " Law ") (or at least certain parts of it) came into effect.  This represents a quantum leap forward for Jersey in the charity field.  The Law has introduced a new test for what is charitable (the " Charity Test "), has introduced the post of a Charity Commissioner and a Charity Tribunal, and in time will introduce standards that those who run charities in the Island will have to abide by.  It is hoped that the Law will enable the Island to flourish as a centre for the administration of charitable and philanthropic structures.
  • New Managed Account Regime for Jersey Hedge Fund Managers

    An exemption which will enable Jersey-regulated fund managers to be appointed in relation to managed accounts has now been introduced.  This will enable hedge fund managers that are already regulated under the Financial Services (Jersey) Law (FS Law) in Jersey to carry out fund services business (FSB) to also service qualifying segregated managed accounts (QSMAs) without the need to seek additional regulation for the conduct of investment business under the FS Law.
  • The Security Interests (Jersey) Law 2012: Changes to Jersey's security regime

    On 2 January 2014, the Security Interests (Jersey) Law 2012 came into force in respect of Jersey law security over intangible movable property (e.g. shares/securities, bank accounts and custody assets).  The new law replaces the Security Interests (Jersey) Law 1983 (which was in force for the last three decades) and introduces a number of important changes which modernise Jersey's security regime.
  • Exclusive and Inherent Jurisdictions: to boldly go where no Court has gone before?

    On 26 November 2014, the Privy Council delivered judgment in the long-running case of Crociani & Others v. Crociani & Others [2014] UKPC 40 .  The case is of interest to trustees because it provides conclusive and binding guidance on the treatment of exclusive jurisdiction clauses in trust deeds.  However, it also raises questions as to the fundamental nature of the inherent supervisory jurisdiction of the Royal Court in connection with trust matters, and whether it is in fact broader than previously thought.
  • Accessing EU Institutional investor capital

    Luxembourg is one of the largest global investment fund domiciles, benefiting from the following factors: