The Legal 500

Twitter Logo Youtube Circle Icon LinkedIn Icon

Anthony Harper

LEVEL 6, CHORUS HOUSE, 66 WYNDHAM STREET, AUCKLAND 1140, NEW ZEALAND
Tel:
Work +64 9 920 6400
Fax:
Fax +64 9 920 9599
Email:
Web:
www.anthonyharper.co.nz
Auckland, Christchurch

Main work contacts

CategoryContact
Automotive , Alex Campbell (+64 9 356 2625 | alex.campbell@ah.co.nz)
Banking and Finance
Banking and finance Nigel Oliver - Head of Practice (+64 3 364 3813 | nigel.oliver@ah.co.nz), Grant Goldsmith (+64 9 920 6477 | grant.goldsmith@ah.co.nz)
Construction
Corporate Advisory
Construction Ed Dunphy (+64 9 920 6460 | ed.dunphy@ah.co.nz), Karen Kemp (+64 9 920 6466 | karen.kemp@ah.co.nz)
Cross Border Investments
Employment
Corporate advisory Chris Dann - Head of Practice (+64 3 964 5835 | chris.dann@ah.co.nz), Alex Campbell (+64 9 356 2625 | alex.campbell@ah.co.nz), Megan Compton (+64 3 364 3823 | megan.compton@ah.co.nz), Gill Goodwin (+64 9 356 2643 | gill.goodwin@ah.co.nz), David Gould (+64 3 364 3811 | david.gould@ah.co.nz), Geoff Hosking (+64 9 920 6478 | geoff.hosking@ah.co.nz), Malcolm Hurley - Managing Partner (+64 9 920 6476 | malcolm.hurley@ah.co.nz), Ewe Leong Lim (+64 9 920 6468 | eweleong.lim@ah.co.nz), Nick Summerfield (+64 9 984 4234 | nick.summerfield@ah.co.nz)
Financial Services
Food and Beverage , Michael Moyes (+64 9 920 6474 | michael.moyes@ah.co.nz), Mark Gavin (+64 9 984 4233 | mark.gavin@ah.co.nz), Malcolm Hurley (+64 9 920 6476 | malcolm.hurley@ah.co.nz)
Health and Safety , Luana Nickles (+64 9 920 9267 | luana.nickles@ah.co.nz)
Hotels , Tim Barclay (+64 3 364 3829 | tim.barclay@ah.co.nz), Daniel French (+64 3 364 3824 | daniel.french@ah.co.nz), Alistair Law (+64 9 356 2648 | alistair.law@ah.co.nz)
Immigration , Nicola Tiffen (+64 3 964 5839 | nicola.tiffen@ah.co.nz)
Insolvency and Corporate Recovery
Insurance , Richard Smedley (+64 3 364 3825 | richard.smedley@ah.co.nz), Peter Woods (+64 3 364 3816 | peter.woods@ah.co.nz)
Intellectual Property
Litigation , Dan Hughes - Head of Practice (+64 9 920 6472 | dan.hughes@ah.co.nz), Kathrine Anderson (+64 9 984 4220 | katherine.anderson@ah.co.nz), Mark Gavin (+64 9 984 4233 | mark.gavin@ah.co.nz), Karen Kemp (+64 9 920 6466 | karen.kemp@ah.co.nz), Richard Smedley (+64 3 364 3825 | richard.smedley@ah.co.nz), Peter Woods (+64 3 364 3816 | peter.woods@ah.co.nz)
Cross-border investments Ewe Leong Lim (+64 9 920 6468 | eweleong.lim@ah.co.nz), Daniel French (+64 3 364 3824 | daniel.french@ah.co.nz), Geoff Hosking (+64 9 920 6478 | geoff.hosking@ah.co.nz), Sylvia Cheah (+64 9 920 6467 | sylvia.cheah@ah.co.nz)
Logistics and Transport
Manufacturing and Exporting
Property , Tim Barclay - Head of Practice (+64 3 364 3829 | tim.barclay@ah.co.nz), Sylvia Cheah (+64 9 920 6467 | sylvia.cheah@ah.co.nz), Ed Dunphy (+64 9 920 6460 | ed.dunphy@ah.co.nz), Daniel French (+64 3 364 3824 | daniel.french@ah.co.nz), Alistair Law (+64 9 356 2648 | alistair.law@ah.co.nz), Murray Weakley (+64 3 364 3801 | murray.weakley@ah.co.nz)
Public Law
Employment Jackie Behrnes (+64 3 364 3810 | jackie.behrnes@ah.co.nz)
Resource Management
Financial services Gill Goodwin (+64 9 356 2643 | gill.goodwin@ah.co.nz), Nigel Oliver (+64 3 364 3813 | nigel.oliver@ah.co.nz), Nick Summerfield (+64 9 984 4234 | nick.summerfield@ah.co.nz)
Retail
Retirement Villages
Tax , Bridget Riley (+64 9 984 4222 | bridget.riley@ah.co.nz)
Technology , Michael Moyes (+64 9 920 6474 | michael.moyes@ah.co.nz), Chris Dann (+64 3 964 5835 | chris.dann@ah.co.nz), Mark Gavin (+64 9 984 4233 | mark.gavin@ah.co.nz)
Tourism , Megan Compton (+64 3 364 3823 | megan.compton@ah.co.nz), Gerard Cleary (+64 3 364 3809 | gerard.cleary@ah.co.nz), Daniel French (+64 3 364 3824 | daniel.french@ah.co.nz), David Gould (+64 3 364 3811 | david.gould@ah.co.nz)
Trusts and Asset Planning
Insolvency and corporate recovery Dan Hughes (+64 9 920 6472 | dan.hughes@ah.co.nz), Crispin Vinnell (+64 3 364 3814 | crispin.vinnell@ah.co.nz)
Intellectual property Michael Moyes - Head of Practice (+64 9 920 6474 | michael.moyes@ah.co.nz), Mark Gavin (+64 9 984 4233 | mark.gavin@ah.co.nz)
Logistics and transport Chris Dann (+64 3 964 5835 | chris.dann@ah.co.nz), Megan Compton (+64 3 364 3823 | megan.compton@ah.co.nz)
Manufacturing and exporting David Gould (+64 3 364 3811 | david.gould@ah.co.nz), Chris Dann (+64 3 964 5835 | chris.dann@ah.co.nz), Ewe Leong Lim (+64 9 920 6468 | eweleong.lim@ah.co.nz)
Overseas Investment Act Annelies McClure (+64 27 278 2893 | annelies.mcclure@ah.co.nz)
Public law Katherine Anderson (+64 9 984 4220 | katherine.anderson@ah.co.nz)
Resource management Gerard Cleary (+64 3 364 3809 | gerard.cleary@ah.co.nz)
Retail Malcolm Hurley (+64 9 920 6476 | malcolm.hurley@ah.co.nz), Alex Campbell (+64 9 356 2625 | alex.campbell@ah.co.nz), Mark Gavin (+64 9 984 4233 | mark.gavin@ah.co.nz), Michael Moyes (+64 9 920 6474 | michael.moyes@ah.co.nz)
Retirement villages Michelle Burke- Head of Practice (+64 9 356 2626 | michelle.burke@ah.co.nz), Jenny Baldwin (+64 9 356 2628 | jenny.baldwin@ah.co.nz)
Trust and asset planning Simon Weil - Head of Practice (+64 9 920 6470 | simon.weil@ah.co.nz)

Legal Developments in New Zealand

Legal Developments and updates from the leading lawyers in each jurisdiction. To contribute, send an email request to
  • The Tax Working Group‚Äôs Interim Report - A capital gains tax for New Zealand?

    ‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč‚ÄčThe Tax Working Group has released its Interim Report on the Future of Tax. Amongst a number of other matters, the Interim Report describes two alternative methods for the implementation of a capital gains tax in New Zealand, which will be the subject of further consideration over the coming months.¬†
  • Privilege in regulatory investigations: UK Court of Appeal supports a broad approach

    Last week, the UK Court of Appeal released its much-anticipated judgment in ENRC v SFO[1], a decision with significant implications for the scope of legal professional privilege in the context of regulatory investigations.
  • Overseas Investment - review announced just as new regime comes into force

    Just days before amendments to New Zealand’s overseas investment regime take effect, the government has announced its intention to undertake a further review of the legislation.
  • New NZX Listing Rules in force from 1 January 2019

    NZX today published the final version of its updated listing rules. These new rules will take effect on 1 January 2019, subject to a six-month transition period.
  • Trans-Pacific Partnership trade benefits are coming

    Following several years of negotiations, and after the high-profile collapse of the original Trans-Pacific Partnership ( TPP ) in 2017, the renamed ‚ÄúComprehensive and Progressive Trans-Pacific Partnership‚ÄĚ ( CPTPP ) has now met the required number of ratifications to come into force. This is due to occur on 30 December 2018. This will offer New Zealand businesses a range of opportunities they should plan for, including reduced tariffs on a number of key exports.‚Äč
  • CPTPP Agreement sparks further legislative change

    The Government has introduced further amendments to the Overseas Investment Regulations 2005 (the Regulations ) to ensure New Zealand complies with its obligations under the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (the CPTPP Agreement ) and various other international agreements New Zealand is a party to.
  • What is the latest in privacy law reform?

    The Overseas Investment Amendment Bill (the Bill) was passed yesterday after its third and final reading. It is likely to receive Royal assent this month. Once that occurs, the provisions of the Bill that limit the ability of overseas persons to purchase residential property in New Zealand and the changes in the regime governing overseas investments in forestry will officially become part of the Overseas Investment Act (the Act).
  • Residential land amendments mark new era in New Zealand‚Äôs overseas investment regime

    ‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč‚ÄčThe Overseas Investment Amendment Bill (the Bill) was passed yesterday after its third and final reading. It is likely to receive Royal assent this month. Once that occurs, the provisions of the Bill that limit the ability of overseas persons to purchase residential property in New Zealand and the changes in the regime governing overseas investments in forestry will officially become part of the Overseas Investment Act (the Act).
  • A fresh look at the recoverability of takeover expenses

    The High Court has revisited the recoverability of a target company's expenses for the first time in more than 45 years. The case has important implications for future reimbursement disputes.
  • Insurance contract law reform back on the agenda for 2018

    The Government announced on 6 March that it is undertaking a review of New Zealand's insurance contract law, and has released a terms of reference for the review here ‚Äč‚Äč.