The Legal 500

Twitter Logo Youtube Circle Icon LinkedIn Icon

Hewitsons

ELGIN HOUSE, BILLING ROAD, NORTHAMPTON, NN1 5AU, ENGLAND
Tel:
Work 01604 233233
Fax:
Fax 01604 627941
DX:
15623 NORTHAMPTON 3
Email:
Web:
www.hewitsons.com

Main work contacts

CategoryContact
Agriculture & Rural Business
Private Wealth Clare Colacicchi (01604 463317 | clarecolacicchi@hewitsons.com)
Banking & Finance
Construction Colin Jones (01223 532731 | colinjones@hewitsons.com), Tim Richards (01908 247011 | timrichards@hewitsons.com)
Charities Chris Knight (01604 463103 | chrisknight@hewitsons.com)
Agriculture Denise Wilkinson (01223 532743 | denisewilkinson@hewitsons.com)
Commercial Bill Thatcher (01223 532709 | billthatcher@hewitsons.com)
Banking and finance Neil Harpham (01604 463301 | neilharpham@hewitsons.com)
Corporate James Lawrence (01223 532716 | jameslawrence@hewitsons.com)
Education Chris Knight (01604 463103 | chrisknight@hewitsons.com)
Employment Nicholas Hall (01604 463375 | nicholashall@hewitsons.com)
Energy
Dispute resolution Dominic Hopkins (01604 233233 | dominichopkins@hewitsons.com)
Environmental Law
Information Technology Andrew Priest (01223 532746 | andrewpriest@hewitsons.com)
Insolvency & Corporate Recovery
Intellectual Property
Intellectual property Mark Elmslie (01223 532720 | markelmslie@hewitsons.com)
Litigation
Pensions Christopher Nuttall (01604 463134 | christophernuttall@hewitsons.com)
Private wealth Daniel Curtis (01223 461155 | danielcurtis@hewitsons.com)
Planning
Public sector Tim Richards (01908 247011 | timrichards@hewitsons.com)
Private Wealth Disputes
Real Estate Development Claire Howard-Amos (01604 463323 | clairehoward-amos@hewitsons.com)
Real Estate
Residential property Tim Middleton (01223 461155 | timmiddleton@hewitsons.com)
Residential Property
Sport Ben Moorhead (020 7400 6578 | benmoorhead@hewitsons.com)
Transport

Legal Developments in the UK

Legal Developments and updates from the leading lawyers in each jurisdiction. To contribute, send an email request to
  • Court of Justice rules on source of income for Derivative Residence applications

    On 2 October 2019, the Court of Justice delivered its judgment in Bajratari v Secretary of State for the Home Department (Directive 2004/38/EC) Case C-93/18 which concerns Chen applications and the source of funds for self-sufficiency. 
  • End of the ‚Äėcentre of life test‚Äô in Surinder Singh cases?

    In the recent case of¬† ZA (Reg 9. EEA Regs; abuse of rights) Afghanistan ¬† [2019] UKUT 281 (IAC ), the Upper Tribunal found that there is no basis in EU law for the centre of life test, as set out in Regulation 9(3)(a) of the Immigration (European Economic Area) Regulations 2016 (the ‚ÄúRegulations‚ÄĚ). It further found that it is not to be applied when Judges assess ¬†Surinder Singh ¬†cases that appear before them.
  • Terms of employment as a sole representative

    In this article we examine the working arrangements of sole representatives, looking at the terms and conditions of employment that the Home Office will expect a sole representative to have in order to qualify as a representative of an overseas business.  
  • Can Sole Representatives Be Shareholders?

    The Immigration Rules require that an applicant for a¬† sole representative visa ¬†is not ‚Äúa¬† majority shareholder in the overseas business‚ÄĚ.
  • Immigration Skills Charge - A Guide for Employers

    As a Sponsor, you may be required to pay the Immigration Skills Charge (ISC) each time you sponsor a migrant in the  Tier 2 General  or  Intra-Company Transfer (ICT) Long-term Staff  subcategory.
  • 5 FAQS about paragraph 320(11)

    In applications for entry clearance where the applicant has a negative immigration history in the UK, the application may be refused under the general grounds for refusal, which are found in part 9 of the Immigration Rules. Where an applicant has ¬†‚Äėpreviously contrived in a significant way to frustrate the intentions of the Immigration Rules‚Äô,¬† the application could be refused under paragraph 320(11). In this post we look at five frequently asked questions about paragraph 320(11).¬†
  • Multiple nationality and multiple citizenship (including dual nationality and dual citizenship)

    British nationality law permits multiple nationality and multiple citizenship, including dual nationality and dual citizenship.
  • Applying for Indefinite Leave to Remain in the Exceptional Talent or Promise Category

    The  Exceptional Talent  and Exceptional Promise categories are for individuals who are recognised leaders or emerging leaders in their field of expertise. There are a number of endorsing bodies for lots of different fields of work, including  artists and musicians ,  architects ,  digital experts ,  scientists  and  academics . While there isn’t an endorsing body for every expert, the growing list means that many individuals could enjoy the flexibility that this category has to offer. 
  • PARALLEL PROCEEDINGS ‚Äď CIVIL AND CRIMINAL

    Syedur Rahmanconsiders the factors that determine when civil proceedings can go ahead before,or at the same time as, criminal proceedings relating to the same circumstances.
  • Rights of appeal after the Immigration Act 2014

    The Immigration Act 2014 (‚Äúthe 2014 Act‚ÄĚ) reduced the circumstances in which the refusal of an immigration application will give rise to a right of appeal.¬†The¬† explanatory notes ¬†to the 2014 Act state that the Act was intended to restructure rights of appeal to the Immigration Tribunal. Previously, a right of appeal to the Immigration Tribunal existed against any of the 14 different immigration decisions listed in s.82 of the¬† Nationality, Immigration and Asylum Act 2002 ¬†(‚Äúthe 2002 Act‚ÄĚ). As explained below, whether or not the refusal of an immigration application currently generates a right of appeal depends on the subject matter of the application rather than its categorisation.