The Legal 500

Twitter Logo Youtube Circle Icon LinkedIn Icon

Tees Law

TEES HOUSE,, 95 LONDON ROAD, BISHOP'S STORTFORD, CM23 3GW, ENGLAND
Tel:
Work 01279 755200
Fax:
Fax 01279 758400
DX:
50404 BISHOP'S STORTFORD
Email:
Web:
www.teeslaw.com

Main work contacts

CategoryContact
Senior Partner David Redfern (01279 710603 | david.redfern@teeslaw.com)
Group Managing Director Ashton Hunt (01279 710660 | ashton.hunt@teeslaw.com)
Head of Commercial and Civil and Regulatory litigation Darren Perks (01279 710619 | darren.perks@teeslaw.com)
Head of Rural, Private Client Letitia Glaister (01763 295850 | letitia.glaister@teeslaw.com)
Head of Clinical Negligence Janine Collier (01223 702303 | janine.collier@teeslaw.com)
Joint Head of Commercial property Mark Carter (01799 582789 | mark.carter@teeslaw.com)
Head of Rural, Commercial David Miller (01279 710657 | david.miller@teeslaw.com)
Head of Family Sally Powell (01279 710651 | sally.powell@teeslaw.com)
Head of Business Law, Employment Robert Whitaker (01245 293197 | robert.whitaker@teeslaw.com)
Head of Residential Property Allan Wright (01279 322504 | allan.wright@teeslaw.com)
Joint Head of Commercial Property Aaron Cane (01277 268398 | aaron.cane@teeslaw.com)
Joint Head of Private Client Nicola Havers (01279 322516 | nicola.havers@teeslaw.com), Sarah Walker (01279 322518 | sarah.walker@teeslaw.com)

Legal Developments in the UK

Legal Developments and updates from the leading lawyers in each jurisdiction. To contribute, send an email request to
  • Court of Justice rules on source of income for Derivative Residence applications

    On 2 October 2019, the Court of Justice delivered its judgment in Bajratari v Secretary of State for the Home Department (Directive 2004/38/EC) Case C-93/18 which concerns Chen applications and the source of funds for self-sufficiency. 
  • End of the ‚Äėcentre of life test‚Äô in Surinder Singh cases?

    In the recent case of¬† ZA (Reg 9. EEA Regs; abuse of rights) Afghanistan ¬† [2019] UKUT 281 (IAC ), the Upper Tribunal found that there is no basis in EU law for the centre of life test, as set out in Regulation 9(3)(a) of the Immigration (European Economic Area) Regulations 2016 (the ‚ÄúRegulations‚ÄĚ). It further found that it is not to be applied when Judges assess ¬†Surinder Singh ¬†cases that appear before them.
  • Terms of employment as a sole representative

    In this article we examine the working arrangements of sole representatives, looking at the terms and conditions of employment that the Home Office will expect a sole representative to have in order to qualify as a representative of an overseas business.  
  • Can Sole Representatives Be Shareholders?

    The Immigration Rules require that an applicant for a¬† sole representative visa ¬†is not ‚Äúa¬† majority shareholder in the overseas business‚ÄĚ.
  • Immigration Skills Charge - A Guide for Employers

    As a Sponsor, you may be required to pay the Immigration Skills Charge (ISC) each time you sponsor a migrant in the  Tier 2 General  or  Intra-Company Transfer (ICT) Long-term Staff  subcategory.
  • 5 FAQS about paragraph 320(11)

    In applications for entry clearance where the applicant has a negative immigration history in the UK, the application may be refused under the general grounds for refusal, which are found in part 9 of the Immigration Rules. Where an applicant has ¬†‚Äėpreviously contrived in a significant way to frustrate the intentions of the Immigration Rules‚Äô,¬† the application could be refused under paragraph 320(11). In this post we look at five frequently asked questions about paragraph 320(11).¬†
  • Multiple nationality and multiple citizenship (including dual nationality and dual citizenship)

    British nationality law permits multiple nationality and multiple citizenship, including dual nationality and dual citizenship.
  • Applying for Indefinite Leave to Remain in the Exceptional Talent or Promise Category

    The  Exceptional Talent  and Exceptional Promise categories are for individuals who are recognised leaders or emerging leaders in their field of expertise. There are a number of endorsing bodies for lots of different fields of work, including  artists and musicians ,  architects ,  digital experts ,  scientists  and  academics . While there isn’t an endorsing body for every expert, the growing list means that many individuals could enjoy the flexibility that this category has to offer. 
  • PARALLEL PROCEEDINGS ‚Äď CIVIL AND CRIMINAL

    Syedur Rahmanconsiders the factors that determine when civil proceedings can go ahead before,or at the same time as, criminal proceedings relating to the same circumstances.
  • Rights of appeal after the Immigration Act 2014

    The Immigration Act 2014 (‚Äúthe 2014 Act‚ÄĚ) reduced the circumstances in which the refusal of an immigration application will give rise to a right of appeal.¬†The¬† explanatory notes ¬†to the 2014 Act state that the Act was intended to restructure rights of appeal to the Immigration Tribunal. Previously, a right of appeal to the Immigration Tribunal existed against any of the 14 different immigration decisions listed in s.82 of the¬† Nationality, Immigration and Asylum Act 2002 ¬†(‚Äúthe 2002 Act‚ÄĚ). As explained below, whether or not the refusal of an immigration application currently generates a right of appeal depends on the subject matter of the application rather than its categorisation.